IGNORED

Bankswitching

yllawwally

Can somebody describe in layman's terms what bankswitching is, exactly? I think I kinda-sorta get what it is, but what I don't really understand is why it seems to be talked about retrospectively as though it was so ingenious. From the sounds of it, it was an obvious way to manage a limitation of the VCS hardware.

It's almost like:

Person A: "I sure wish I could get this candle to burn more quickly."

Person B: "Why don't you light it at both ends?"

Person A: "You're a genius!"

Obviously, I'm not a programmer, so maybe I just don't appreciate the achievement.

• Like 1

Can somebody describe in layman's terms what bankswitching is, exactly? I think I kinda-sorta get what it is, but what I don't really understand is why it seems to be talked about retrospectively as though it was so ingenious. From the sounds of it, it was an obvious way to manage a limitation of the VCS hardware.

The batari Basic page seems to have a pretty good description in the first paragraph:

randomterrain.com/atari-2600-memories-batari-basic-commands.html#bankswitching

This page tells even more:

gamasutra.com/view/feature/3766/atari_the_golden_years__a_.php?print=1

Getting the Asteroids coin-op to fit into a cartridge for the VCS was not an easy task. Brad Stewart, the programmer responsible for the VCS version of Breakout, took on the task, and it was not an easy one. Fitting all the Asteroids graphics and game play into a standard 2K cartridge was impossible. In fact, even a 4K cartridge could not hold it all.

"Asteroids needed the 8K, though. After the game was complete, Bob Smith and I spent some time using every trick we knew to try to get it into 4K, but it just... would... not... fit!" cxc

- Brad Stewart