Jump to content

Photo

Ridiculous Reality

released abbuc 2012 software game matosimi

113 replies to this topic

#26 Irgendwer OFFLINE  

Irgendwer

    Stargunner

  • 1,467 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sun Oct 14, 2012 5:43 AM

Just wonder - nobody else would prefer the trigger for jumping in favour of diagonal moves?

#27 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Gridrunner

  • 16,103 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Sun Oct 14, 2012 6:22 AM

Weighing things up, it's not really that critical. You probably use the block move as often as jumping, plus you sometimes need to move blocks when in the middle of a fall, so that instant response is needed.

Just goes to show the weakness of single button joystick - in most games where up is a jump it becomes really annoying but not so bad in this one.

#28 Irgendwer OFFLINE  

Irgendwer

    Stargunner

  • 1,467 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sun Oct 14, 2012 7:07 AM

You probably use the block move as often as jumping, plus you sometimes need to move blocks when in the middle of a fall, so that instant response is needed.


I think the same is valid for the smart-bombs in 'Dropzone' too. Space-bar would be an option (beside a more sophisticated/crude mechanism like e.g. 'Stick-Down-Button' enters overview, 'Button' leaves it (or so... ;-) )).

Just goes to show the weakness of single button joystick -


Fully agreed. I'm working on it. ;-)

Edited by Irgendwer, Sun Oct 14, 2012 7:08 AM.


#29 adam242 ONLINE  

adam242

    Stargunner

  • 1,010 posts
  • Location:Michigan

Posted Sun Oct 14, 2012 11:10 AM

Really enjoying the game on emulation and can't wait for an NTSC version. I'm puzzled as to why it won't run on my 1200xl with PAL ANTIC..

The 'up to jump' can easily be remedied in emulation by remapping the joystick if you prefer.. And nearly as easily with a real joystick by rewiring it. ;-)

And I'd like to add my vote for the ability to turn off the music, not just in this game, but in general. Call me old school, but 99% of the time, I prefer just sound effects.

#30 snicklin OFFLINE  

snicklin

    River Patroller

  • 2,197 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Sun Oct 14, 2012 11:55 AM

I've learnt something this weekend. Don't play rr after drinking.

#31 Synthpopalooza OFFLINE  

Synthpopalooza

    Stargunner

  • 1,472 posts
  • Location:knoxville, TN

Posted Sun Oct 14, 2012 1:25 PM

Suggeston: Option for a Sega Genesis controller ... that way you have two button control. B & C buttons can be used ... one is read normally, the other from the PADDL(0) register

#32 snicklin OFFLINE  

snicklin

    River Patroller

  • 2,197 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Sun Oct 14, 2012 2:17 PM

I've learnt something this weekend. Don't play rr after drinking.

#33 OBO OFFLINE  

OBO

    Moonsweeper

  • 462 posts
  • Location:Land of Wine&Cheese (aka France...)

Posted Mon Oct 15, 2012 6:51 AM

I've learnt something this weekend. Don't play rr after drinking.

I've learnt something this weekend. Don't play rr after drinking.


You should have learned something this weekend. Don't post on AA after drinking.

Back to the topic, I can't wait to play this on my soon-to-be delivered XEs.

#34 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    Retro Madman

  • 6,581 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:52 AM

The same post 3 hours apart :)

You were on the Tennants Super again :)

or brain damage as I knew it when I was younger...BAD stuff......

#35 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Gridrunner

  • 16,103 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Mon Oct 15, 2012 10:36 AM

I think I've changed my mind - a level code is needed. I'm up to the 8 box with mainly green background level and it's taken a long time to get here.

#36 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    Retro Madman

  • 6,581 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Mon Oct 15, 2012 10:57 AM

I think I've changed my mind - a level code is needed. I'm up to the 8 box with mainly green background level and it's taken a long time to get here.


Something where emulators and save states beat the real machine...

Its not often they do but a handy feature..

#37 Jacques OFFLINE  

Jacques

    Moonsweeper

  • 301 posts
  • Location:Wrocław, Poland

Posted Mon Oct 15, 2012 11:15 AM

@matosimi
As it seems quite crucial on real machines, is there any chance you'd consider adding such level-codes or skip-level feature?

#38 NIKON OFFLINE  

NIKON

    Stargunner

  • 1,903 posts

Posted Mon Oct 15, 2012 11:20 AM

I really like this game.. and to think I almost passed over this thread. I am a fan of puzzle games and this one is outstanding work on the ATARI. after all these years it still amazes me the things ATARI can be made to. I wish I had the finances to get real hardware again....but emulation will have to do for now.

One suggestion
Having level passwords would be nice for the real hardware peeps.

Other then that I think this is an outstanding effort.

#39 Paul Westphal OFFLINE  

Paul Westphal

    Stargunner

  • 1,295 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon

Posted Tue Oct 16, 2012 5:11 PM

What a great game! Very nice work. I seem to get stuck at a certain point but I must have been tired....

#40 snicklin OFFLINE  

snicklin

    River Patroller

  • 2,197 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Wed Oct 17, 2012 7:28 AM

Google chrome was playing up, sorry for the duplicated post

#41 Tigerduck OFFLINE  

Tigerduck

    Star Raider

  • 73 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Wed Oct 17, 2012 2:54 PM

Hi,
after I haved solved the level according to the attached picture (don't know the number of the level, but it took some time to reach it), I expected the next challenge.
But, aaarrghhh! The disk startet and in spite of loading the next level I got the DOS screen...

Happend this to anbody else?

I have the original ABBUC 5.25' Disk transfered into an ATR and loaded it via SIO2USB. Did some save states with the ABBUC-Freezer.
Maybe this configuration caused the problem, or is it a error in the program?

By the way, great job! I like this game very much.

Tigerduck

Attached Thumbnails

  • Foto-0001.jpg


#42 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Gridrunner

  • 16,103 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Wed Oct 17, 2012 3:21 PM

The Abbuc disk version is corrupt, you should use the standalone XEX that was linked to elsewhere.

#43 therealbountybob OFFLINE  

therealbountybob

    High Score Club Overlord and Caretaker

  • 8,271 posts
  • still bl**dy assembling
  • Location:The Atariage High Score Club World HQ

Posted Wed Oct 17, 2012 4:04 PM

Really excellent game matosimi :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

Got this far before ending my session:
Ridiculous Reality.jpg
A password or level skip feature is a must have for us real Atari players :twisted:
The controls are perfect for joystick play.

#44 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Gridrunner

  • 16,103 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Wed Oct 17, 2012 6:52 PM

I've only had brief periods to play in the last day or so.

Up to the tight maze level with 8 screens, 2 keys left.

#45 Philsan OFFLINE  

Philsan

    River Patroller

  • 3,860 posts
  • New Orleans Saints Super Bowl XLIV Champions
  • Location:Switzerland

Posted Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:14 PM

I agree on the fact that passwords or codes are necessary.
Nowadays I don't have the time to spend hours playing games on my Atari.

#46 jmetal88 OFFLINE  

jmetal88

    Dragonstomper

  • 723 posts
  • Location:Derby, KS

Posted Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:45 PM

I guess I'll go ahead and echo everyone else here; I'd love to see a pass code feature, if not even the ability to save to disk, should that be something doable. But before any of that, I want to see NTSC compatibility. :)

#47 Paul Westphal OFFLINE  

Paul Westphal

    Stargunner

  • 1,295 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon

Posted Thu Oct 18, 2012 2:43 PM

GREAT. Nice work. It is a good platform/puzzle game. Cheers!

#48 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Gridrunner

  • 16,103 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Thu Oct 18, 2012 6:46 PM

It appears to load each level so I suspect that be one reason for no level codes, although adding the logic to the program to skip levels shouldn't be a big job.
I also suspect that once you finish the game, that's it and you'd need to load it again to start another.

#49 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Gridrunner

  • 16,103 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Fri Oct 19, 2012 6:01 AM

Just finished - the maze level is the last one.

You get a congratulations tune + scrolling message and a nice pic. I won't post the pic, you'll have to get there yourselves.

#50 therealbountybob OFFLINE  

therealbountybob

    High Score Club Overlord and Caretaker

  • 8,271 posts
  • still bl**dy assembling
  • Location:The Atariage High Score Club World HQ

Posted Sat Oct 20, 2012 4:31 AM

Just finished - the maze level is the last one.

You get a congratulations tune + scrolling message and a nice pic. I won't post the pic, you'll have to get there yourselves.

Could you give an idea of how long it takes to complete - would like to play more but as on real hardware (and no codes/skip!) want to make sure have long enough session to tackle this one :)





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: released, abbuc, 2012, software, game, matosimi

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users