IGNORED

GUIntv

zagnalopius

Please Note: The latest version of GUIntv (v2.1) is in post #14. Scroll down the thread for the download link.

Version 2.1 is an application for OS X 10.6 and higher. Version 1.2 in post #20 is an applescript that will work on older versions of OS X and PPC Macs.

I finally got tired of waiting for someone else to write a Mac frontend for jzintv, so I've cobbled together one of my own.

I started out fooling around with Automator, and when I realized that couldn't do what I needed, I switched to Applescript. It's not perfect, but this is my first attempt at coding anything for OS X, so don't be too harsh :). I'm planning on rewriting GUIntv as a proper Mac app in the near future, but I wanted to share what I have so far.

The zip file includes the GUIntv frontend for jzintv, and a frontend for the bin2rom utility called bin2rom GUI. Give it a shot and let me know what you think. GUIntv doesn't support all of jzintv's oprtions, but if there's enough interest in a particular setting I'll try to add it in a future release.

Edited by zagnalopius
  • Like 1

Great that you're doing this! It'll make a big difference to prospective jzintv users, I think.

However, whenever I try to start playing, I'm getting hit with a dialogue box which I think means the script is crashing (attached). I get the same result when I try to change the default game directory in the preferences. I'm guessing a path is hardcoded that shouldn't be?

post-6067-0-10105400-1315711078_thumb.png

Edited by thegoldenband

• 4 weeks later...

GUIntv Version 2.0 is almost ready! What a difference a month makes.

Version 2.0 has been rewritten in Applescript Objective-C, so it now looks and behaves like a normal Mac app. The only catch is that it requires OS X 10.6 or higher. If you’re running an older version of OS X or have a PPC machine, you should stick with GUIntv version 1.1.