IGNORED

Space Invaders 78 Disassembly

Blue Azure

This is my first post so I plan to make it a good one...

I've been enjoying Bob's Space Invaders for 3 months now. Best port from arcade I've ever seen. It's time to give back, so I disassembled the code, at least the logic portions. The bit mapping is a mystery to me still.

As a direct result, we have an enhanced game play with Space Invaders 99 LIVES. Guaranteed to improve your scores! Will you ever lose all your lives? Simple mod to the game code in three places, 63 hex = 99 decimal. We know this because 6x16^1 + 3x16^0 = 99. I suppose you could use FF hex and have 255 lives, but who cares? I included PAL versions but how many users use this?

NTSC Space Invaders 99 Lives.bin

SI_99LIVES_NTSC_50C0.bin

NTSC Space Invaders 99 Lives.a78

SI99Lives_NTSC_16K.a78

PAL Space Invaders 99 Lives.bin

SI_99LIVES_PAL_4C91.bin

PAL Space Invaders 99 Lives.a78

SI99Lives_PAL_32K.a78

Christmas Quiz…Can you figure out how to do these variations?

> Disabling the player collision detect…

> When invaders hit bottom, the game isn't over, simply jump to the next level…

> Speed up bomb drops to max…

> Score points when you hit the bombs…

> Double fire like in the 2600 version...

Many thanks to Bob DeCrescenzo. Efforting this disassembly project I have special appreciation for all the work you did. It's extraordinary work you did. "Maybe you guys can do something with it." So we can, thanks to you.

Future Projects…

Does anyone have CENTIPEDE.asm? PACMAN.asm? I need those. THX.

MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ALL!

Thanks for your reply Rybags. Yes, I have all of Bob's that you listed there (and many others). That's precisely where I found INVADERS.asm that I'm working with now. I was hopeful, and still hopeful, to obtain the original PACMAN.asm (2005) and/or PACMAN.asm (2006) which are both 16K titles.

I still hope someone can help me determine the bit-mapping schemes for the UFO, Invaders and Player in Space Invaders.