Jump to content

Photo

How To Load XB and E/A Files (TI-99/4a)


4 replies to this topic

#1 Tempest OFFLINE  

Tempest

    Fallen Moderator

  • 27,124 posts
  • Location:Dark Places

Posted Mon Jan 25, 2010 8:30 AM

Can someone tell me the commands for running Extended Basic and Editor Assembler files on the TI-99/4a? Also, how do you catalog a disk so you can see what files are on there? Do you need Disk Manager for that or can it be done from XB or E/A?

Tempest

#2 oracle_jedi OFFLINE  

oracle_jedi

    Dragonstomper

  • 512 posts
  • Nothing to Declare
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted Mon Jan 25, 2010 9:12 AM

E/A games are either Option 3 "Load and Run" or Option 5 "Run Program File".
Select the relevant option and enter the name of the program.
For example, to run Submarine Commander from disk 1, select option 5 and enter in upper case:

DSK1.SUBCOMMAND


Extended BASIC games often auto-load. It looks for a file called "LOAD" on disk 1 and runs it if it finds it.
If not, you can use the RUN command as follows:

RUN "DSK1.MYPROGRAM"

You can also load and run as follows:

OLD "DSK1.MYPROGRAM"
RUN


To catalog a disk, beside the Disk Manager module, you can use a program like Disk Manager 2000 which runs under EA.

Most EA3 and EA5 games can be run under Extended BASIC using a tool like YLOAD.


So... you can insert Extended BASIC, load YLOAD and use that to EA3 load Disk Manager 2000.


Really all you need is Extended BASIC.

#3 Tempest OFFLINE  

Tempest

    Fallen Moderator

  • Topic Starter
  • 27,124 posts
  • Location:Dark Places

Posted Mon Jan 25, 2010 9:13 AM

Why is the command called OLD? Just seems funny. Must stand for something.

Tempest

#4 Bones-69 OFFLINE  

Bones-69

    Chopper Commander

  • 216 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Wed Apr 21, 2010 11:39 PM

My preference these days is Rich Extended Basic (RXB) over standard XB. Under RXB you can simply type CALL DIR("DSK1.") for a disk catalogue, it's very handy and convenient.





Why is the command called OLD? Just seems funny. Must stand for something.

I have wondered the same.... Open Load Device? I really don't know, just guessing...

#5 Charlie_ OFFLINE  

Charlie_

    River Patroller

  • 2,904 posts
  • Location:NJ, USA

Posted Thu Apr 22, 2010 10:05 AM

Because it was previously saved, making it "OLD"? :)

The disk system on the TI99 is very weird. It is hard to do the most simple tasks.

I haven't tried DM2K yet, but DM2.0 is very useful. I found it strange that it didnt allow for the copying of a file if you have only a single disk drive. Unless there is something I missed?

Does DM2K allow for this?

Edited by Chazbeenhad, Thu Apr 22, 2010 10:06 AM.





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users