Jump to content

Photo

EU 6-pin A/V cable


39 replies to this topic

#26 OX. OFFLINE  

OX.

    Moonsweeper

  • 497 posts

Posted Fri Feb 23, 2018 1:07 PM

try here for find the tutorial for Plastic and Metal models:

 

attachicon.gif2018-02-23_001548.png

 

 

BTW

OX i also wrote you a message about GameBase some months ago but never got an answer. Have you lost ?

 

I've sent a PM Ciro.



#27 OX. OFFLINE  

OX.

    Moonsweeper

  • 497 posts

Posted Fri Feb 23, 2018 1:10 PM

https://coolnoveltie...uro-models.html
https://www.techexpr...t=4422565167133

 

Beware: the EU model doesn't feature Composite Out, only Y-Pb-Pr.

 

Apparently they stopped selling them due too many complaints with the cable being incompatible with certain tv's and monitors as the TI99/4A does'nt exactly put out book standard component video signals.


Edited by OX., Fri Feb 23, 2018 1:10 PM.


#28 OX. OFFLINE  

OX.

    Moonsweeper

  • 497 posts

Posted Sat Feb 24, 2018 3:40 PM

Anyone got a wiring diagram for a PAL component video cable?  I fancy giving it a try.



#29 ti99iuc OFFLINE  

ti99iuc

    Stargunner

  • 1,445 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted Sat Feb 24, 2018 5:21 PM

Anyone got a wiring diagram for a PAL component video cable?  I fancy giving it a try.

 

this is mine Cable, i have still not finished the tutorial for this but pin out is here, wires on connector cable.

 

Attached File  Component-Pins_TI99.jpg   275.82KB   5 downloads


  • RXB likes this

#30 OX. OFFLINE  

OX.

    Moonsweeper

  • 497 posts

Posted Sat Feb 24, 2018 8:53 PM

 

this is mine Cable, i have still not finished the tutorial for this but pin out is here, wires on connector cable.

 

attachicon.gifComponent-Pins_TI99.jpg

 

I take it that the 12V line is not used and the R(Pr) G (Y) B(Pb) and audio phono connectors all share the ground line?



#31 ti99iuc OFFLINE  

ti99iuc

    Stargunner

  • 1,445 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted Sat Feb 24, 2018 9:01 PM

Yes, right ox

Edited by ti99iuc, Sat Feb 24, 2018 9:01 PM.


#32 OX. OFFLINE  

OX.

    Moonsweeper

  • 497 posts

Posted Sat Mar 3, 2018 1:05 PM

Well that's the component video cable built, I chopped the end off and old Xbox 360 video cable and soldered on the 6 pin din connector, an utter pain to solder 5 gnd's, 2 audio and Y, Pr and Pb into 5 pins of the connector, I was about to give up until I had the idea to solder in some short wires to the connector and soldered the leads onto them, also had to trim the end of the din plug sheath as it was too narrow and tight to fit around the lead.  It looks the job though.

 

Have'nt tested it yet so hope your wiring diagram is correct Ciro because that baby is not coming apart. icon_wink.gif


Edited by OX., Sat Mar 3, 2018 1:06 PM.


#33 ti99iuc OFFLINE  

ti99iuc

    Stargunner

  • 1,445 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted Sat Mar 3, 2018 1:45 PM

Well done... I already build about 10 cable like that one and was all working. If not... It could because the monitor/tv is not compatibile with this particolar signal or a wrong solder on the cable's pin :P

For example i have three tv at home and a Samsung is not compatibile, the Sony and the relisys yes instead.

Edited by ti99iuc, Sat Mar 3, 2018 6:32 PM.


#34 OX. OFFLINE  

OX.

    Moonsweeper

  • 497 posts

Posted Sun Mar 4, 2018 1:50 PM

Well done... I already build about 10 cable like that one and was all working. If not... It could because the monitor/tv is not compatibile with this particolar signal or a wrong solder on the cable's pin icon_razz.gif

For example i have three tv at home and a Samsung is not compatibile, the Sony and the relisys yes instead.

 

I tried it all out tonight, everything works except - faint VERTICAL LINES!  All over the screen, yes my tv is a Samsung is this the problem you talk of Ciro?  I wonder if some resistors are needed in the cable or it's a sheilding issue?  Maybe the TI needs recapping, anyone had issues with faint vertical lines in their video output and fixed this?  It's a shame because apart from the lines the picture is nice and sharp.


Edited by OX., Sun Mar 4, 2018 1:53 PM.


#35 ti99iuc OFFLINE  

ti99iuc

    Stargunner

  • 1,445 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted Sun Mar 4, 2018 2:15 PM

I never got the vertical lines issues, on my samsung i just have a blacn screen with the message of out of range (i have the model P2370HD)...

if Colors are nice and correct, it not seems a solder problem anyway... to be sure you should try the cable on another monitor i think. it could be also a signal synchronism/frequency problem on your samsung with the TI99 YUV2 signal.



#36 OX. OFFLINE  

OX.

    Moonsweeper

  • 497 posts

Posted Sun Mar 4, 2018 2:52 PM

I never got the vertical lines issues, on my samsung i just have a blacn screen with the message of out of range (i have the model P2370HD)...

if Colors are nice and correct, it not seems a solder problem anyway... to be sure you should try the cable on another monitor i think. it could be also a signal synchronism/frequency problem on your samsung with the TI99 YUV2 signal.

 

The only other TV I have with component inputs is - another Samsung :( Checked the cable with a multimeter and everything seems ok, no shorts.  The only doubt I have about the wiring is there is a copper braiding in the outer sleeve of the cable and wonder if this needs to be soldered to the circular outer din plug for sheilding?  The only other systems Iv'e seen this happen on before is on C64 and Atari 8 bit but these always seemed to be produced by the video chip in those systems and the vertical lines I'm getting from my new cable is far worse.

The colours don't seem right either they look a little washed out or slightly different pallette so wonder if this has something to do with it.



#37 ti99iuc OFFLINE  

ti99iuc

    Stargunner

  • 1,445 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted Sun Mar 4, 2018 3:06 PM

The only other TV I have with component inputs is - another Samsung :(


Have you anyway tried on that one too ?

Checked the cable with a multimeter and everything seems ok, no shorts. 
The only doubt I have about the wiring is there is a copper braiding in the outer sleeve of the cable and wonder if this needs to be soldered to the circular outer din plug for sheilding?


if the copper braiding you mean is the ground cable you have to sold it on the GND pin of course.

The only other systems Iv'e seen this happen on before is on C64 and Atari 8 bit but these always seemed to be produced by the video chip in those systems and the vertical lines I'm getting from my new cable is far worse.
The colours don't seem right either they look a little washed out or slightly different pallette so wonder if this has something to do with it.


I don't think this is a TI99 hardware issue.
If you could post a picture of your screen i would be very curious to see it.
If the color palette seems very different you could also check better that colors pins (red, green, blue) are not exchanged among them.

#38 OX. OFFLINE  

OX.

    Moonsweeper

  • 497 posts

Posted Mon Mar 5, 2018 6:01 PM

Plugged this into my older Samsung tonight via Component video cable and got "out of range" message, I then plugged in the modulator via RF and picture was fine.

 

I think what I really need here is a full wiring spec for component cable just to make sure I've made the cable correctly, failing that it could be another failing of Samsung TV's.



#39 ti99iuc OFFLINE  

ti99iuc

    Stargunner

  • 1,445 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted Mon Mar 5, 2018 6:03 PM

Plugged this into my older Samsung tonight via Component video cable and got "out of range" message, I then plugged in the modulator via RF and picture was fine.
 
I think what I really need here is a full wiring spec for component cable just to make sure I've made the cable correctly, failing that it could be another failing of Samsung TV's.


OX, maybe i could try to send you my cable ? It works for sure and you could try it.

Send me your address in PM.

#40 OX. OFFLINE  

OX.

    Moonsweeper

  • 497 posts

Posted Mon Mar 5, 2018 6:24 PM

OX, maybe i could try to send you my cable ? It works for sure and you could try it.

Send me your address in PM.

 

That would be great Ciro!  I will PM you my address and give it a go.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users