Jump to content

Photo

Lynx LCD Replacement/VGA-Out by McWill


1410 replies to this topic

#1351 McWill OFFLINE  

McWill

    Chopper Commander

  • 248 posts
  • Location:GERMANY

Posted Wed Sep 26, 2018 1:14 AM

Hi McWill :)

I have ordered a few kits for GG and both LYNX, but still hangin out for that Nomad screen!

Ive got a few different screens and controller around that are RGB capable and im going to do some testing with when i have more time.

One of these screens is 640x480 and i had plans to try out some sort of scanline generator and line doubler with that screen to see how it looks. Obviously itll be too much to fit inside the Nomad, but id want to have a working plan before i went with trying to get stuff small enough to fit inside.

Which screen type will yours be using? Are you going with the regular 320x240 or going for the 640x480 so as to better suit any 480i games?

Looking forward to seeing yours, ill be fitting one of yours, itll be a better option than my analog attempts!

I'm using 320x240 LCDs, because 640x480 are too expensive for this application IMO.
Scanline option would also be possible, because all lines are displayed (but every 2nd just half bright). 480i games are also possible with 320x240 ;-)



#1352 CasetheCorvetteMan OFFLINE  

CasetheCorvetteMan

    Star Raider

  • 56 posts
  • Location:East Coast AUSTRALIA

Posted Wed Sep 26, 2018 4:51 PM

I'm using 320x240 LCDs, because 640x480 are too expensive for this application IMO.
Scanline option would also be possible, because all lines are displayed (but every 2nd just half bright). 480i games are also possible with 320x240 ;-)


I trust your judgement and skills on this, you know far more about this than i ever will!

I cant recall what i paid for the 640x480 screen, but it wasnt that much.

Wouldnt it still be a better option with the higher res? Id be happy to pay the extra myself, but others might not be able to afford it, which is fair enough too.

#1353 CasetheCorvetteMan OFFLINE  

CasetheCorvetteMan

    Star Raider

  • 56 posts
  • Location:East Coast AUSTRALIA

Posted Wed Sep 26, 2018 4:53 PM

Also, have you seen this:

https://translate.go...l/000000000499/

Where can i get one of those? Is this something you can make but with 640x480 capabilities?

#1354 McWill OFFLINE  

McWill

    Chopper Commander

  • 248 posts
  • Location:GERMANY

Posted Thu Sep 27, 2018 12:41 AM

I trust your judgement and skills on this, you know far more about this than i ever will!

I cant recall what i paid for the 640x480 screen, but it wasnt that much.

Wouldnt it still be a better option with the higher res? Id be happy to pay the extra myself, but others might not be able to afford it, which is fair enough too.

Then it would be a different design than for 320x240.
 

Also, have you seen this:

https://translate.go...l/000000000499/

Where can i get one of those? Is this something you can make but with 640x480 capabilities?

Yes, I've seen this. But this converter PCB is the same as these 20 USD LCD controller WITH LCD ;-) And it's also analog and it isn't using the pixel clock for exact pixel displaying! I wouldn't recommend it IMO.



#1355 CasetheCorvetteMan OFFLINE  

CasetheCorvetteMan

    Star Raider

  • 56 posts
  • Location:East Coast AUSTRALIA

Posted Thu Sep 27, 2018 1:21 AM

 


Yes, I've seen this. But this converter PCB is the same as these 20 USD LCD controller WITH LCD ;-) And it's also analog and it isn't using the pixel clock for exact pixel displaying! I wouldn't recommend it IMO.

Yeah i know about the analog bit, and no doubt your solutions are WAY better, theyre awesome, but i cant get RGB out of those $20 LCDs that i know of!

Is there a way to feed RGB into them? I have other plans for them as well as the Nomad ;)

#1356 McWill OFFLINE  

McWill

    Chopper Commander

  • 248 posts
  • Location:GERMANY

Posted Thu Sep 27, 2018 1:41 AM

Yeah i know about the analog bit, and no doubt your solutions are WAY better, theyre awesome, but i cant get RGB out of those $20 LCDs that i know of!

Is there a way to feed RGB into them? I have other plans for them as well as the Nomad ;)

Thank you.
If you have a 20 USD PCB with MST703 controller it would be possible ;-)



#1357 CasetheCorvetteMan OFFLINE  

CasetheCorvetteMan

    Star Raider

  • 56 posts
  • Location:East Coast AUSTRALIA

Posted Thu Sep 27, 2018 2:34 AM

Thank you.
If you have a 20 USD PCB with MST703 controller it would be possible ;-)

I do have that controller in at least one of them, do you know what i need to do to feed it RGB? If so ill make it happen!

I have a Nomad set aside here unmodded that is awaiting your screen, that is the best of my collection ( i have 4 Nomads ) and ive got 2 allready modded ( one came that way, the other i did myself with the cheaper screen and composite ) one i want to try this 640x480 screen with RGB.

Ive you can point me on how to do it ill go RGB on the two composites.

#1358 McWill OFFLINE  

McWill

    Chopper Commander

  • 248 posts
  • Location:GERMANY

Posted Thu Sep 27, 2018 3:09 AM

I do have that controller in at least one of them, do you know what i need to do to feed it RGB? If so ill make it happen!

I have a Nomad set aside here unmodded that is awaiting your screen, that is the best of my collection ( i have 4 Nomads ) and ive got 2 allready modded ( one came that way, the other i did myself with the cheaper screen and composite ) one i want to try this 640x480 screen with RGB.

Ive you can point me on how to do it ill go RGB on the two composites.

No, sorry. The datasheet of the MST703 has several hundreds of pages for different settings. And it wouldn't become pixel exact then.



#1359 CasetheCorvetteMan OFFLINE  

CasetheCorvetteMan

    Star Raider

  • 56 posts
  • Location:East Coast AUSTRALIA

Posted Thu Sep 27, 2018 4:06 AM

No, sorry. The datasheet of the MST703 has several hundreds of pages for different settings. And it wouldn't become pixel exact then.

Yeah i know, its a huge book, thats why im asking you ;)

The usual composite screens people are using and i have used generally dont have the image centered, but i moved my screen to make the image centered within the window when i did the mod.

You can easily tell its only composite video though, and as someone that retro games on a Barco Cine 9 CRT projector, composite video just doesnt cut it.

#1360 karri OFFLINE  

karri

    River Patroller

  • 2,592 posts
  • Location:Espoo, Finland

Posted Fri Sep 28, 2018 9:20 AM

Is there a Lynx I version in stock?

 

I would like to get one in time for eJagfest if possible. My white Lynx is my main development tool and I don't feel good about dragging it with me on a road trip. On the other hand I would like to connect live to a VGA projector.



#1361 CasetheCorvetteMan OFFLINE  

CasetheCorvetteMan

    Star Raider

  • 56 posts
  • Location:East Coast AUSTRALIA

Posted Fri Sep 28, 2018 10:29 PM

I just bought a Lynx 1 screen last week so they should be in stock!

#1362 McWill OFFLINE  

McWill

    Chopper Commander

  • 248 posts
  • Location:GERMANY

Posted Tue Oct 2, 2018 5:28 AM

Is there a Lynx I version in stock?

 

I would like to get one in time for eJagfest if possible. My white Lynx is my main development tool and I don't feel good about dragging it with me on a road trip. On the other hand I would like to connect live to a VGA projector.

Yes, the LYNX-I mod kits (also the GG and LYNX-II mod kits) are available ;-)
I'm also on the Ejagfest on 3rd and 4th November.



#1363 karri OFFLINE  

karri

    River Patroller

  • 2,592 posts
  • Location:Espoo, Finland

Posted Tue Oct 2, 2018 5:46 AM

Yes, the LYNX-I mod kits (also the GG and LYNX-II mod kits) are available icon_winking.gif
I'm also on the Ejagfest on 3rd and 4th November.

Nice! Cya there.



#1364 CasetheCorvetteMan OFFLINE  

CasetheCorvetteMan

    Star Raider

  • 56 posts
  • Location:East Coast AUSTRALIA

Posted Tue Oct 9, 2018 11:30 PM

Well i finally got around to doing my LYNX 1 install...

https://m.youtube.co...h?v=XwsfgJ5WuuM

The video says it all, and further info in the description.

Attached Thumbnails

  • image.jpeg
  • image.jpeg

Edited by CasetheCorvetteMan, Tue Oct 9, 2018 11:32 PM.


#1365 CasetheCorvetteMan OFFLINE  

CasetheCorvetteMan

    Star Raider

  • 56 posts
  • Location:East Coast AUSTRALIA

Posted Wed Oct 17, 2018 7:11 PM

Here is the video of the LYNX 2 all done ;)


https://m.youtube.co...We2LKJqQC7mLMbw

Edited by CasetheCorvetteMan, Wed Oct 17, 2018 7:14 PM.


#1366 mobiusstriptech OFFLINE  

mobiusstriptech

    Chopper Commander

  • 192 posts
  • Location:Ohio

Posted Fri Oct 19, 2018 9:35 AM

McWill are the majesco game gears still not officially supported at this time? The last comment I saw was that a firmware update was needed but that was at least a year or 2 ago.

#1367 allthingsanalogue OFFLINE  

allthingsanalogue

    Space Invader

  • 30 posts

Posted Sat Oct 20, 2018 11:08 AM

I just ordered a Lynx 2 version from Dragonbox!

#1368 power OFFLINE  

power

    Chopper Commander

  • 188 posts

Posted Sun Oct 21, 2018 7:39 PM

i'm getting one of these in my Lynx 1, what are people's thoughts on the vga out.

 

Is it worth it?

 

Does it ruin the look of the machine?

 

If you had your time over would you do it again?



#1369 CasetheCorvetteMan OFFLINE  

CasetheCorvetteMan

    Star Raider

  • 56 posts
  • Location:East Coast AUSTRALIA

Posted Sun Oct 21, 2018 9:18 PM

i'm getting one of these in my Lynx 1, what are people's thoughts on the vga out.
 
Is it worth it?
 
Does it ruin the look of the machine?
 
If you had your time over would you do it again?

I didnt bother with it, and personally i wouldnt consider it an option

#1370 power OFFLINE  

power

    Chopper Commander

  • 188 posts

Posted Sun Oct 21, 2018 10:05 PM

I didnt bother with it, and personally i wouldnt consider it an option

 

I like the idea of having the option, but not too keen on a big VGA port hanging out of the machine.

 

And I've never found a good emulator for Lynx either so this'd be idea for playing on a monitor.

 

Same time, I like the stealhiness of just the screen in there.



#1371 karri OFFLINE  

karri

    River Patroller

  • 2,592 posts
  • Location:Espoo, Finland

Posted Sun Oct 21, 2018 10:14 PM

Yesterday I modded my Lynx I. I added a long flat cable that I folded in the battery compartment and set the loose VGA connector in the other battery compartment. For me the VGA is very nice to have.

#1372 power OFFLINE  

power

    Chopper Commander

  • 188 posts

Posted Sun Oct 21, 2018 11:48 PM

Yesterday I modded my Lynx I. I added a long flat cable that I folded in the battery compartment and set the loose VGA connector in the other battery compartment. For me the VGA is very nice to have.

 

that sounds like a very good idea, best of both worlds. thanks karri.



#1373 McWill OFFLINE  

McWill

    Chopper Commander

  • 248 posts
  • Location:GERMANY

Posted Fri Oct 26, 2018 4:00 PM

McWill are the majesco game gears still not officially supported at this time? The last comment I saw was that a firmware update was needed but that was at least a year or 2 ago.

The Majesco GGs are a bit complicated and complete different to the GG VA0 and VA1.
But I will find a solution and let you know then, if the new firmware is available.



#1374 mobiusstriptech OFFLINE  

mobiusstriptech

    Chopper Commander

  • 192 posts
  • Location:Ohio

Posted Fri Oct 26, 2018 4:14 PM

Very much appreciate the update on the Majesco. No worries here. I just wanted to verify.

#1375 Guitari OFFLINE  

Guitari

    Stargunner

  • 1,719 posts
  • Location:Kent

Posted Sat Oct 27, 2018 9:41 AM

Very much appreciate the update on the Majesco. No worries here. I just wanted to verify.

I too have an outstanding enquiry with McWill. I await his updating of the firmware for Majecso and then my spare Majesco is going over to him for modification.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users