Jump to content

Photo

HID disk interface.


12 replies to this topic

#1 tregare OFFLINE  

tregare

    Moonsweeper

  • 312 posts
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted Wed Feb 24, 2010 6:45 PM

anyone know of a source for the fabled HDI disk interface?

*Edit alert! :sad: (sigh, lysdexia strikes again) should have been HDI not HID.

Edited by tregare, Wed Feb 24, 2010 6:51 PM.


#2 CharlieChaplin OFFLINE  

CharlieChaplin

    River Patroller

  • 2,951 posts

Posted Thu Feb 25, 2010 3:02 PM

Hmm,

you mean something like this:
http://www.atari-cen...oppy/gb/hdi.htm
the floppy interface is not only sold out, some of its parts are no longer being made, so at the moment there is no chance to re-build this interface without changing the design (and the required parts).

Think if you send an e-mail to its creator Erhard Puetz he will send you schematics and source-code to his HDI.
On the other hand, Candle wants to create a new hardware for the A8 that houses a hard disk and a flash-chip at the same time and there are already various SIO2xxx devices (SIO2SD, SIO2USB, SDrive, etc.) for the A8 so there is no need for this disk-interface anymore (in my opinion!)... But if you still want a floppy drive, why not buy an XF551 with 360k 5,25" drive or turn the XF into a 720k 3,5" drive...?!?

-Andreas Koch.

#3 Fox-1 / mnx OFFLINE  

Fox-1 / mnx

    Stargunner

  • 1,556 posts
  • What is your Alternate Reality?
  • Location:NL, Earth 2.0

Posted Thu Feb 25, 2010 3:03 PM

It was made by Erhard Puetz, member of ABBUC and owner of http://www.atari-central.de/

AFAIK the required floppy controller is not available anymore, anywhere...

#4 Fox-1 / mnx OFFLINE  

Fox-1 / mnx

    Stargunner

  • 1,556 posts
  • What is your Alternate Reality?
  • Location:NL, Earth 2.0

Posted Thu Feb 25, 2010 3:08 PM

Hmm, attaching a file in edit mode doesn't seem to work so an extra post...

The schematic of the HDI is in TIF format but I had to ZIP it since TIF's are not supported over here.

Attached Thumbnails

  • hdi.jpg

Attached Files



#5 tregare OFFLINE  

tregare

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 312 posts
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted Thu Feb 25, 2010 3:10 PM

It was made by Erhard Puetz, member of ABBUC and owner of http://www.atari-central.de/

AFAIK the required floppy controller is not available anymore, anywhere...



I can probably dig up a compatible chip... it depends on what chip it uses.

#6 tregare OFFLINE  

tregare

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 312 posts
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted Thu Feb 25, 2010 3:17 PM

Hmm,

you mean something like this:
http://www.atari-cen...oppy/gb/hdi.htm
the floppy interface is not only sold out, some of its parts are no longer being made, so at the moment there is no chance to re-build this interface without changing the design (and the required parts).

Think if you send an e-mail to its creator Erhard Puetz he will send you schematics and source-code to his HDI.
On the other hand, Candle wants to create a new hardware for the A8 that houses a hard disk and a flash-chip at the same time and there are already various SIO2xxx devices (SIO2SD, SIO2USB, SDrive, etc.) for the A8 so there is no need for this disk-interface anymore (in my opinion!)... But if you still want a floppy drive, why not buy an XF551 with 360k 5,25" drive or turn the XF into a 720k 3,5" drive...?!?

-Andreas Koch.



because I'm a masochist :) there is just something about the sound of floppy drives that I like on an older machine. I have an indus GT (that i am designing a SRAM 'ramcharger' PCB for and will do a run of the PCB's when I finish it. several 1050's with various DD mods in them (and stock) an XF 551 and I'm working on a XF551 compatible controller, although if I could get the rom/source and schematic of the XF-Speedy I'd dump the 8040 chip and use a 6502 on the board. what little I was able to find on the XF-speedy indicates it was an add on board that plugged into the 8040 socket that had a 6502 and ram on it, and a replacement rom that plugged into the rom socket (or the rom was on the board with 6502) it wasn't clear.

#7 Fox-1 / mnx OFFLINE  

Fox-1 / mnx

    Stargunner

  • 1,556 posts
  • What is your Alternate Reality?
  • Location:NL, Earth 2.0

Posted Thu Feb 25, 2010 4:41 PM

More info: http://atariwiki.str.../Code/HDISource


About the hardware set-up, a quote from a Klaus Peters "Speedy-XF" review:

"
The kit consists of two printed boards, which are quite big, and
a small switch. The printed boards replaces the CPU of the
disk-drive. Because the CPU is soldered into the board of the
drive, you have to solder it out and replace it with a socket.
After that you also have to remove the ROM of the XF-551 drive
and a small wire, which was not included, must be connected to
one of the pins of the I/O socket. Last but not least, the small
switch must be glued into the drive-mechanism.
"

#8 Mathy OFFLINE  

Mathy

    River Patroller

  • 2,747 posts
  • Location:Heerlen, NL

Posted Thu Feb 25, 2010 5:03 PM

Hello guys

I found the following pictures of the SpeedyXF via Google who found it via XLsearch:

ftp://ftp.pigwa.net/stuff/collections/atari_forever/Zdjecia/Unconventional%202000/030%20Speedy%20XF.jpg
ftp://ftp.pigwa.net/stuff/collections/atari_forever/Zdjecia/Unconventional%202000/031%20Speedy%20XF%202.jpg
ftp://ftp.pigwa.net/stuff/collections/atari_forever/Zdjecia/Unconventional%202000/032%20Speedy%20XF%203.jpg

greetings

Mathy

#9 Mathy OFFLINE  

Mathy

    River Patroller

  • 2,747 posts
  • Location:Heerlen, NL

Posted Thu Feb 25, 2010 5:09 PM

Hello guys

XLsearch rocks!

This should be a picture of the HDI interface:

Posted Image

greetings

Mathy

#10 tregare OFFLINE  

tregare

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 312 posts
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted Thu Feb 25, 2010 5:22 PM

More info: http://atariwiki.str.../Code/HDISource


About the hardware set-up, a quote from a Klaus Peters "Speedy-XF" review:

"
The kit consists of two printed boards, which are quite big, and
a small switch. The printed boards replaces the CPU of the
disk-drive. Because the CPU is soldered into the board of the
drive, you have to solder it out and replace it with a socket.
After that you also have to remove the ROM of the XF-551 drive
and a small wire, which was not included, must be connected to
one of the pins of the I/O socket. Last but not least, the small
switch must be glued into the drive-mechanism.
"



thank you, I'd heard 3 or 4th hand about it.

#11 Larry ONLINE  

Larry

    River Patroller

  • 4,034 posts
  • Location:U.S. -- Midwest

Posted Thu Feb 25, 2010 6:14 PM

These were unfortunately made with a version of a 6520 (IIRC) that had to be overclocked -- doubled, I believe. This chip was impossible to find (at least in the U.S.) 15 or so years ago. The closest you can probably come is to find a Black Box and Floppy Board. Although the FB is rock-solid in DD (720K) both mine are a little flaky using 1.44 HD disks. I would say that I typically lost access to 1-2% of the files over a year or so. Probably no worse than using 1.44's with a Win machine, but if you lose the wrong file...
-Larry


anyone know of a source for the fabled HDI disk interface?

*Edit alert! :sad: (sigh, lysdexia strikes again) should have been HDI not HID.



#12 Mathy OFFLINE  

Mathy

    River Patroller

  • 2,747 posts
  • Location:Heerlen, NL

Posted Thu Feb 25, 2010 6:17 PM

Hello guys

The problem was the 6532 IIRC, you need the 4MHz version, which is hard to find. The PIA in the BlackBox is a 1MHz version.

greetings

Mathy

#13 HiassofT ONLINE  

HiassofT

    Stargunner

  • 1,088 posts
  • Location:Salzburg, Austria

Posted Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:00 AM

The problem was the 6532 IIRC, you need the 4MHz version, which is hard to find. The PIA in the BlackBox is a 1MHz version.

You remember correctly, it was the 6532 and the HDI needed a 4MHz type. According to Erhard Pütz the problem was that the 4MHz 6532 was announced but never released, but Erhard discovered that a few batches of the 2MHz 6532 also worked fine at 4MHz.

The 6532 in my HDI died and Erhard replaced it with another one - but this later one didn't work 100% reliable :-( I started to do some experiments and discovered that it worked better if I increased the power supply voltage to 5.1-5.2V. But I still got some occasional errors - very few, maybe one or two a day, but still too many to use the HDI as my primary storage device - so it's sitting unused on my desk for some 15 years by now...

so long,

Hias




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users