Jump to content

Photo

bB with native 64k cart support - 1.1d.reveng


344 replies to this topic

#326 abaudrand OFFLINE  

abaudrand

    Chopper Commander

  • 234 posts

Posted Tue Jun 30, 2015 6:52 AM

I've assigned the 16 banks... did I miss something?   

  9015 bytes of ROM space left in bank 1
      1864 bytes of ROM space left in bank 2
      602 bytes of ROM space left in bank 3
      1119 bytes of ROM space left in bank 4
      2749 bytes of ROM space left in bank 5
      3408 bytes of ROM space left in bank 6
      1042 bytes of ROM space left in bank 7
      3534 bytes of ROM space left in bank 8
      4052 bytes of ROM space left in bank 9
      4052 bytes of ROM space left in bank 10
      4052 bytes of ROM space left in bank 11
      4052 bytes of ROM space left in bank 12
      4052 bytes of ROM space left in bank 13
      4052 bytes of ROM space left in bank 14
      4052 bytes of ROM space left in bank 15
      1132 bytes of ROM space left
      9015 bytes of ROM space left in bank 1
segment:  1fd4          eqm       vs current org: fc9d
DrakhansNight0.7.7.9.bas.asm (2097): error: Origin Reverse-indexed.
Aborting assembly
Errors were encountered during assembly.

Edited by abaudrand, Tue Jun 30, 2015 10:27 PM.


#327 RevEng ONLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,386 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Wed Jul 1, 2015 8:42 AM

It looks like bank 1 is currently too full. Try moving some stuff out of there into the other banks.

Oddly it's reporting too much space left there instead of a negative value.

#328 abaudrand OFFLINE  

abaudrand

    Chopper Commander

  • 234 posts

Posted Wed Jul 1, 2015 1:24 PM

sorry haven't seen your post before PM you. I didn't add or remove anything since you sent back to me the fixed project. I just tried to set romsize to 64Ko, moved all from bank8 to bank16 and add line for each new bank from 9 to 15... 



#329 RevEng ONLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,386 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Wed Jul 1, 2015 4:43 PM

Pretty sure the the problem is the custom bB files you're using, which conflict with the newer code. I'll hit you up on PM.

#330 MausGames OFFLINE  

MausGames

    Dragonstomper

  • 897 posts
  • Location:MO, USA

Posted Tue Dec 22, 2015 7:31 AM

I've installed this, and the latest version of Stella. I'm not having any luck getting msdpc.bas to run properly, and I have no idea what the issue is. I've attached a screenshot of what happens when I compile and run.

 

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • dpcnotworking.gif


#331 MausGames OFFLINE  

MausGames

    Dragonstomper

  • 897 posts
  • Location:MO, USA

Posted Tue Dec 22, 2015 7:53 AM

Ok evidently that's how it is supposed to look, and I'm just completely dense. It was the staggered playfield showing up as straight lines that threw me off.



#332 MausGames OFFLINE  

MausGames

    Dragonstomper

  • 897 posts
  • Location:MO, USA

Posted Wed Dec 23, 2015 12:22 AM

Now that I know I have this working properly and am making some good progress with it, I was wondering - Is there a good way to know how many cycles are left when using the DPC+ kernel?

 

Because of the large playfield, color options, and multiple sprites, it didn't take long to feel like I am probably using a ton of cycles for what I have going on, but I'm hoping there is a way to actually find out. I don't have a way to test on real hardware to know if I'm doing anything that will 'break' the game, and still have a ton of stuff to add so I feel like I'm surely going to go way over with no way to track what I'm using.



#333 RevEng ONLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,386 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Wed Dec 23, 2015 10:13 AM

Stella isn't cycle accurate so far as the ARM code running behind DPC+, so the only real way to know your code doesn't have cycle issues is to run it on real hardware.

#334 RevEng ONLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,386 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Tue Oct 4, 2016 5:21 AM

the first post now has an updated v38 version.

I fixed a bug where a complex "if...then" statement wouldn't work with "then label". While I was in, I reordered the memory variables a bit so you can operate on var0-var47,a-z with a single loop.

#335 wallaby OFFLINE  

wallaby

    Star Raider

  • 97 posts

Posted Wed Oct 5, 2016 6:38 AM

How do you test a 64k game on a real system? Does the Harmony cartridge work with games that size? Can you use DPC+ with this 64k option?



#336 Papa OFFLINE  

Papa

    Dragonstomper

  • 728 posts
  • now loading...
  • Location:RAM (turn me off and I'm gone)

Posted Wed Oct 5, 2016 6:45 AM

The DPC+ kernel defaults 32k but I guess it could be tweaked somehow.



#337 Papa OFFLINE  

Papa

    Dragonstomper

  • 728 posts
  • now loading...
  • Location:RAM (turn me off and I'm gone)

Posted Wed Oct 5, 2016 6:48 AM

Stella isn't cycle accurate so far as the ARM code running behind DPC+, so the only real way to know your code doesn't have cycle issues is to run it on real hardware.

 

I know, right?  It's hard to impress people with the enhancements when they all reside in emu land.  My stuff is flickery and slippery on Stella, but looks REAL GOOD on a VCS!



#338 RevEng ONLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,386 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Wed Oct 5, 2016 7:14 AM

I believe you need a Harmony Encore to play 64k and up. Probably the upcoming 7800 Harmony will support these larger 2600 formats too.

There's no defined 64k DPC+ format or hardware capable of 64k DPC+ AFAIK. I believe the ARM chips with larger flash sizes to allow for >32k make it prohibitively expensive for non-multi carts, but batari would know better.

#339 RevEng ONLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,386 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Sun Jan 8, 2017 9:26 AM

the first post has been updated with the new v39 version.

I updated some code in the bB DPC+ kernel to support the starfield effect.

#340 AgentOrange96 OFFLINE  

AgentOrange96

    Combat Commando

  • 2 posts
  • Electrical & Computer Engineering student at RIT
  • Location:Rochester, NY

Posted Mon Mar 6, 2017 12:00 PM

I'm using the latest version of this with build 556 of Visual Bb. When I compile anything, it seems to run as usual without giving any errors, however, no binary seems to be produced. I'm not sure if there is something I have set up wrong of if this is a bug. It seems to be independent of the .bas file I use. I'm running this on Windows 10. My path settings should be correct. If you need more details, I'd be more than happy to help figure this out. Thanks!

 

EDIT: I ran the compiler outside of Visual Bb and figured out why no binary was produced. It seems in your last upload you forgot to compile bbfilter for Windows. Luckily, since you had the source file in there, I was able to compile it myself. Now I just need to figure out what I'm doing wrong as far as my use of the DPC+ kernel.


Edited by AgentOrange96, Mon Mar 6, 2017 6:23 PM.


#341 RevEng ONLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,386 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Mon Mar 6, 2017 7:24 PM

If I download the zip from the first post, I can see bbfilter.exe in it. :? Maybe antivirus software erroneously removed when you unzipped it?

#342 AgentOrange96 OFFLINE  

AgentOrange96

    Combat Commando

  • 2 posts
  • Electrical & Computer Engineering student at RIT
  • Location:Rochester, NY

Posted Mon Mar 6, 2017 7:53 PM

For some reason Avira didn't tell me it quarantined that file on my desktop, however it did tell me on my laptop when I went to go check it on there. So yeah, you're spot on with that one! Thank you!


Edited by AgentOrange96, Mon Mar 6, 2017 7:53 PM.


#343 RevEng ONLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,386 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Mon Mar 6, 2017 7:56 PM

Not a problem!

#344 iesposta OFFLINE  

iesposta

    River Patroller

  • 3,199 posts
  • Retro-gaming w/my VCS
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted Tue Mar 14, 2017 3:20 AM

Building a DPC+ game with " const noscore = 1 " results in 251 scan lines, not 262.

#345 RevEng ONLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,386 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Thu Mar 16, 2017 9:02 PM

Building a DPC+ game with " const noscore = 1 " results in 251 scan lines, not 262.


Looks like noscore was only partially implemented in the DPC+ bB kernel. I added some code to maintain a 262 scanline count, and updated the bB zip in the first post of this thread.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users