Jump to content

Photo

Atari 8-bit related BBS(s)


790 replies to this topic

#26 w1k OFFLINE  

w1k

    Stargunner

  • 1,588 posts
  • Location:martin, slovakia

Posted Sun May 29, 2011 9:25 AM



if i have time next week i try it on real atari


Be great to have you there. What kind of Atari computer and setup are you thinking of using?


i defaultly using 800xe, 320kb ram, ICE-T, SIO2PC and APE for connections.
BOBTERM works with 64kb ram
i can read mail, browse unix sites and browse FTP on real atari.

but i have problems with typing text - repeatedly text when i typing

Posted Image
Posted Image

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vF9o89y860w

Edited by w1k, Sun May 29, 2011 10:03 AM.


#27 DarkLord OFFLINE  

DarkLord

    River Patroller

  • 3,126 posts
  • Location:Prestonsburg, KY USA

Posted Sun May 29, 2011 3:14 PM

If it had just been every single letter repeated, then I would have
suggested checking the full duplex/half duplex settings...

#28 bf2k+ OFFLINE  

bf2k+

    Stargunner

  • 1,729 posts
  • Location:Boot Factory BBS 2k+

Posted Sun May 29, 2011 7:21 PM

Looks to me like the BBS is sending ANSI codes and he is not using an ANSI terminal.

#29 DarkLord OFFLINE  

DarkLord

    River Patroller

  • 3,126 posts
  • Location:Prestonsburg, KY USA

Posted Sun May 29, 2011 10:41 PM

I was replying to the part where he said the letters repeated when he
typed...but going by the screenshots, I think you're probably right.

#30 DarkLord OFFLINE  

DarkLord

    River Patroller

  • 3,126 posts
  • Location:Prestonsburg, KY USA

Posted Mon Jun 6, 2011 11:58 AM

Hey gang - I added a small script that notify's users when they
logon on Tuesday's, about the telnet chat that night.

Whenever you do logon on Tuesdays, lemme know if its working okay
for you.

Thanks. :)

#31 Stephen ONLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 5,977 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:Akron, Ohio

Posted Mon Jun 6, 2011 3:05 PM

Hey gang - I added a small script that notify's users when they
logon on Tuesday's, about the telnet chat that night.

Whenever you do logon on Tuesdays, lemme know if its working okay
for you.

Thanks. :)

Sweet - I will have to test this out tomorrow.

#32 doctorclu OFFLINE  

doctorclu

    ******Blue Max****** *****Class 4***** **Moon Master**

  • 6,893 posts
  • Captain - Class 2
  • Location:Dallas, TX - U.S.A.

Posted Mon Jun 6, 2011 3:46 PM

Hey gang - I added a small script that notify's users when they
logon on Tuesday's, about the telnet chat that night.

Whenever you do logon on Tuesdays, lemme know if its working okay
for you.

Thanks. :)

Sweet - I will have to test this out tomorrow.



Oh wow, that is great news! So what the window of time to see this?




#33 DarkLord OFFLINE  

DarkLord

    River Patroller

  • 3,126 posts
  • Location:Prestonsburg, KY USA

Posted Mon Jun 6, 2011 5:50 PM

Oh wow, that is great news! So what the window of time to see this?


24 hours - any user who logs on from Tuesday at 12am until 11:59pm
Tuesday night should be shown a screen that reminds them of the
telnet chat, and instructions on how to get there.

Its a lot like the Holiday script I use, that shows them a holiday
specific message when they logon, like "Merry Christmas", or "Happy
Leif Erikson Day!"... :)

I will probably have to play around with the elapsed time before
continuing on duration though - I just guesstimated for the average
reader...(thought about using "press any key to continue" but hate
to slow down the initial logon process)

I'm also going to add the instruction screen to one of the 'Net site
lists so users can pull it up anytime they want to, not just reminded
on Tuesdays.

We're getting there folks. :)

#34 DocRotCod OFFLINE  

DocRotCod

    Chopper Commander

  • 108 posts

Posted Sun Jun 12, 2011 1:26 AM

I run The Electric Cafe BBS - telnet thecafe.dtdns.net

This runs Steve Carden's TCP/IP Express Pro 7.0.

This BBS is 24 hours and runs on real Atari hardware:

Atari 130XE with 576K RAM upgrade
ICD 256kb MIO with Warerat's ROM upgrade
External Seagate SCSI Hard Drive 18GB
Lantronix telnet/serial converter

#35 DarkLord OFFLINE  

DarkLord

    River Patroller

  • 3,126 posts
  • Location:Prestonsburg, KY USA

Posted Sun Jun 12, 2011 1:37 AM

I run The Electric Cafe BBS - telnet thecafe.dtdns.net

This runs Steve Carden's TCP/IP Express Pro 7.0.

This BBS is 24 hours and runs on real Atari hardware:

Atari 130XE with 576K RAM upgrade
ICD 256kb MIO with Warerat's ROM upgrade
External Seagate SCSI Hard Drive 18GB
Lantronix telnet/serial converter


Hey, great to see you're still around! If you're not already on
the list on my BBS, I'll add you asap.

Thanks! :)

#36 Louis OFFLINE  

Louis

    Chopper Commander

  • 126 posts
  • Location:The Hague, The Netherlands

Posted Sun Jul 3, 2011 12:26 PM

I just finished restoring the backup I have on the ANG BBS.

This BBS was active for a couple of years until somewhere in 1994.

The ANG BBS ran on a 130XE 320KB with a 40MB SCSI-driver on a BlackBox.
The user target was mainly for Dutch people.
Most of the text is dutch, but menu's can also be in English or German.

The backup I have contains also some IAN message bases.
So very fun to read.
I had some problems with some files not being able to download anymore.
So possibly some problems there.

The ANG BBS is back online for archive purposes.
I don't intend to keep it online for a long period of time.
Probably when the interest is gone, I'll put it offline.

I have increased the Users Records with a thousand more users.
So, probably no problem there.

ANG BBS is running currently on a Stock 130XE with IDE 2.0 Plus, Transcend 2GB CompactFlash.
It's using the 850 emulation on the APE interface.
It's OS is the SpartaDos 3.2G, the clock doesn't run smoothly.
Probably because it's NTSC version. Also I think it in the year 1911, so the day probably doesn't match.

The BBS software is BBS Express Professional+ 3.1D node #440

So, enjoy this archive BBS of information of 20 years ago!

Almost forgot the address:

Telnet: angbbs.dnsalias.com
(I noticed that you have to press Enter multiple times to get some response)
regards,

Louis

Edited by Louis, Sun Jul 3, 2011 12:29 PM.


#37 DarkLord OFFLINE  

DarkLord

    River Patroller

  • 3,126 posts
  • Location:Prestonsburg, KY USA

Posted Sun Jul 3, 2011 3:04 PM

Oh great - always nice to see another Atari based BBS
back up and running! :)

#38 bf2k+ OFFLINE  

bf2k+

    Stargunner

  • 1,729 posts
  • Location:Boot Factory BBS 2k+

Posted Sun Jul 3, 2011 8:06 PM

Oh great - always nice to see another Atari based BBS
back up and running! :)


I agree. I just logged in there - looks great!

#39 Fox-1 / mnx OFFLINE  

Fox-1 / mnx

    Stargunner

  • 1,300 posts
  • What is your Alternate Reality?
  • Location:NL, Earth 2.0

Posted Mon Jul 4, 2011 3:48 AM

I just finished restoring the backup I have on the ANG BBS.

This BBS was active for a couple of years until somewhere in 1994.


I wonder if my old log-in is still valid :-)

#40 Louis OFFLINE  

Louis

    Chopper Commander

  • 126 posts
  • Location:The Hague, The Netherlands

Posted Mon Jul 4, 2011 2:23 PM

I just finished restoring the backup I have on the ANG BBS.

This BBS was active for a couple of years until somewhere in 1994.


I wonder if my old log-in is still valid :-)


Unfortunately I'm having some difficulties at the moment.
The BBS was down, due to a CMD I once wrote.
Since I wasn't online all the time, I wrote a module which enables the BBS at 18:0:0 again.

I had to find out where that module was loaded from, but I found it.

Second, the BBS wouldn't start anymore.
I'm restoring the D3: drive again, if errors keep comming than it's probably the compactflash-card not being fully compatible with ide 2.0 plus.... And now I'm certain... :-)

I have another compactflash-card, so the BBS is currently offline. :-(
That was a very brief moment...

I'll keep you informed!

Louis

#41 Louis OFFLINE  

Louis

    Chopper Commander

  • 126 posts
  • Location:The Hague, The Netherlands

Posted Mon Jul 4, 2011 3:47 PM

Well... I've restored all the drives to a new 1gb compactflash.

This time, I extended the userlog by 100 users, making it 194 in total.
The 1000 userrecords were surely too much.

Unfortunately, I could not find a way to shrink the previous userlog.
So, I have to kindly ask the new users to make a new login. Sorry for that.

Louis

#42 bf2k+ OFFLINE  

bf2k+

    Stargunner

  • 1,729 posts
  • Location:Boot Factory BBS 2k+

Posted Mon Jul 4, 2011 5:23 PM

Well... I've restored all the drives to a new 1gb compactflash.

This time, I extended the userlog by 100 users, making it 194 in total.
The 1000 userrecords were surely too much.

Unfortunately, I could not find a way to shrink the previous userlog.
So, I have to kindly ask the new users to make a new login. Sorry for that.

Louis


I just logged in and got a lot of Error 150 and error 165 messages.

#43 bf2k+ OFFLINE  

bf2k+

    Stargunner

  • 1,729 posts
  • Location:Boot Factory BBS 2k+

Posted Tue Jul 5, 2011 4:41 AM

The Boot Factory 2k+ is down due to hardware failure. It broke! :cool:


Back soon.

EDIT: It's fixed!! :lust:

New graphics card hopefully will fix it. Back online!!

#44 Louis OFFLINE  

Louis

    Chopper Commander

  • 126 posts
  • Location:The Hague, The Netherlands

Posted Sat Jul 9, 2011 3:10 PM

Well... I've restored all the drives to a new 1gb compactflash.

This time, I extended the userlog by 100 users, making it 194 in total.
The 1000 userrecords were surely too much.

Unfortunately, I could not find a way to shrink the previous userlog.
So, I have to kindly ask the new users to make a new login. Sorry for that.

Louis


I just logged in and got a lot of Error 150 and error 165 messages.


Yes, I've noticed it too.
This must be the IDE Plus 2.0 interface with the 1GB CF card.
It does not happen all the time.

I've just upgraded to the latest IDE Plus firmware, hopefully this will solve compatibility issues.

#45 Lord Cygnus OFFLINE  

Lord Cygnus

    Chopper Commander

  • 117 posts
  • -=[Lord Cygnus]=-
  • Location:Houston, TX

Posted Tue Jul 12, 2011 3:08 PM

Can someone point me to Atari 8-bit related BBSs - telnet addresses - and if you run one please PM me with some background info etc.

Bonus points for anyone running a BBS with real Atari hardware. :D

Going to try Bobterm.


I will be hosting an original dial up Atari BBS soon and will post the phone # here. I used to run YYZ BBS in Chattanooga, TN back in 86'-87' with OASIS Jr. BBS software on a 130XE. I have several XE units and drives and don't mind running the BBS again today on some of this equipment. About a year ago I found a bunch of my original floppies with the OASIS program and I re-built my bulletin board!

I'll be using an Avatex 2400 baud modem w/P:R: Connection, Atari 130XE w/1mb RAM, two 1050 drives w/US Doublers, and an XF551 DS/DD drive -- all original equipment.

This new dial-up BBS will be hosted from Houston, TX for all to enjoy the nostalgia!


-=[Lord Cygnus]=-
SysOp

YYZ BBS (supports /|\TASCII)

#46 doctorclu OFFLINE  

doctorclu

    ******Blue Max****** *****Class 4***** **Moon Master**

  • 6,893 posts
  • Captain - Class 2
  • Location:Dallas, TX - U.S.A.

Posted Thu Jul 14, 2011 4:25 PM

About time! Been waiting for this BBS for a while now since it was first announced on the Atari fido lists.




#47 doctorclu OFFLINE  

doctorclu

    ******Blue Max****** *****Class 4***** **Moon Master**

  • 6,893 posts
  • Captain - Class 2
  • Location:Dallas, TX - U.S.A.

Posted Sat Jul 23, 2011 10:35 AM

Hey Abdul, what's going on with the Boot Factory?



Attached Thumbnails

  • untitled.JPG


#48 bf2k+ OFFLINE  

bf2k+

    Stargunner

  • 1,729 posts
  • Location:Boot Factory BBS 2k+

Posted Sun Jul 24, 2011 1:20 PM

Hey Abdul, what's going on with the Boot Factory?


Nothing. It's working perfectly here. What you're seeing looks like a BaudRate mismatch to me but since you're connecting thru another system, I can only guess.

#49 Vandal968 OFFLINE  

Vandal968

    Chopper Commander

  • 210 posts

Posted Tue Jul 26, 2011 12:57 PM

Any update on this? I very recently got back into the Atari scene and really want to dial into an old-school BBS. I was thinking about setting one up myself, and I came across this post while researching the best BBS software to use. If Cygnus is already doing all the work, that's even better.

Got an ETA yet?

cheers,
v

I will be hosting an original dial up Atari BBS soon and will post the phone # here. I used to run YYZ BBS in Chattanooga, TN back in 86'-87' with OASIS Jr. BBS software on a 130XE. I have several XE units and drives and don't mind running the BBS again today on some of this equipment. About a year ago I found a bunch of my original floppies with the OASIS program and I re-built my bulletin board!

I'll be using an Avatex 2400 baud modem w/P:R: Connection, Atari 130XE w/1mb RAM, two 1050 drives w/US Doublers, and an XF551 DS/DD drive -- all original equipment.

This new dial-up BBS will be hosted from Houston, TX for all to enjoy the nostalgia!


-=[Lord Cygnus]=-
SysOp

YYZ BBS (supports /|\TASCII)



#50 doctorclu OFFLINE  

doctorclu

    ******Blue Max****** *****Class 4***** **Moon Master**

  • 6,893 posts
  • Captain - Class 2
  • Location:Dallas, TX - U.S.A.

Posted Sun Aug 28, 2011 7:57 AM

Reporting in, unable to reach Boot Factory or Dark Forces. (both through Prison Board BBS and direct)

Was able to get on Thunderdome, Electric Cafe, and the Grove.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users