Jump to content

Photo

Lynx LCD Replacement/VGA-Out by McWill


1408 replies to this topic

#1376 allthingsanalogue OFFLINE  

allthingsanalogue

    Space Invader

  • 30 posts

Posted Sat Oct 27, 2018 5:43 PM

Finished my McWill mod today on the Lynx 2.

All went well, I used an IDE cable and labelled each wire with a piece of tape so I knew where it went on the LCD. When I checked the voltage at the beginning I had 5.65v so it was out of spec, I discovered that D13 had the wrong diode fitted in a previous repair, once I changed this to the correct part it dropped to 4.7v so I assumed this would be okay.

Had one small problem though, the ribbon connector for the membrane, seemed to be missing some conductive traces on the edge so causing problems with the keypads and the led not always lighting so had no choice but to trim or part of th damaged edge, but seems to be fine now. If all else fails I reckon I might have to get another menbrane fom another unit. I dont want to have to recap another board and start over!

It fired up first time and I was super impressed by the quality of the screen. The Lynx game developers never could have envisioned that we would ever see the detail which was included in the game graphics and the absolutely fantastic colours on screen, so vibrant and colourful. iPad photos dont do it justice.

Attached Thumbnails

  • 4C28E776-AAA8-432D-AEA7-47E43F5FC77A.jpeg
  • 3D62EC9E-B1BD-4779-B27A-7CC175BA81C1.jpeg
  • 467B8D85-5BED-45B0-9232-68C62A61415F.jpeg
  • 3B5DCD84-F4A9-4698-B6F0-402AC2B52436.jpeg

Edited by allthingsanalogue, Sat Oct 27, 2018 5:44 PM.


#1377 CasetheCorvetteMan OFFLINE  

CasetheCorvetteMan

    Star Raider

  • 56 posts
  • Location:East Coast AUSTRALIA

Posted Mon Oct 29, 2018 6:53 PM

Anyone ever struck this using a Gear Master on a single ASIC Game Gear?

Its a McWill screen in there, does it with every cart ive tried.

Attached Thumbnails

  • image.jpeg
  • image.jpeg

Edited by CasetheCorvetteMan, Mon Oct 29, 2018 6:53 PM.


#1378 McWill OFFLINE  

McWill

    Chopper Commander

  • 248 posts
  • Location:GERMANY

Posted Thu Nov 1, 2018 3:07 AM

Anyone ever struck this using a Gear Master on a single ASIC Game Gear?

Its a McWill screen in there, does it with every cart ive tried.

You forgot the wire from T10 to VCC. Because it's a SMS game, the pixels will be displayed in another way then.



#1379 CasetheCorvetteMan OFFLINE  

CasetheCorvetteMan

    Star Raider

  • 56 posts
  • Location:East Coast AUSTRALIA

Posted Thu Nov 1, 2018 3:47 AM

You forgot the wire from T10 to VCC. Because it's a SMS game, the pixels will be displayed in another way then.

T10 to VCC you say??? Ill have a look...

By VCC you mean 5v?

Is this where T10 connects to the lower side of R23?

Edited by CasetheCorvetteMan, Thu Nov 1, 2018 3:49 AM.


#1380 McWill OFFLINE  

McWill

    Chopper Commander

  • 248 posts
  • Location:GERMANY

Posted Thu Nov 1, 2018 6:18 AM

T10 to VCC you say??? Ill have a look...

By VCC you mean 5v?

Is this where T10 connects to the lower side of R23?

Yes, VCC is 5V (the lower side of R23). Then it will work ;-)



#1381 CasetheCorvetteMan OFFLINE  

CasetheCorvetteMan

    Star Raider

  • 56 posts
  • Location:East Coast AUSTRALIA

Posted Thu Nov 1, 2018 6:20 AM

Yes, VCC is 5V (the lower side of R23). Then it will work ;-)


Sure did ;) I did have that there and removed it to shorten it after testing, then obviously forgot to put it back!!

#1382 Passive Matrix OFFLINE  

Passive Matrix

    Space Invader

  • 22 posts

Posted Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:56 AM

Just attempting my first Lynx II install and I noticed when the new screen is screwed in place a little bit of the silver LCD housing is exposed on the left. Is there any way to adjust this so it doesn't show? 

Attached Thumbnails

  • lynx 2 mod.jpg


#1383 bdoi OFFLINE  

bdoi

    Chopper Commander

  • 150 posts

Posted Wed Nov 21, 2018 3:13 AM

Just attempting my first Lynx II install and I noticed when the new screen is screwed in place a little bit of the silver LCD housing is exposed on the left. Is there any way to adjust this so it doesn't show? 

Yes I noticed that too, and it wasn't the case before.



#1384 bszarek001 OFFLINE  

bszarek001

    Chopper Commander

  • 124 posts
  • Location:Loveland, OH

Posted Wed Nov 21, 2018 3:14 AM

No. The suggestion is to use a black magic marker and gently “paint” the edges, which is what I did on my Lynx 1. Looks great.

#1385 bdoi OFFLINE  

bdoi

    Chopper Commander

  • 150 posts

Posted Wed Nov 21, 2018 6:39 AM

No. The suggestion is to use a black magic marker and gently “paint” the edges, which is what I did on my Lynx 1. Looks great.

 

In previous batch there wasn't this issue on lynx 2. On lynx 1 you can adjust the screen a little due to the plastic screw and "open hole" on the MB  but you can't on lynx 2 (metal screw and entire hole)



#1386 Passive Matrix OFFLINE  

Passive Matrix

    Space Invader

  • 22 posts

Posted Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:09 AM

I've just about finished my installation now but I've encountered a strange issue. I'm unable to to switch between all the display modes properly. I can switch between the Lynx screen and my VGA monitor but it will not display the retro mode with scanlines on either screen. I noticed that when I press and hold the backlight button on the Lynx it will show scanlines but as soon as a release pressure on the button it presumably switches to the next mode and I am unable to see them. 

 

Anybody encountered this issue before? I have a feeling that the mod is working perfectly and it's my Lynx that has a dodgy button or something. 



#1387 -^CrožBow^- ONLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    Quadrunner

  • 6,985 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:53 AM

 

In previous batch there wasn't this issue on lynx 2. On lynx 1 you can adjust the screen a little due to the plastic screw and "open hole" on the MB  but you can't on lynx 2 (metal screw and entire hole)

I've done about 4 of these now and I've always had that silver strip visible. Doesn't both me as I honestly don't notice it when I'm playing. I've never bothered to sharpie it or paint it either. But even my first lynx2 I modded 2 years ago has this. You are correct though in that due to the holes used there isn't any lateral adjustments that can be made. I'm assuming the hold could be made to be elongated to allow for this, but then you run the risk of the panel sliding loose over time etc. One thing you could do, is save and reuse one side of the felt that used to line the original LCD that you removed. Take one of the top sections of that felt and remove it carefully. Cut it to the same length and glue is down in place with a few small drops of super glue or something similar. That would likely give a more consistent look along that side and help?



#1388 Krip316 OFFLINE  

Krip316

    Moonsweeper

  • 279 posts
  • Location:The nostril of the midwest

Posted Wed Nov 21, 2018 7:54 PM

I've just about finished my installation now but I've encountered a strange issue. I'm unable to to switch between all the display modes properly. I can switch between the Lynx screen and my VGA monitor but it will not display the retro mode with scanlines on either screen. I noticed that when I press and hold the backlight button on the Lynx it will show scanlines but as soon as a release pressure on the button it presumably switches to the next mode and I am unable to see them. 
 
Anybody encountered this issue before? I have a feeling that the mod is working perfectly and it's my Lynx that has a dodgy button or something. 

Same here on my last installation. Curious if there’s a solution??

#1389 Passive Matrix OFFLINE  

Passive Matrix

    Space Invader

  • 22 posts

Posted Thu Nov 22, 2018 11:16 AM

Same here on my last installation. Curious if there’s a solution??

So this didn't occur with your other installs? I just tried my new screen and motherboard in 2 different Lynx cases and it is doing the same thing so I don't think it is an issue with the backlight button anymore. 

 

One click on the backlight button is registering as 2 clicks so I can only seem to get 2 modes: Lynx screen on with no scanlines and VGA monitor on with scanlines. 

 

Here is a picture of what I've done so far. Does everything look okay to you? 

Attached Thumbnails

  • 1st install2.jpg


#1390 Krip316 OFFLINE  

Krip316

    Moonsweeper

  • 279 posts
  • Location:The nostril of the midwest

Posted Thu Nov 22, 2018 12:15 PM

So this didn't occur with your other installs? Does everything look okay to you? 

I’ve done countless installs and this is a first for me. From what I can see, everything looks good. Your soldering skills are on point!

My guess is it’s faulty screens???? I think we need to make an appointment with Dr. McWill.....

#1391 -^CrožBow^- ONLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    Quadrunner

  • 6,985 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Sat Nov 24, 2018 1:55 AM

So this didn't occur with your other installs? I just tried my new screen and motherboard in 2 different Lynx cases and it is doing the same thing so I don't think it is an issue with the backlight button anymore. 

 

One click on the backlight button is registering as 2 clicks so I can only seem to get 2 modes: Lynx screen on with no scanlines and VGA monitor on with scanlines. 

 

Here is a picture of what I've done so far. Does everything look okay to you? 

 

Out of curiosity, try taking the vga portion of the wiring off and then run a wire from pin1 (Menu) along the line where you have the backlight wire attached on the LCD to the ground at the top of the VGA connections. Then see if the backlight button works for standard LCD and pseudo scanline mode?


Edited by -^CrožBow^-, Sat Nov 24, 2018 1:56 AM.


#1392 McWill OFFLINE  

McWill

    Chopper Commander

  • 248 posts
  • Location:GERMANY

Posted Sat Nov 24, 2018 2:09 AM

Yes I noticed that too, and it wasn't the case before.

It was the case since the 1st batch, because the LCD is a little bit smaller than the original one.
So you can see some of the silver LCD housing, sometimes only on the left or on both sides a little bit. I would also suggest to use a black marker.

 

I've just about finished my installation now but I've encountered a strange issue. I'm unable to to switch between all the display modes properly. I can switch between the Lynx screen and my VGA monitor but it will not display the retro mode with scanlines on either screen. I noticed that when I press and hold the backlight button on the Lynx it will show scanlines but as soon as a release pressure on the button it presumably switches to the next mode and I am unable to see them. 

 

Anybody encountered this issue before? I have a feeling that the mod is working perfectly and it's my Lynx that has a dodgy button or something. 

I guess the old backlight ON/OFF circuit is faulty. Try to exchange the 74HC74.
The LCD mod only gets the info ON/OFF from this circuit, so the LCD mod can't be faulty.


Edited by McWill, Sat Nov 24, 2018 2:12 AM.


#1393 Passive Matrix OFFLINE  

Passive Matrix

    Space Invader

  • 22 posts

Posted Sat Nov 24, 2018 2:53 AM

It was the case since the 1st batch, because the LCD is a little bit smaller than the original one.
So you can see some of the silver LCD housing, sometimes only on the left or on both sides a little bit. I would also suggest to use a black marker.

 

I guess the old backlight ON/OFF circuit is faulty. Try to exchange the 74HC74.
The LCD mod only gets the info ON/OFF from this circuit, so the LCD mod can't be faulty.

 

Thanks I will try that. Where is that part located on the motherboard? Is it a part still in production or will I have to get it from an old Lynx II? 



#1394 McWill OFFLINE  

McWill

    Chopper Commander

  • 248 posts
  • Location:GERMANY

Posted Sat Nov 24, 2018 7:51 PM

 
Thanks I will try that. Where is that part located on the motherboard? Is it a part still in production or will I have to get it from an old Lynx II? 

I have seen you used the wrong pin at the 74HC74 (the blue backlight wire). Please change and I guess it will working correctly.

Edited by McWill, Sat Nov 24, 2018 7:52 PM.


#1395 -^CrožBow^- ONLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    Quadrunner

  • 6,985 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Sat Nov 24, 2018 9:59 PM

I have seen you used the wrong pin at the 74HC74 (the blue backlight wire). Please change and I guess it will working correctly.

I just looked at his pic again and your correct. He has it attached off pin 3 instead of pin 2. His capacitor folded over is covering pin 1. Tricky...tricky...



#1396 Krip316 OFFLINE  

Krip316

    Moonsweeper

  • 279 posts
  • Location:The nostril of the midwest

Posted Sun Nov 25, 2018 2:14 AM

I have seen you used the wrong pin at the 74HC74 (the blue backlight wire).

Nice catch. I will check mine too.

#1397 Passive Matrix OFFLINE  

Passive Matrix

    Space Invader

  • 22 posts

Posted Sun Nov 25, 2018 2:32 AM

I have seen you used the wrong pin at the 74HC74 (the blue backlight wire). Please change and I guess it will working correctly.

 

Ah clearly this was my problem! Thanks very much, you have a very keen eye ;) 



#1398 travistouchdown OFFLINE  

travistouchdown

    River Patroller

  • 4,530 posts
  • Do the math!
  • Location:Burlington, Vermont

Posted Mon Dec 3, 2018 1:00 PM

Hey everyone, need some help.  I am about to bust out my McWill Lynx LCD Mod unit and do some gaming.

 

I seem to have forgot which button/s switch through the various screen modes.  Does anyone have a set of instructions anywhere?

 

I can find the "install" instructions all over the internet, but nowhere can I find which buttons switch between screens.  I assume the brightness wheel switches between the screen and the VGA (as I recall.)

 

Thanks again!  And I promise to write this down somewhere so I won't forget it again!



#1399 travistouchdown OFFLINE  

travistouchdown

    River Patroller

  • 4,530 posts
  • Do the math!
  • Location:Burlington, Vermont

Posted Mon Dec 3, 2018 3:42 PM

Found it!!  Cancel the above question:

 

http://retrorgb.com/lynx.html

 

Now....Where can I find the latest firmware?



#1400 Krip316 OFFLINE  

Krip316

    Moonsweeper

  • 279 posts
  • Location:The nostril of the midwest

Posted Mon Dec 3, 2018 8:11 PM

Now....Where can I find the latest firmware?

Last I heard, you have to send it to McWill to update the firmware.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users