Jump to content

Photo

The Ultimate Intellivision Flashback


936 replies to this topic

#926 Bivotar OFFLINE  

Bivotar

    Moonsweeper

  • 365 posts
  • Rapid Nintendo Fanboy!
  • Location:Omaha, NE

Posted Fri Dec 30, 2016 11:00 AM

I finally got my Ultimate Flashback up and running (mostly).  I got a Raspberry Pi 3 for Christmas and had purchased the Ultimate Intellivision PC Interface from Byte Knight.  Installed retropie 4 on it and started loading it up.  Besides Intellivision, I wanted to include a number of other classic emulators and controllers.  

 

This is not an easy project for the beginner, but thanks to the resources available, including this thread (that takes FOREVER to get through), I got it done.  The part that was the hardest for me was getting the Intellivision emulator and flashback controller working.  Getting the keyboard hack file installed was a pain.  I don't know Linux and couldn't resolve the permissions issue to get the file into the jzintv directories (so I put it in a different folder and updated the path in the config file).  Despite that, I could not get the flashback controller working properly.  I spent HOURS on this, and finally discovered the flashback controller I was trying to use was bad!  Switched to my other flashback controller and BOOM! 

 

But the problems forced me to learn more about the process and how the files interact with each other.  Many of the messages on this thread were very helpful, and I appreciate all of you sharing your knowledge with others.  Thanks!  

 

Still need to get the Atari 2600 and Colecovision joysticks working for their respective emulators, but I'm feeling pretty good about that.  

 

Thanks!!! 



#927 Byte Knight OFFLINE  

Byte Knight

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,015 posts
  • Robinett Rules!
  • Location:Waconia, MN

Posted Fri Dec 30, 2016 8:39 PM

This is not an easy project for the beginner, but thanks to the resources available, including this thread (that takes FOREVER to get through), I got it done.  The part that was the hardest for me was getting the Intellivision emulator and flashback controller working.  Getting the keyboard hack file installed was a pain.  I don't know Linux and couldn't resolve the permissions issue to get the file into the jzintv directories (so I put it in a different folder and updated the path in the config file).

 

Good job!  And it took you forever to read through only 900+ posts?!   :-D

 

Those damn permissions get me every time too.  If you use Cyberduck to connect to your Pi, you can just highlight the file or folder, hit Command-I (or go to Action -> Info) and change the permissions to 777.



#928 pimpmaul69 OFFLINE  

pimpmaul69

    River Patroller

  • 4,821 posts
  • INTV Brotherhood Technician
  • Location:Colorado

Posted Sat Dec 31, 2016 12:40 AM

In re-reading that last post, I think the part about the scanlines could be confusing.  I meant that I added scanlines to all the retroarch emu's...not the intellivision or coolcv, since those aren't retroarch emu's.  But for all the others, I do like the scanline look.  And then there are overlays....uh boy!

the crt-pi shader is awesome for scanlines in retroarch. Im thinking about spending the $100 for the hardware that creates scanlines so everything has scanlines.

#929 DZ-Jay OFFLINE  

DZ-Jay

    Quadrunner

  • 9,830 posts
  • Triple-Stripe Mo' Bro
  • Location:NC, USA

Posted Sat Dec 31, 2016 9:10 AM

the crt-pi shader is awesome for scanlines in retroarch. Im thinking about spending the $100 for the hardware that creates scanlines so everything has scanlines.

 

Scanlines just make all retro-games taste better. :)



#930 paulace50 OFFLINE  

paulace50

    Space Invader

  • 30 posts

Posted Sun Jan 1, 2017 9:59 PM

 

Scanlines just make all retro-games taste better. :)

I agree...love them little lines.  I don't know about the hardware that creates scanlines (unless you mean a CRT).  This is a little off-topic, as it doesn't really apply to the Intellivision emulator, but if you guys run MAME on the pi, there's a British fellow named John Merritt who's taken fantastic photos of arcade machines that make great overlays/bezels.  If you like the authentic look of scanlines, check out those overlays...they're impressive!  



#931 Bivotar OFFLINE  

Bivotar

    Moonsweeper

  • 365 posts
  • Rapid Nintendo Fanboy!
  • Location:Omaha, NE

Posted Fri Jan 6, 2017 7:26 AM

Question for those with the Ultimate Intellivision Flashback and have added support for the Atari 2600.  Have you been able to get an Atari 2600 joystick to work?  

 

Using the Ultimate Interface, I can get it to recognize the 2600 joystick, can navigate the menus, and start the game, but I don't have a SELECT or START.  If I put the Intellivision FB controller in Player 2 and the 2600 in Player 1, I have a SELECT and START on the Intellivision controller, and the 2600 joystick will work for direction, but the fire button isn't active!  

 

Any tips on getting the 2600 joystick working with this setup? 



#932 Rick Reynolds OFFLINE  

Rick Reynolds

    Dragonstomper

  • 666 posts

Posted Fri Jan 6, 2017 4:06 PM

As I understand it there are three main pieces:  (1) the Ultimate Interface needs to be programmed for the Atari joystick in port 1 (2) the kbdhackfile that jzintv uses needs to be setup correctly for the 2nd port to send inputs that the Atari emulator will use and (3) the Atari emulator needs to be setup with inputs matching what the Intellivision controller is sending.

 

For (1), you hold down the fire button on the Atari joystick for like 5-10 seconds during bootup (i.e. when the Ultimate Interface powers on) and it understands that the Atari joystick is in port 1.  Port 2 will keep its programmed state.  To reset back to Intellivision controller, program it by holding the 0 key on the keypad during power up.

 

For (2), you need the kbdhackfile definitions to be correct.  On my system the file is named hackfile.cfg and is in /opt/retropie/emulators/jzintv.  I don't know if that's the same on every flashback / retropie setup or not.

 

For (3), I'm not an expert.  My system is running a port of stella instead of lr-stella that retropie defaults to (I believe??).  I think it gets definitions from files under ~/.stella, but my understanding stops there.



#933 mr_me OFFLINE  

mr_me

    Stargunner

  • 1,784 posts
  • Location:Ontario

Posted Fri Jan 6, 2017 7:32 PM

Rick is right about lr-stella. If you are using lr-stella it by default shares button mapping with the EmulationStation interface. According to the instructions the fire button should be mapped to input 'B'. You can have button mappings specific for lr-retro by creating and editing a file. See the instructions at this link. If you have an older version it could be different
https://github.com/R...wiki/Atari-2600

But I don't think the jzintv keyboard hackfile has an affect on any 2600 emulator.

#934 Rick Reynolds OFFLINE  

Rick Reynolds

    Dragonstomper

  • 666 posts

Posted Fri Jan 6, 2017 8:03 PM

[quote name="mr_me" post="3666333"
But I don't think the jzintv keyboard hackfile has an affect on any 2600 emulator.[/quote]

Oh wow, that's correct. Not sure where my head was at when I wrote that. Of course, you just need whatever Stella you're using to recognize the inputs coming from the Inty controller.

You'll probably want matching definitions to be setup in the jzintv kbdhackfile just so the same inputs coming from the ultimate interface will work when playing inty games, but that is independent of how the Atari emulation would work.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

#935 pimpmaul69 OFFLINE  

pimpmaul69

    River Patroller

  • 4,821 posts
  • INTV Brotherhood Technician
  • Location:Colorado

Posted Fri Jan 6, 2017 9:16 PM

Question for those with the Ultimate Intellivision Flashback and have added support for the Atari 2600.  Have you been able to get an Atari 2600 joystick to work?  
 
Using the Ultimate Interface, I can get it to recognize the 2600 joystick, can navigate the menus, and start the game, but I don't have a SELECT or START.  If I put the Intellivision FB controller in Player 2 and the 2600 in Player 1, I have a SELECT and START on the Intellivision controller, and the 2600 joystick will work for direction, but the fire button isn't active!  
 
Any tips on getting the 2600 joystick working with this setup? 

you need to open the file /opt/retropie/configs/atari2600/retroarch.cfg and add these lines above the line that says #include....

Input_player1_b_btn = "0"
Input_player1_a_btn = "1"

Edited by pimpmaul69, Fri Jan 6, 2017 9:18 PM.


#936 macdlsa OFFLINE  

macdlsa

    Moonsweeper

  • 318 posts
  • Location:Pavia,Italy

Posted Sun Jan 22, 2017 12:54 AM

This is my command line for in the run.sh script for my preferred Dragon’s Lair gameplay:

./daphne $1 vldp -framefile $2 -nohwaccel -nocrc -noissues -nolog -noserversend -latency 950 -x 640 -y 480 -bank 1 00110111 -bank 0 10011000
(Remember this is for Dragon’s Lair and its ROMs 2.1, renamed so this version runs with them.)

I don’t know if I like the blank seeking or not. You would have to add -blank_searches and/or -blank_skips for the emulation to blank like the original.

My first arcade experience must have been a prototype machine in the US (Pennsylvania) because it definitely had the drawbridge scene. ROMs and the correct ogg audio, m2v video files for each emulated game. 

To get the drawbridge scene back, download the DLE_21 rom, unzip it, duplicate U3, then rename them dl_f2_u1.bin, dl_f2_u2.bin, dl_f2_u3.bin, and the duplicated u3 to dl_f2_u4.bin

Create a folder in daphne /roms/ named lair, set permissions to 777, copy the four .bin files into /lair/ (I set their permissions to 777 also). When run, it will complain each file’s checksum doesn’t match, then it will go to a black screen, wait, it will beep, then start.

 

Tips are correct, Mike  :thumbsup: 

 

For a better "arcade feeling" you have to set blanks this way:

 

-blank_searches -blank_skips -min_seek_delay 750 -seek_frames_per_ms 20

(where "delay=750" is something like the average searching time of a Pioneer LD-V1000, the NTSC laserdisc player which was (is  ;) ) inside most of "your" US cabinets)

________________________________________

 

The version you played back in the middle of '83 is probably this :

 

[clip, taken from the net, in which you can see an early version of the cabinet: different marquee, different scoreboard, plexy angle, control panel...........]  

 

But 2.1 version actually ISN'T this early version, because it was created by two friends of mine at the D-L-P community in 2005.

It's based on a romset specifically created to enhance the gameplay of Cinematronics' 1983 arcade version. Logical reconstruction to game organization and presentation has been implemented, and the result is what is believed to be the first and only Dragon's Lair game program that plays the game the way it was intended to be played while it was being designed/animated.

 

And the same year they create another set which was specifically programmed to also play the "extra footage" recorded onto the "Dragon's Lair Limited Edition Laserdisc", pressed in 2002 (200 numbered copies). These extra scenes come from a VHS (!!!) recorded from the entire footage of the very first revision of the arcade laserdisc, which was printed in something like 5 copies (as Rick Dyer said years ago in a "special" interview... ;) ) . Unfortunately we're (almost ?) sure those discs are all lost because in almost 30 years of "DEEP searching" we still haven't found one, just as we haven't found any prototype revision boardsets !  :_(

________________________________________

 

[clip of me playin' on my cabinet  the "Prototype DL" version which included extra footage, extra ways, different paths and different moves  ;) ]


Edited by macdlsa, Sun Jan 22, 2017 12:55 AM.


#937 pimpmaul69 OFFLINE  

pimpmaul69

    River Patroller

  • 4,821 posts
  • INTV Brotherhood Technician
  • Location:Colorado

Posted Wed Jun 7, 2017 12:50 AM

I made a really freaking sweet raspberry pi modded apple iie. I posted it in the apple ii section of the forum.

http://atariage.com/...-gaming-system/




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users