IGNORED

ACTION! for emulator

russg

I have dumps of the ACTION! cart. It is four 4K dumps, one for $B000 to $BFFF, and three banked dumps for $D500, $D501, and $D509 that go

into $A000-$AFFF.

I see Altirra 1.9 has two 16K OSS ROM types (034M and M091). I can make a single 16K ROM file out of the four dumps I have, but don't know if it is as simple

as knowing the order of the dumps in a 16K ROM file.

Has this already been done? I see Atarimania doesn't have any ROM or disk files for ACTION! I know there's a .COM version, but I don't think it is very good.

It might be useful for people wanting to program in ACTION!, but would use an emulator. There are cross compilers and assemblers for PCs, but ACTION! is

an itermediate level programming environment that might be interesting to some.

Edit: I see Atarimax.com has an .ATR that can be burned to a 1mb Maxflash cart. But I suspect this is the .COM version.

Edit again: I have some experience with the ACTION! cart. It is very good, much better than the .COM version, but still crashes

rarely.

Edited by russg

#action.zip

Try that.

It's got a proper header so will work straight up in emulators that scan the header.

OK, I see it has already been done. It worked in Atari800winplus 4.0. You know if it is the 034M or M091 type for Altirra? Also, do you know the order

of the dumps so I can try make one myself?

Rybags, your ROM is a hacked one (although the only thing hacked is a single byte at offset 0000 indicating version number).

Here are the correct images:

Action! 3.6 (in FULS' collection) - M091 mapping

Action! 3.5 - 043M mapping. Note that this mapping is currently only supported by Atari++, and versions of Altirra and Atari800 supporting it were not released yet. To covert it to the 034M mapping, you'd have to split the file into four 4KB parts and swap the 2nd and 3rd parts.

Edited by Kr0tki