IGNORED

32 in 1 OS from AtariMax

rchennau

I mean no disrespect but what are the advantages of the 32 in 1 OS beyond having 32 different OS available? I like AtariMax products and am considering purchasing the 32 in 1 OS but can't seem to figure out what I would use it for in a meaningful way? I am a relative newbie to the scene so I may be missing an important aspect. I have an 800XL and a 600XL I could plug it into but not sure what benefit it would provide.

You get a lot of extended compatibility with the 32 in 1 OS. Certain software was designed to only work under 1 specific Atari OS, so you'll find some disks won't load properly. They created a "Translator" to cover the big 400/800 to XL issues but there are still some things out there that just don't work right. The OSes are different regions and different versions, so it guarantees compatibility! :) (Someone correct me if I'm wrong)

I do not have this **YET** but it is something that I am most definitely interested in.

Having said that, I suspect it's a case of "why not?" overkill. It was 4-in-1 OS before (correct if wrong).

The features that most interest me:

"Ultraspeed/Warpspeed" all the time if drive (or substitute device) capable

Cold-restart without powering down (stop killing the machine with off/on just to switch games)

Reverse BASIC (stop holding the option key)

Atari 800 OS for playing *really* old games

Those features are what make it worth it. I'll take the other stuff too, and I suspect it didn't cost any more to pack in those other OS.

32 OS is overkill for most users, but "Jimmy" wants these 4 and "Joe" has quite a few different systems and finds he needs a sightly different mix of 10 for certain combinations of hardware. And "Larry" (being somewhat adventurous) finds that he wants to modify several of the OS to add special features, so he changes his 32-in-1 from time to time.