Jump to content

Photo

D.K. VCS


598 replies to this topic

#576 Trebor OFFLINE  

Trebor

    River Patroller

  • 2,755 posts

Posted Thu Jan 23, 2014 8:28 PM

 

"Yippee! There are two homebrew DKs in development right now! I enjoyed elements from both, and if both are ultimately released on cart, I'll probably buy both. Never can get enough Donkey Kong, after all."

Ditto :grin:



#577 stardust4ever OFFLINE  

stardust4ever

    River Patroller

  • 3,415 posts
  • Location:Louisiana

Posted Thu Feb 20, 2014 12:10 AM

Honestly, I am torn between both versions of DK. DK VCS has better audio and more cutscenes; DK Arcade has more accurate levels.



#578 Ransom OFFLINE  

Ransom

    River Patroller

  • 3,925 posts
  • Cartridge Gaming Enthusiast
  • Location:Just south of the Wisconsin border.

Posted Thu Feb 20, 2014 7:46 AM

Slap 'em both in one cartridge and everybody wins. :D



#579 iesposta OFFLINE  

iesposta

    Stargunner

  • 1,890 posts
  • Retro-gaming w/my VCS
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted Thu Feb 20, 2014 7:50 AM

Slap 'em both in one cartridge and everybody wins. :D


Wouldn't that be great? Although D.K. VCS is 32K Superchip, and DK Arcade 2600 is 32K DPC+. You would need a custom Melody board, 2 Melody boards, or one Melody board and one board with a Superchip.

#580 Ransom OFFLINE  

Ransom

    River Patroller

  • 3,925 posts
  • Cartridge Gaming Enthusiast
  • Location:Just south of the Wisconsin border.

Posted Thu Feb 20, 2014 8:42 AM

Wouldn't that be great? Although D.K. VCS is 32K Superchip, and DK Arcade 2600 is 32K DPC+. You would need a custom Melody board, 2 Melody boards, or one Melody board and one board with a Superchip.

 

OK, fine, so twist my arm and make me buy both.  As long as they both come CIB, I'm fine with that. :)



#581 stardust4ever OFFLINE  

stardust4ever

    River Patroller

  • 3,415 posts
  • Location:Louisiana

Posted Thu Feb 20, 2014 3:30 PM

^^Is there any possible way to make a "doubl3 ender" out of both DKs?

#582 Antiriad OFFLINE  

Antiriad

    Space Invader

  • 30 posts

Posted Sun Aug 24, 2014 8:33 AM

Donkey Kong VCS is a dream come true!

 

There are (official) news about a cartridge release on the store?

 

Thanks.



#583 Joe Musashi OFFLINE  

Joe Musashi

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 231 posts

Posted Sun Aug 24, 2014 11:59 AM

Well, it's still WIP, but I guess it's about time I finish this. There is not much more ROM space left :(, so it will be mostly bug fixing. I will probably get back to it when I have reached the next milestone of my current project.



#584 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash

  • 18,831 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany

Posted Sun Aug 24, 2014 12:12 PM

 There is not much more ROM space left :(

If you need extra space for more features, levels etc. I am sure I can do some magic there. :)



#585 Antiriad OFFLINE  

Antiriad

    Space Invader

  • 30 posts

Posted Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:02 PM

Well, it's still WIP, but I guess it's about time I finish this. There is not much more ROM space left :(, so it will be mostly bug fixing. I will probably get back to it when I have reached the next milestone of my current project.


Thank you very much for the answer.

Please, don't let it unfinished: I think a lot of people like me it's waiting for an official release.
Donkey Kong VCS is the game that I want for Christmas, exactly like almost 30 years ago! :)

What is your new project? Maybe Mario Bros VCS? :D

Thanks

#586 save2600 OFFLINE  

save2600

    Quadrunner

  • 8,464 posts
  • Location:WI

Posted Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:32 PM

Donkey Kong VCS is the game that I want for Christmas, exactly like almost 30 years ago! :)


Same here! :)

#587 stardust4ever OFFLINE  

stardust4ever

    River Patroller

  • 3,415 posts
  • Location:Louisiana

Posted Mon Aug 25, 2014 2:50 AM

Joe, please don't give up on us! I like both DKs and will buy both if/when they get released. For some reason, I can't get enough remakes of classics like DK or Pacman. :)

#588 Joe Musashi OFFLINE  

Joe Musashi

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 231 posts

Posted Mon Aug 25, 2014 4:06 PM

If you need extra space for more features, levels etc. I am sure I can do some magic there. :)

 

Thanks! I really appreciate your offer. There's one more feature I'd like to have. I'll contact you when I resume the project and have cleaned up the code a little.

 

Please, don't let it unfinished: I think a lot of people like me it's waiting for an official release.
Donkey Kong VCS is the game that I want for Christmas, exactly like almost 30 years ago! :)

 

Ah, better not hold your breath for this year's Christmas :)



#589 Antiriad OFFLINE  

Antiriad

    Space Invader

  • 30 posts

Posted Mon Aug 25, 2014 5:37 PM

Thanks! I really appreciate your offer. There's one more feature I'd like to have. I'll contact you when I resume the project and have cleaned up the code a little.
 

 
Ah, better not hold your breath for this year's Christmas :)


Noooooo :(

#590 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash

  • 18,831 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany

Posted Tue Aug 26, 2014 7:54 AM

...and have cleaned up the code a little.

Yea, I know that problem from my own projects. :)



#591 iesposta OFFLINE  

iesposta

    Stargunner

  • 1,890 posts
  • Retro-gaming w/my VCS
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted Tue Aug 26, 2014 6:23 PM

Thanks! I really appreciate your offer. There's one more feature I'd like to have. I'll contact you when I resume the project and have cleaned up the code a little.
... :)


Do take Thomas up on his offer.
If your game is 2K, he will find about 3K free, seriously!
He was born speaking 6507, then learned to talk, I'm sure.

#592 imstarryeyed OFFLINE  

imstarryeyed

    Star Raider

  • 51 posts

Posted Sun Sep 14, 2014 10:55 AM

Simply amazing looking game, so cannot wait to see both Donkey Kong on cart. It seems so right to have these unwrite the terrible one that had been around for decades.

#593 johncl OFFLINE  

johncl

    Space Invader

  • 15 posts

Posted Thu Sep 25, 2014 1:35 AM

Just wanted to congratulate on a fantastic job. I am not an Atari guy really, but somehow got fascinated by the programming of this console as its a fantastic challenge. Having played some with programming for the device its certainly amazing what you have managed to push through the Stella. But I understand you also rely on some external hardware? How does that work, will making cartridges with the game be very costly?


Edited by johncl, Thu Sep 25, 2014 3:11 AM.


#594 PFL OFFLINE  

PFL

    Dragonstomper

  • 705 posts
  • Location:Advanced Tech and Research Institute

Posted Thu Sep 25, 2014 6:30 AM

Just wanted to echo johncl's sentiment.  I love my 2600 but I wouldn't know where to begin coding for it.  That doesn't mean I can't appreciate the skills and work that go into projects like this (I've read Racing the Beam ;) ).  Amazing stuff guys (on both new ports).  Now if you could just do the same for Mario Bros (cut scenes and the like) that would be great, thanks.  I'll even give you a cookie!

 

Seriously though, great stuff. :)



#595 iesposta OFFLINE  

iesposta

    Stargunner

  • 1,890 posts
  • Retro-gaming w/my VCS
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted Thu Sep 25, 2014 6:44 AM

Just wanted to congratulate on a fantastic job. I am not an Atari guy really, but somehow got fascinated by the programming of this console as its a fantastic challenge. Having played some with programming for the device its certainly amazing what you have managed to push through the Stella. But I understand you also rely on some external hardware? How does that work, will making cartridges with the game be very costly?


The author may choose to answer, but from what I understand it is programmed in assembly with a normal bank switching method used back in the day with additional 128 bytes of cartridge RAM called Superchip, which was used in games like Dig Dug, Millipede, Stargate, Crystal Castles, and others.
Today that extra memory can be duplicated, not costing a great deal, in AtariAge cart hardware called Melody, Melody Light, or Melody Light Light. Also a cart can be built using the Superchip from an original Superchip game.

#596 darryl1970 OFFLINE  

darryl1970

    Chopper Commander

  • 173 posts
  • Location:Ohio

Posted Thu Sep 25, 2014 12:38 PM

Just wanted to echo johncl's sentiment.  I love my 2600 but I wouldn't know where to begin coding for it.  That doesn't mean I can't appreciate the skills and work that go into projects like this (I've read Racing the Beam ;) ).  Amazing stuff guys (on both new ports).  Now if you could just do the same for Mario Bros (cut scenes and the like) that would be great, thanks.  I'll even give you a cookie!

 

Seriously though, great stuff. :)

 

 

I think the OTHER excellent DK conversion, using 2600 basic, takes advantage of the DSP...



#597 stardust4ever OFFLINE  

stardust4ever

    River Patroller

  • 3,415 posts
  • Location:Louisiana

Posted Thu Sep 25, 2014 1:33 PM

Yeah, kinda like the new Pacman game being churned out: Pacman 4k and Pacman VCS... Both light years better than the originals. And I can't wait to earn both DKs! :D

#598 Joe Musashi OFFLINE  

Joe Musashi

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 231 posts

Posted Thu Sep 25, 2014 1:54 PM

I'm using an F4 (32K ROM) bankswitching scheme with additional 128 byte SARA (Superchip) RAM. (You can see this if you press Alt+l in Stella.)

 

The F4 scheme is a "standard" Atari bankswitching type, though AFAIK there was only one F4 32K game in the 80s. As iesposta already said, SARA RAM was quite common.

 

Most of my ROM space is used for the graphics as I'm using most of the arcade animation frames. Also, due to the multi-coloring all sprite graphics has to be there essentially twice.

 

Kong.png

 

I believe DK Arcade also uses a 32K ROM.

 

 



#599 stardust4ever OFFLINE  

stardust4ever

    River Patroller

  • 3,415 posts
  • Location:Louisiana

Posted Thu Sep 25, 2014 6:20 PM

That's kinda trendy that bth gmes utilixe the same 32kb rom size, impemented in 2 radically different ways.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users