Jump to content

Photo

60 fps video using SIDE 2


160 replies to this topic

#26 gorgh OFFLINE  

gorgh

    Star Raider

  • 64 posts
  • Location:warsaw,poland

Posted Sun Apr 28, 2013 9:30 AM

what Larry said. Kudos!

#27 fox OFFLINE  

fox

    Chopper Commander

  • 225 posts
  • Location:Poland

Posted Sun Apr 28, 2013 1:14 PM

RAM refresh is reduced to 2 cycles per line most of the time. Doesn't it make some bits flip?

#28 phaeron OFFLINE  

phaeron

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,105 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Sun Apr 28, 2013 1:25 PM

I suppose that's possible, although the rows that the program uses would be actively refreshed by accesses from display list DMA and the CPU. It would be interesting if we did see some bit errors appearing in other parts of memory.

#29 potatohead OFFLINE  

potatohead

    River Patroller

  • 4,383 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon

Posted Sun Apr 28, 2013 2:27 PM

Pure awesome! Bad ass!

Thanks a lot for sharing this. Made my day to see that on an Atari 8 bit computer. :) And the story goes on! Little by little, the cracks in the system get exposed, exploited and stuff like this happens! Love this hobby. Big grin over here.

#30 epi OFFLINE  

epi

    Combat Commando

  • 4 posts
  • Location:Poland

Posted Sun Apr 28, 2013 2:42 PM

I rarely write anything on AtariAge, but this time I can't stay mute. Fantastic work, Avery!

#31 JAC! OFFLINE  

JAC!

    Stargunner

  • 1,460 posts
  • Always looking for GFX and MSX for my demos
  • Location:Lebach, Germany

Posted Sun Apr 28, 2013 3:39 PM

by applying a 2:1 reduction box filter and then Floyd-Steinberg error diffusion to go to 4-bit, while the chroma goes through a 4x4 ordered dither. I originally wrote this when the best I could do was 7.6 fps, so this could be improved by adding error diffusion to the chroma path and also doing temporal dithering (2-frame flicker). With regard to the wacky math in the chroma path, it is first converting the Cb/Cr to RGB and then to I/Q, then converting that vector to polar form to extract...


That's quite exactly what I was referring to with "I miss about 10 years of writing, well, VirtualDub :-)"

#32 pirx OFFLINE  

pirx

    Moonsweeper

  • 315 posts
  • Location:Poland

Posted Sun Apr 28, 2013 3:40 PM

Kudos, Master!

#33 AtariGeezer OFFLINE  

AtariGeezer

    River Patroller

  • 2,315 posts
  • Location:Santee, CA

Posted Sun Apr 28, 2013 5:12 PM

Mind blowing, totally awsome phaeron :) :) :) :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

#34 phaeron OFFLINE  

phaeron

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,105 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Tue Apr 30, 2013 2:00 AM

Okay, to extend the insanity a bit more:
Attached File  movplay60n.zip   7.57KB   186 downloads
Encoded video hard disk image: http://www.mediafire...77db74kriuncpj3

I was able to increase the screen size to normal width, 80x192. Turns out the CompactFlash card I am using does indeed require a few cycles between 512b sectors, so the two puzzles were (a) how to get enough cycles in horizontal blank and (b) getting the line splits to fall on sector boundaries. The answers were to replace the STA WSYNCs with a completely cycle-counted kernel, to remove all the LMSes and let the memory scan counter just freewheel in a 4K page, and to mix in horizontally scrolled lines to eat 32 bytes every 12 scanlines to make 12*40 + 32 = 512. The modified player now reads in 17 sectors per frame for a data rate of 509KB/sec. I also improved the dithering in the video encoder and fixed an error in the luma levels handling to get better video quality.

#35 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 12,109 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Tue Apr 30, 2013 6:00 AM

:o Can't wait to try this.

#36 Mathy OFFLINE  

Mathy

    River Patroller

  • 2,306 posts
  • Location:Heerlen, NL

Posted Tue Apr 30, 2013 11:07 AM

Hello Phaeron

Could you upload a video of this last one. Not everyone has a SIDE2.

Sincerely

Mathy

#37 Xuel OFFLINE  

Xuel

    Dragonstomper

  • 594 posts
  • Location:US

Posted Tue Apr 30, 2013 11:39 AM

Could you upload a video of this last one. Not everyone has a SIDE2.


You can use the same directions phaeron gave before to see it in Altirra.

#38 a8isa1 OFFLINE  

a8isa1

    Stargunner

  • 1,258 posts

Posted Tue Apr 30, 2013 11:46 AM

Okay, to extend the insanity a bit more:
Attached File  movplay60n.zip   7.57KB   186 downloads
Encoded video hard disk image: http://www.mediafire...77db74kriuncpj3

I was able to increase the screen size to normal width, 80x192. Turns out the CompactFlash card I am using does indeed require a few cycles between 512b sectors, so the two puzzles were (a) how to get enough cycles in horizontal blank and (b) getting the line splits to fall on sector boundaries. The answers were to replace the STA WSYNCs with a completely cycle-counted kernel, to remove all the LMSes and let the memory scan counter just freewheel in a 4K page, and to mix in horizontally scrolled lines to eat 32 bytes every 12 scanlines to make 12*40 + 32 = 512. The modified player now reads in 17 sectors per frame for a data rate of 509KB/sec. I also improved the dithering in the video encoder and fixed an error in the luma levels handling to get better video quality.

Phaeron, do we now resample videos to 160x192?

-SteveS

#39 Mathy OFFLINE  

Mathy

    River Patroller

  • 2,306 posts
  • Location:Heerlen, NL

Posted Tue Apr 30, 2013 11:47 AM

Hello Xuel

IIRC Altirra only runs on the PC and the last one finally went to the attic this afternoon. As of today, we only use windows to look outside.

Running this kind of stuff on an emulator isn't like running it on the real thing.

Sincerely

Mathy

#40 Xuel OFFLINE  

Xuel

    Dragonstomper

  • 594 posts
  • Location:US

Posted Tue Apr 30, 2013 12:04 PM

Running this kind of stuff on an emulator isn't like running it on the real thing.


Fair enough. :)

#41 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 12,109 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Tue Apr 30, 2013 12:25 PM

Just watched the latest one... honestly, this is one of the most amazing things I've seen in a long while.

#42 roland p OFFLINE  

roland p

    River Patroller

  • 2,394 posts
  • $23
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted Tue Apr 30, 2013 1:32 PM

Has someone successfuly ran this in Altirra? I tried this in Altirra but no success. I downloaded 2.3 somewhere which has the side2 support. Attached an 'side.rom', and a 'REV02.ROM', set the harddisk to 'testhd.bin' and the right settings, set video to ntsc, booted 'movplay60.obx' but I only see a cursor.

Basic revc.rom seems to run fine, I get the ready prompt.

I really want to see this :)

#43 a8isa1 OFFLINE  

a8isa1

    Stargunner

  • 1,258 posts

Posted Tue Apr 30, 2013 1:52 PM

Has someone successfuly ran this in Altirra? I tried this in Altirra but no success. I downloaded 2.3 somewhere which has the side2 support. Attached an 'side.rom', and a 'REV02.ROM', set the harddisk to 'testhd.bin' and the right settings, set video to ntsc, booted 'movplay60.obx' but I only see a cursor.

Basic revc.rom seems to run fine, I get the ready prompt.

I really want to see this :)

Yes but I'm limited to an older version of Altirra (1.9, I think) on this old linux box. For some reason I get a minidump whenever I try to run any of the version 2 betas or 2.20 stable.

All I configured is the hard disk (as a SIDE 1, no SIDE 2 in this release) and I booted movplay60n.obx. I didn't need to configure a SIDE cartridge ROM.

-SteveS

Edited by a8isa1, Tue Apr 30, 2013 1:55 PM.


#44 Stormbringer OFFLINE  

Stormbringer

    Chopper Commander

  • 175 posts

Posted Tue Apr 30, 2013 1:54 PM

Just watched the latest one... honestly, this is one of the most amazing things I've seen in a long while.


As long as you figure out how to jam it into your GUI

#45 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 12,109 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Tue Apr 30, 2013 1:57 PM

As long as you figure out how to jam it into your GUI


Yeah this is exactly what I was saying to MrFish the other day. Begs to be included (eventually, he said struggling to get a couple of hours' coding in). GUI will have the FAT32 file system built-in, so if Avery writes a player which runs off FAT32... it's a done deal. :)

#46 roland p OFFLINE  

roland p

    River Patroller

  • 2,394 posts
  • $23
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted Tue Apr 30, 2013 2:05 PM

Yes but I'm limited to an older version of Altirra (1.9, I think) on this old linux box. For some reason I get a minidump whenever I try to run any of the version 2 betas or 2.20 stable.

All I configured is the hard disk (as a SIDE 1, no SIDE 2 in this release) and I booted movplay60n.obx. I didn't need to configure a SIDE cartridge ROM.

-SteveS

Ok, I got it working now. re-setting the hardisk settings and rebooting the image (instead of reset) seemed to help.

#47 a8isa1 OFFLINE  

a8isa1

    Stargunner

  • 1,258 posts

Posted Tue Apr 30, 2013 2:39 PM

Phaeron, I answered my earlier question by just going ahead and resampling a video to 160x192 frames.

My converted video works but it's almost completely void of color.

I used mencoder to process the video. I thought I chose reasonable parameters to do the task but I ended up with a video that is almost completely void of color. I tried a second time and bumped the saturation by 50%. I then got some color but not much and what I got is wrong, blues where reds,orange,or browns should be. (See screenshots).

snowman6.png snowman2.png

Here is the command string I used. Mencoder options are numerous and quite daunting.

mencoder -nosound -of rawvideo -ovc raw -vf hue=0:1.5,scale=160:192,format=yv12,harddup -ofps 59.9227 <input_file> -o <output_file>

I hope there are some mencoder experts here. If there is an easier linux tool to use I'd love to hear about. I don't have any Windows computers to use.

-SteveS

#48 phaeron OFFLINE  

phaeron

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,105 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Tue Apr 30, 2013 9:46 PM

Sorry, didn't have time to post a video. Here you go:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gYc-ntgrBBs&feature=youtu.be

(Unfortunately, it looks like YouTube decided to recompress this one and so there are some compression artifacts. It seems we're at the point where the Atari produces higher quality video than YouTube....)

I'd be interested if anyone else has gotten this to work on real hardware -- hopefully there is more than one Atari in the world that can run this successfully. Right now this requires NTSC, as I haven't gotten to modifying the pipelines and doing an encode for PAL. CompactFlash card compatibility is also an issue -- the runs I've been doing on real hardware are from a 512MB "high speed" PQI card, since the other 256MB Mr. Flash card wasn't fast enough. Note that it'll work on a SIDE 1, if it's stable; I have it successfully working on both my SIDE 1 and SIDE 2 carts.

My converted video works but it's almost completely void of color.

I used mencoder to process the video. I thought I chose reasonable parameters to do the task but I ended up with a video that is almost completely void of color. I tried a second time and bumped the saturation by 50%. I then got some color but not much and what I got is wrong, blues where reds,orange,or browns should be. (See screenshots).


Saturation is a problem as with this kind of screen encoding the Atari can't produce very saturated color. You'll notice that most of the colors in my encodes are pretty muted, so don't be surprised if you have to crank up the saturation.

It looks like you might be getting the U/V planes swapped. I don't know much about mencoder, but it looks like it has a swapuv option you can use to fix that. Alternatively, you can modify encvideo60n to read the U/V planes swapped instead.

#49 rdea6 OFFLINE  

rdea6

    River Patroller

  • 2,432 posts
  • Location:Arizona USA

Posted Tue Apr 30, 2013 11:56 PM

My Sandisk 256 CF card with Side1 and Side2 on real hardware 130XE throw's a blue line to screen declaring a READ ERROR and some numbers that I didn't write down. My other faster CF cards are in use and I think I remember a statement about using a 256 MB CF setting.

#50 twh/f2 OFFLINE  

twh/f2

    Dragonstomper

  • 605 posts
  • Location:Fractalus

Posted Wed May 1, 2013 1:43 AM

I wonder how it would look with a VBXE :) Does the VBXE board have a comparable DMA mode? if so it could "suck" the data much the same way out of the CF like Antic does.

It's actually funny to see Antic is overloading CF cards which were produced at a whole different generation of technology!

Any chance to see this ported to IDEPLUS2.0?




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users