Jump to content

Photo

Galaga Crashing All the Time


100 replies to this topic

#1 VectorGamer OFFLINE  

VectorGamer

    Go Sleep In the Cold

  • 13,085 posts
  • \m/
  • Location:Retrocade, USA

Posted Thu Oct 9, 2014 8:53 AM

Always when I have a good game going and then the game crashes. Pisses me off.

 

Did this problem exist in the MSX version as well? Could this have been fixed prior to releasing it for the CV?



#2 san-d-2000 OFFLINE  

san-d-2000

    Stargunner

  • 1,218 posts
  • Location:Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Posted Thu Oct 9, 2014 9:09 AM

I don't have this problem on the Colecovision.

#3 Rhomaios OFFLINE  

Rhomaios

    Stargunner

  • 1,691 posts

Posted Thu Oct 9, 2014 9:13 AM

I too crash whenever the Galaga come at me too fast and there are too many bullets nearby. But that's what extra lives are for. ;)



#4 VectorGamer OFFLINE  

VectorGamer

    Go Sleep In the Cold

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,085 posts
  • \m/
  • Location:Retrocade, USA

Posted Thu Oct 9, 2014 9:26 AM

I saw someone else mention on these forums that their Galaga crashes as well. Or were there faulty carts made?



#5 gavvv OFFLINE  

gavvv

    Chopper Commander

  • 215 posts

Posted Thu Oct 9, 2014 10:34 AM

wouldn't be unique if it was. even commercial games bitd like Burgertime had crash bugs



#6 CrazyBoss OFFLINE  

CrazyBoss

    Moonsweeper

  • 319 posts
  • Location:Skåne, Sweden

Posted Thu Oct 9, 2014 12:12 PM

I dont have the game, but could it be a problem with your SGM ? maybe faulty ram ?

 

I am sure Collectorvision tested the game for pretty long time.

 

Did you play other SGM games without any problems at the same hardware?



#7 VectorGamer OFFLINE  

VectorGamer

    Go Sleep In the Cold

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,085 posts
  • \m/
  • Location:Retrocade, USA

Posted Thu Oct 9, 2014 12:46 PM

I dont have the game, but could it be a problem with your SGM ? maybe faulty ram ?

 

I am sure Collectorvision tested the game for pretty long time.

 

Did you play other SGM games without any problems at the same hardware?

 

I've never had any problems with other games on my CV, SGM or non-SGM games



#8 retroillucid OFFLINE  

retroillucid

    Facebook.com/Collectorvision

  • 7,353 posts
  • CollectorVision Games - Publishing Homebrew
  • Location:Montreal, Canada

Posted Thu Oct 9, 2014 1:22 PM

Simply send your cartridge back to us for a replacement

#9 ChuckH OFFLINE  

ChuckH

    Chopper Commander

  • 201 posts
  • Location:Bozeman, MT

Posted Thu Oct 9, 2014 6:46 PM

Simply send your cartridge back to us for a replacement


I tried the MSX version on an emulator and it crashed on about level 5 or so. Someone said the Colecovision version is based on the MSX version. I do not have the Colecovision cart to test for myself. Just providing some feedback.
Chuck

#10 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • 5,713 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Thu Oct 9, 2014 9:06 PM

On a couple occassions while playing the screen graphics have become completely corrupted. Also, my AtariMax cart dumper (which needs to make very good contact with the card edge connector) would not recognize the cart and I had to revert to old-school techniques to make a rom dump for playing via the SD cart by using my ADAM Computer. I haven't experienced any problems when playing using the rom dump, so this leads me to believe their could be an issue with the PCB in my cart.



#11 CrazyBoss OFFLINE  

CrazyBoss

    Moonsweeper

  • 319 posts
  • Location:Skåne, Sweden

Posted Fri Oct 10, 2014 2:24 AM

usely Collectorvision use good quality PCB, so I think a Collectorvision cartrigde make as good contact with the slot-reader (inside the Colecovision) as the AtariMAX does.

#12 scobb OFFLINE  

scobb

    Moonsweeper

  • 287 posts

Posted Fri Oct 10, 2014 6:07 AM

Haven't received mine yet - is there a confirmed issue here?



#13 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • 5,713 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Fri Oct 10, 2014 9:14 PM

usely Collectorvision use good quality PCB, so I think a Collectorvision cartrigde make as good contact with the slot-reader (inside the Colecovision) as the AtariMAX does.

Indeed, I've never had an issue with any of the CollectorVision releases (I have them all plus some custom made items), but this one seems to be an intermittent issue with the cart as it rarely happens and when playing the rom dump on the SD Cart... it has never happened in the short time that I have played it.



#14 ten-four OFFLINE  

ten-four

    Dragonstomper

  • 889 posts
  • Here i am... again!
  • Location:Aalborg, Denmark.

Posted Sat Oct 11, 2014 3:09 AM

I can't test my Galaga yet.

I need the new version of SGM to arrive in few months.



#15 VectorGamer OFFLINE  

VectorGamer

    Go Sleep In the Cold

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,085 posts
  • \m/
  • Location:Retrocade, USA

Posted Mon Oct 13, 2014 8:03 AM

Haven't received mine yet - is there a confirmed issue here?

 

I just sent mine back to Toby on Friday. When I receive my replacement I will kick the tires and find out.



#16 Ikrananka OFFLINE  

Ikrananka

    River Patroller

  • 2,416 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Mon Oct 13, 2014 8:31 AM

I have two Galaga carts.  I played the first one and on the second game, part way into Level 2, the graphics suddenly became corrupted as shown in the image below.  The enemy and my fighter were still visible and the game continued to play, i.e. I could move the fighter left and right and the enemy moved and flew down the screen.  So, it's not a complete crash of the program.  I played around 20 more games on the same cart and the problem didn't occur again.

 

I also played a bunch of games on my second cart and the problem didn't occur at all.

Attached Thumbnails

  • DSC08643.JPG


#17 VectorGamer OFFLINE  

VectorGamer

    Go Sleep In the Cold

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,085 posts
  • \m/
  • Location:Retrocade, USA

Posted Mon Oct 13, 2014 8:36 AM

I have two Galaga carts.  I played the first one and on the second game, part way into Level 2, the graphics suddenly became corrupted as shown in the image below.  The enemy and my fighter were still visible and the game continued to play, i.e. I could move the fighter left and right and the enemy moved and flew down the screen.  So, it's not a complete crash of the program.  I played around 20 more games on the same cart and the problem didn't occur again.

 

I also played a bunch of games on my second cart and the problem didn't occur at all.

 

This is exactly what happened to me the last time I played Galaga and has happened multiple times.



#18 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • 5,713 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Mon Oct 13, 2014 9:08 PM

I have two Galaga carts.  I played the first one and on the second game, part way into Level 2, the graphics suddenly became corrupted as shown in the image below.  The enemy and my fighter were still visible and the game continued to play, i.e. I could move the fighter left and right and the enemy moved and flew down the screen.  So, it's not a complete crash of the program.  I played around 20 more games on the same cart and the problem didn't occur again.

 

I also played a bunch of games on my second cart and the problem didn't occur at all.

Did you try making a rom dump of the cart that experiences issues and then give it a good play testing via the AtariMax Ultimate SD Cart? I played my rom dump a little more and did not have any issues with it, so perhaps there was a batch of bad PCBs or rom chips and it's not a bug in the program code.

 

Anyway, it's a really good version of Galaga with the bonus stages... unlike the SG-1000 version!



#19 youki OFFLINE  

youki

    River Patroller

  • 2,232 posts

Posted Tue Oct 14, 2014 1:59 AM

It looks like a problem of portage.  Seems to be a VRAM corruption , you can not determine easly exactly when it happens , because it occurs when the nmi occurs while the program is accessing VRAM.     MSX and SG1000 don't have that issue because the VBlank is not wired on a non maskable Interrupts. (nmi) .  When you convert a game from MSX/SG1000 to Colecovision you have to take that in account and it can be very tricky. :(

The nmi on colevision is a knightmare for lot of developper (including me!!). But when you port a game it becomes even more harder to fix this kind of issue because it is not your code.

 

So you can play the game without seing it , but another player could have it all the time , because it uses to do something that the other one does not do.


Edited by youki, Tue Oct 14, 2014 2:00 AM.


#20 slab0meat OFFLINE  

slab0meat

    Stargunner

  • 1,457 posts
  • Location:NJ

Posted Tue Oct 14, 2014 7:54 AM

I'd love to be able to test my copy.... but still no SGM.

 

 

:_(



#21 coleco_master OFFLINE  

coleco_master

    Dragonstomper

  • 644 posts
  • Location:Montreal

Posted Tue Oct 14, 2014 8:24 AM

Guys, I see some of you having problem with your Galaga carts.

 

So if you have a problem with your cart, please do not hesitate to PM me for return address.

 

We will be happy to replace any defect.  Thank you



#22 Ikrananka OFFLINE  

Ikrananka

    River Patroller

  • 2,416 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Tue Oct 14, 2014 8:54 AM

Guys, I see some of you having problem with your Galaga carts.

 

So if you have a problem with your cart, please do not hesitate to PM me for return address.

 

We will be happy to replace any defect.  Thank you

 

What would be useful is if the problem could be confirmed to be either a fault with the cart or a coding issue (perhaps along the lines of that described by youki above).  I'd rather not return my cart(s) unless I knew for certain that the replacement fixed the problem.



#23 VectorGamer OFFLINE  

VectorGamer

    Go Sleep In the Cold

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,085 posts
  • \m/
  • Location:Retrocade, USA

Posted Tue Oct 14, 2014 8:57 AM

 

What would be useful is if the problem could be confirmed to be either a fault with the cart or a coding issue (perhaps along the lines of that described by youki above).  I'd rather not return my cart(s) unless I knew for certain that the replacement fixed the problem.

 

Well, my cart is on the way back to Canada. I hope you guys know for sure what the problem is and fix it before sending the cart back.



#24 5-11under OFFLINE  

5-11under

    River Patroller

  • 3,178 posts
  • Location:Ontario, Canada

Posted Tue Oct 14, 2014 9:02 AM

 

What would be useful is if the problem could be confirmed to be either a fault with the cart or a coding issue (perhaps along the lines of that described by youki above).  I'd rather not return my cart(s) unless I knew for certain that the replacement fixed the problem.

 

It would be helpful to gain more evidence from more owners, including how often it happens, when it happens, what happens. As much information as possible. Then we can hopefully figure out the root of the problem.



#25 VectorGamer OFFLINE  

VectorGamer

    Go Sleep In the Cold

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,085 posts
  • \m/
  • Location:Retrocade, USA

Posted Tue Oct 14, 2014 9:06 AM

The last time it happened to me it crashed on stage 8. It always seems to crash when I have a good game cookin'.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users