IGNORED

Sony Xperia Play - I love mine! What do you think?

Catsmasher

Posted in another thread - but bumped up to get others opinions...

I like the idea of handheld emulation, but have struggled finding a decent device - until now.

I own a Dingoo that I have been using for about 3 years and also one of the new Yinlips that I have owned for about two months. They are each OK, but not great. The Dingoo screen is too darn small and it has issues with SNES and N64 performance - it just isn't there. My Dingoo seem to love to lockup. I am constantly sticking a toothpick in the reset hole. The Yinlips seems to have enough power, but it is a pain to use, the touchscreen sucks, the wifi kept dropping out like it had noooo antenna which makes it necessary to download aps and games onto a microsd card and side lode them onto the device, and the battery life is horrible (at least on mine). The Yinlips is a basically pretty cheap piece of Chinese crap.

A week ago I went into the Verizon store to upgrade my old phone and saw the Sony Ericsson Xperia Play phone. Instead of a keyboard it opens to reveal a gaming control pad. Game over! I now have a brand new android smart phone that is also a handheld gaming device that is stable, fast, made with quality, and has a warranty. I can download emulator apps that work well without having to go through all the rooting or Dingux crap. It also provides newer games made just for it - the asphalt 6 game rocks. I have installed Atarioid, Nesoid, and Snesoid and all seem to work smoothly with no problems. This is what I have been looking for all along!!!

With a two year plan and rebate it was even way cheaper than a Dingoo, Cannoo or Yinlips. Without a plan and the rebate, I think it was about $150 - comparable to a Yinlips.

Hey - I needed a phone anyway. Why not get one that lets me play Mario Cart, Earthworm Jim, Crash Bandicoot, Berzerk, and all my other favorites.