Jump to content

Photo

Coleco ADAM Power Supply


439 replies to this topic

#51 Tempest OFFLINE  

Tempest

    Monochrome Martinet

  • 25,666 posts
  • Location:Accardi-By-The-Sea

Posted Mon Nov 17, 2014 9:35 AM

Awesome!


  • Rey likes this

#52 Rey OFFLINE  

Rey

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 674 posts
  • Mods for ColecoVision & ADAM
  • Location:Florida

Posted Tue Nov 18, 2014 7:12 AM

I regret to inform you all that due to some variations in revisions that coleco made to the ADAM boards, I'm pulling the plug on this project :( . Some ADAMS work just fine while others are having issues with video outputs. My ADAM happens to be one that works just fine and have other customers that have no issues. Yet I received the first report of a problem by another buyer which prompted me to purchase another working memory console. After much testing last night on that 2nd ADAM, I can't figure out why this is happening and why is it that no matter the printer, it works fine with ANY ADAM. 

 

I am VERY disappointed and heart broken by all of this. I have already issued refunds to the last members that sent in payments. I will be in contact with anyone else having a problem and take care of them. It really bothers me that I can enjoy this piece in my private collection and yet not everyone else can! Thinking that maybe the reason was that I have an F18A installed in my ADAM but I have others that aren't having issues and they don't have an F18A installed even though the boards having issues would be fixed by installing the F18A. At the end it's the video output that's having issues, everything else works as it should. 

 

This is a huge loss for me and most of the items I bought to take care of you guys I am now stuck with so am in the RED big time.

 

I want to apologize for disappointing you all. I was so confident by months of testing that I had a SUPER product on my hands and yet it never occurred to me to do some testing on another ADAM with an older revision of the mother board. 

 

I am a perfectionist and I can't stress enough how much this is KILLING me!  Feel like a failure,didn't sleep last night trying to figure this out only to fail over and over!!!

 

I may continue until the weekend testing some more but for now I'm putting this aside. Even though I do want to give up completely on this because of how upset I am, I know many of you having been begging to replace that behemoth of a printer only good as a power supply for a very long time now.

 

So sometime next year I promise you all to take a look at this one more time and figure out what the problem is. No matter how exact I adjusted the voltages of the new supply to match the voltages on the printer, it still has issues with video output.

 

If you have an F18A it is a guarantee my current supply WILL work.  If you don't then you'll have to wait until I come up with a new solution. In fact I do have one that does work but it is a little bigger than the supply I was making now so what's the point. I think you all would agree that smaller is better and that is my goal. 

 

Again my apologies. Having two ADAMS now with different revisions will make sure this mistake doesn't happen again! 

 

 

Rey

 

 



#53 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • 5,651 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Tue Nov 18, 2014 7:53 AM

So sorry to hear this as I know you put a lot of time, effort, money, etc. into this project. I would recommend contacting AtariAge member DJPUBBA to see if he can shed any light on this issue seeing as he converted and sold PC power supplies for a number of years to ADAM owners. I have one such unit powering my main system and will have to test it out on my other two systems.

It's not very common to find an ADAM with a revision lower than 80 anymore as most of the earlier revisions were returned or upgraded by Honeywell, but there may still be some floating around out there. Even in R80 systems, there are differences, but they mainly involve the ADAM Logic Board (cleaned things up such as removal of jumper wiring and reduced the number of chips required for SmartWriter) and not the CV Delta Board that contains the video.

#54 Tempest OFFLINE  

Tempest

    Monochrome Martinet

  • 25,666 posts
  • Location:Accardi-By-The-Sea

Posted Tue Nov 18, 2014 8:19 AM

PM sent.  I have a F18a so I should be good to go.

 

I agree with NIAD, someone should be able to help you get this sorted out.  Don't throw it all away, this is just another bug to work through. :)



#55 Rey OFFLINE  

Rey

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 674 posts
  • Mods for ColecoVision & ADAM
  • Location:Florida

Posted Tue Nov 18, 2014 12:02 PM

Thanks guys. I apologize for not replying to the messages today but it's insane here at work. My schedule is 4am to 4pm. I will answer back later today.  Sorry to let you guys down with this.....

 

 

Rey



#56 Tempest OFFLINE  

Tempest

    Monochrome Martinet

  • 25,666 posts
  • Location:Accardi-By-The-Sea

Posted Tue Nov 18, 2014 12:05 PM

You should also send a note to Matthew180 since the F18a is his baby.  Maybe he can shed some light on why your power supply only works on systems with his board installed. 



#57 Rey OFFLINE  

Rey

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 674 posts
  • Mods for ColecoVision & ADAM
  • Location:Florida

Posted Tue Nov 18, 2014 12:42 PM

Very good idea Tempest, thank you. Jim I will message you later this evening. 



#58 chart45 OFFLINE  

chart45

    Dragonstomper

  • 720 posts

Posted Tue Nov 18, 2014 4:58 PM

I regret to inform you all that due to some variations in revisions that coleco made to the ADAM boards, I'm pulling the plug on this project :( . Some ADAMS work just fine while others are having issues with video outputs. My ADAM happens to be one that works just fine and have other customers that have no issues. Yet I received the first report of a problem by another buyer which prompted me to purchase another working memory console. After much testing last night on that 2nd ADAM, I can't figure out why this is happening and why is it that no matter the printer, it works fine with ANY ADAM. 
 
I am VERY disappointed and heart broken by all of this. I have already issued refunds to the last members that sent in payments. I will be in contact with anyone else having a problem and take care of them. It really bothers me that I can enjoy this piece in my private collection and yet not everyone else can! Thinking that maybe the reason was that I have an F18A installed in my ADAM but I have others that aren't having issues and they don't have an F18A installed even though the boards having issues would be fixed by installing the F18A. At the end it's the video output that's having issues, everything else works as it should. 
 
This is a huge loss for me and most of the items I bought to take care of you guys I am now stuck with so am in the RED big time.
 
I want to apologize for disappointing you all. I was so confident by months of testing that I had a SUPER product on my hands and yet it never occurred to me to do some testing on another ADAM with an older revision of the mother board. 
 
I am a perfectionist and I can't stress enough how much this is KILLING me!  Feel like a failure,didn't sleep last night trying to figure this out only to fail over and over!!!
 
I may continue until the weekend testing some more but for now I'm putting this aside. Even though I do want to give up completely on this because of how upset I am, I know many of you having been begging to replace that behemoth of a printer only good as a power supply for a very long time now.
 
So sometime next year I promise you all to take a look at this one more time and figure out what the problem is. No matter how exact I adjusted the voltages of the new supply to match the voltages on the printer, it still has issues with video output.
 
If you have an F18A it is a guarantee my current supply WILL work.  If you don't then you'll have to wait until I come up with a new solution. In fact I do have one that does work but it is a little bigger than the supply I was making now so what's the point. I think you all would agree that smaller is better and that is my goal. 
 
Again my apologies. Having two ADAMS now with different revisions will make sure this mistake doesn't happen again! 
 
 
Rey
 
 


could it be the Amp of one of the supply that is too low cause if it work with the f18a dram work fine

just a quick tought

#59 Rey OFFLINE  

Rey

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 674 posts
  • Mods for ColecoVision & ADAM
  • Location:Florida

Posted Wed Nov 19, 2014 7:27 AM

I'm hoping to have figured it out by the weekend and if so, will let you guys know what it was and fix the power supplies that went out for free. If not then I won't give up as many of you have told me in private but would have to set it aside for a few months. I have too much on my plate at the moment including a family member who's dying from stomach cancer and will be dealing with that soon enough.



#60 chart45 OFFLINE  

chart45

    Dragonstomper

  • 720 posts

Posted Wed Nov 19, 2014 8:30 AM

family first adam computer will be there forever

#61 chart45 OFFLINE  

chart45

    Dragonstomper

  • 720 posts

Posted Sun Nov 23, 2014 2:11 PM

today i had a little time off with my 3 kids so i did a little test witn a power supply and when i hook it up to the adam the 5v came 2.7 because the wire in the db9 cable is not big enough so i jump it with another bigger wire and 5v back maybe it can help you

i didnt have more time to test farder

#62 Rey OFFLINE  

Rey

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 674 posts
  • Mods for ColecoVision & ADAM
  • Location:Florida

Posted Mon Nov 24, 2014 11:39 AM

Thank you for the advise :) . I will definitely hit this hard this long weekend and hope to have a resolution by no later than this Sunday. I appreciate everyone's patience, especially Luc.

 

 

Rey



#63 Punishermark OFFLINE  

Punishermark

    Space Invader

  • 41 posts

Posted Mon Nov 24, 2014 1:00 PM

Hopefully everything will align and Rey can take my order again. People like you guys/gals keep the Coleco fun going.



#64 Rey OFFLINE  

Rey

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 674 posts
  • Mods for ColecoVision & ADAM
  • Location:Florida

Posted Thu Nov 27, 2014 6:05 PM

Good news guys. Seems like the cable I've been using is too thin so i connected some solid copper wiring and now the old adam with the original composite video has been working great. Been playing all the ATARIMAX games on it and no issues so far. Definitely good news but now I need to figure out how to make my own cables. Since tomorrow I have the day off, I'll be shopping around to see what I can come up with. In the meantime, I will continue testing. 

 

Enjoy the long weekend everyone.

 

 

Rey



#65 chart45 OFFLINE  

chart45

    Dragonstomper

  • 720 posts

Posted Thu Nov 27, 2014 6:32 PM

good news continue your great work on this project

#66 chart45 OFFLINE  

chart45

    Dragonstomper

  • 720 posts

Posted Thu Nov 27, 2014 6:38 PM

http://www.l-com.com...i.aspx?id=28838

maybe this its 20 awg

#67 Rey OFFLINE  

Rey

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 674 posts
  • Mods for ColecoVision & ADAM
  • Location:Florida

Posted Fri Nov 28, 2014 3:09 PM

Thanks chart45. Cable looks good but it would drive up the price which is high enough already. I'm trying to find a solution that'll take care of it and keep the cost down. Having a hard time doing so. Things I keep finding even though would get the job done, it's not good looking. I'll keep searching. 


Edited by rey_1178, Fri Nov 28, 2014 3:09 PM.


#68 Rey OFFLINE  

Rey

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 674 posts
  • Mods for ColecoVision & ADAM
  • Location:Florida

Posted Sun Nov 30, 2014 3:34 PM

Well I bought a roll of 18 gauge 7 conductor cable. I would've liked the 22 Guage but the cable itself was ugly. This is just a regular black cable. Being 18 Guage solid copper you can imagine it's stiff but it takes care of the problem.

Later on I will update the pics. I'm not taking orders at the moment. I wanna take care of Bill and Luc. Once that's done then I can resume taking orders.

#69 Rey OFFLINE  

Rey

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 674 posts
  • Mods for ColecoVision & ADAM
  • Location:Florida

Posted Tue Dec 9, 2014 6:37 PM

Well so far so good. Have not found any other issues so soon we should be ready to resume this little project and put those gigantic printers away in a closet :) 

 

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • 20141209_180610.jpg
  • 20141209_180753.jpg


#70 Rey OFFLINE  

Rey

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 674 posts
  • Mods for ColecoVision & ADAM
  • Location:Florida

Posted Tue Dec 9, 2014 7:28 PM

Here it is with the new thicker cable. 

 

adam supply with new cable.jpg



#71 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • 5,651 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Tue Dec 9, 2014 7:28 PM

Well so far so good. Have not found any other issues so soon we should be ready to resume this little project and put those gigantic printers away in a closet :)

 

 

That's great news Rey and I'm very glad that a solution has been found considering all the time and effort that you have put into this project. When you take care of the others, just shoot me a PM and I'll be ready to purchase one.


  • Rey likes this

#72 Rey OFFLINE  

Rey

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 674 posts
  • Mods for ColecoVision & ADAM
  • Location:Florida

Posted Tue Dec 9, 2014 7:30 PM

Thanks Jim!



#73 Punishermark OFFLINE  

Punishermark

    Space Invader

  • 41 posts

Posted Wed Dec 10, 2014 8:31 AM

Looking great Rey! Can't wait!!


  • Rey likes this

#74 Bill Loguidice OFFLINE  

Bill Loguidice

    River Patroller

  • 4,926 posts
  • Armchair Arcade Managing Director
  • Location:Central New Jersey, USA

Posted Tue Dec 16, 2014 9:25 PM

I received my replacement. It works great: http://armchairarcad...he-coleco-adam/



#75 TripHammer OFFLINE  

TripHammer

    Space Invader

  • 16 posts

Posted Wed Dec 17, 2014 1:13 AM

Will the information on how to build it ourselves be giving? I would be more interested in putting one together myself.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users