IGNORED

NES Battletoads hates us all

NES Battletoads...so good, yet so infuriating. This shall be the thread where all who share in the love/hate relationship that IS a classic gamer and Battletoads!

I'm currently trying to beat this monster. Last year or so it was Ghosts n' Goblins, which is evil in its own right, but Battletoads is a horse of a different colour.

Yes, it's a fun game...and I'm past the point of actually getting angry playing these games (just turn it off, lol), but let's be honest: Battletoads doesn't like you. They took a game that looks cute, and handed it a machete to cut down any attempts to beat it!

With all the pros, it's hard to nitpick, but since I've been playing this game for many years, I've come to some conclusions:

The Ice level Hates You

1. The control isn't as great as you hear. How many times have you accidentally slid off a platform into certain death (yes, I'm talking about YOU, Ice level!)...it's comical, downright comical at times! In the driving levels, it's spot on...but when you really need it, sometimes the game will just decide that it's time for you to pay and you waste three lives trying to hop over a spot which you usually clear in one try.

2. The ice blocks...barely move, yet deal two damage! And usually this happens when you're getting snowballs thrown at your from an evil snowman. Or you're already dodging an indestructible spike turtle. Or you're trying to pick one up and you kick it, causing all kinds of pain. Or you throw it and it does something completely unpredictable. I hate you, ice blocks.

...that's just the ice level, my latest nemesis!

It really is ridiculously difficult; almost unplayably so. The speed bikes still give me nightmares lol.

I'm curious if the difficulty was toned down for Sega Genesis, Game Boy and Game Gear versions. If I were to port the game to other consoles the first thing I would do is tone down the difficulty somewhat to make it more enjoyable and bearable.