Jump to content

Photo

List of games that don't work on the ATGames Genesis Ultimate portable


65 replies to this topic

#1 Inky OFFLINE  

Inky

    Gobs of money!

  • 25,648 posts
  • Meh
  • Location:The Irradiated Wastelands

Posted Wed Jan 28, 2015 7:57 AM

I did some googlin' (Every day I'm Googling,) and I cannot find a list of games that do not work on the ATGames Genesis Ultimate Portable, so let's start one here.

We'll use this first post to create the list.  

When listing a rom that doesn't work, give the name and date of the rom.  We can compare notes, and possibly discover a working rom.  This thread is not for uploading roms or where to find them,but with a proper date and name, working roms should be easy to google.

So far the ones I've encountered that don't work...


EDIT: Ditched the file name.  Including the problem observed. Added a few games

Codes:

SMT = Sega Multi Tap
EAMT = EA Multi - Tap
BB - Battery Backup

 

Super Bubble Bobble - buzzing sound,won't start
Lotus Turbo Challenge - Converted to .bin. Plays but with buzzing noise and some graphical glitching.

Ms.Pac-Man - black screen           
Buck Rogers - error code 000FE006 03

Frogger - red screen

 

Gauntlet Arcade - Loads,won't start - SMT 

Gauntlet 4 - loads, will not start   - EAMT

Austrailian Rugby Leauge - Won't start -  EAMT 

Coach K College Basketball - Loads, start works, gives error SEGA Library Internal Error drawrect clip error (0,0,; M16 window=( - EAMT

ATP Tour - Starts, able to set options, crashes after game starts - SMT - BB

 

 

 


Edited by Inky, Thu Feb 5, 2015 8:02 AM.


#2 ACFinPGH OFFLINE  

ACFinPGH

    Chopper Commander

  • 207 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA

Posted Wed Jan 28, 2015 8:35 AM

Thanks for starting this list. As you mentioned there isn't much guidance anywhere. Just picked up one of these a few days ago and so far I would say only about 20% of the ROMS I've tried have worked. I put everything in .BIN format as suggested but that didn't help either. 

 

What about a list of ROMs that work? Or is my experience not the norm (ie, the success rate is usually much higher)?



#3 Inky OFFLINE  

Inky

    Gobs of money!

  • Topic Starter
  • 25,648 posts
  • Meh
  • Location:The Irradiated Wastelands

Posted Wed Jan 28, 2015 10:46 AM

So far everything I've thrown at it has worked,with the exception of the ones I mentioned. I did download a bulk set of Genesis roms from one site, so maybe these are just good copies?



#4 ACFinPGH OFFLINE  

ACFinPGH

    Chopper Commander

  • 207 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA

Posted Wed Jan 28, 2015 11:09 AM

So far everything I've thrown at it has worked,with the exception of the ones I mentioned. I did download a bulk set of Genesis roms from one site, so maybe these are just good copies?

Hmmm...OK.  I'll have to look around more. Did you just use any old SD card (although, since some of my games load I am less inclined to think it is the fault of the SD card)? I tried an old Kodak 128MB and a generic 256MB one with the same results. 



#5 Dauber OFFLINE  

Dauber

    Quadrunner

  • 5,661 posts
  • What's for tea, luv?
  • Location:Right by where The Lone Ranger went to high school

Posted Wed Jan 28, 2015 12:51 PM

I can confirm Ms. Pac-Man doesn't work on mine as well. Here's what I've come up with so far:
 
DOES NOT WORK AT ALL:
Archrivals
Bulls Vs. Blazers
Desert Strike
James Pond [although James Pond 2 and 3 both work]
Zero Wing [so I guess all my base are belong to NOBODY, huh?]
 
LOADS AND RUNS BUT UNPLAYABLE:
one version of Stargate (scrambled graphics)
Super Bubble Bobble (can't get past the opening background scenery; sound is just a constant buzz)
 
WORKS BUT NOT WITHOUT ISSUES:
Lotus Turbo Challenge (there's a constant high-pitched noise)
 
Speaking of Stargate...I never played that on the Genesis. Let's just say I was very, very disappointed when I found out what Stargate actually is on the Genesis.

EDIT: oops, sorry I didn't include the ROM name and date. Don't have any dates on mine though, I don't think.

Edited by Dauber, Wed Jan 28, 2015 1:23 PM.


#6 Dauber OFFLINE  

Dauber

    Quadrunner

  • 5,661 posts
  • What's for tea, luv?
  • Location:Right by where The Lone Ranger went to high school

Posted Wed Jan 28, 2015 11:53 PM

Hmmm....now that I'm finally able to inspect the ROMs on my card, I'm finding that, with the exception of Ms. Pac-Man, the ROMs that don't run are all SMD format rather than the usual BIN. Guessing these are actually Megadrive ROMs that happen to work under some Genesis emulators.

 

Anyway....

 

William's Arcade Greatest Hits.bin -- only Joust and Robotron 2084 run.


Edited by Dauber, Thu Jan 29, 2015 12:41 AM.


#7 mickcris OFFLINE  

mickcris

    Moonsweeper

  • 483 posts
  • Location:Texas

Posted Thu Jan 29, 2015 12:14 PM

SMD stands for Super Magic Drive (an old copy device).  There are several programs that convert between SMD and BIN if you want to see if that is the issue:

 

http://www.zophar.ne...s/segautil.html



#8 Inky OFFLINE  

Inky

    Gobs of money!

  • Topic Starter
  • 25,648 posts
  • Meh
  • Location:The Irradiated Wastelands

Posted Thu Jan 29, 2015 2:34 PM

DOES NOT WORK AT ALL:
Archrivals -- Works on mine
Bulls Vs. Blazers - Works on mine
Desert Strike - Works
James Pond [although James Pond 2 and 3 both work] - Works
Zero Wing [so I guess all my base are belong to NOBODY, huh?] - Works, so I guess Dauber's base belongs to me.
 
LOADS AND RUNS BUT UNPLAYABLE:
one version of Stargate (scrambled graphics) - Works (I only have one version)
Super Bubble Bobble (can't get past the opening background scenery; sound is just a constant buzz) -  Confirmed non working
 
WORKS BUT NOT WITHOUT ISSUES:
Lotus Turbo Challenge (there's a constant high-pitched noise) - Don't have this rom yet. WIll procure.
 



#9 Inky OFFLINE  

Inky

    Gobs of money!

  • Topic Starter
  • 25,648 posts
  • Meh
  • Location:The Irradiated Wastelands

Posted Thu Jan 29, 2015 2:36 PM

 

William's Arcade Greatest Hits.bin -- only Joust and Robotron 2084 run. - Need to get this rom



#10 Inky OFFLINE  

Inky

    Gobs of money!

  • Topic Starter
  • 25,648 posts
  • Meh
  • Location:The Irradiated Wastelands

Posted Sat Jan 31, 2015 10:29 PM

Has anyone tried Frogger yet?  It crashed with a red screen on mine.



#11 Inky OFFLINE  

Inky

    Gobs of money!

  • Topic Starter
  • 25,648 posts
  • Meh
  • Location:The Irradiated Wastelands

Posted Sat Jan 31, 2015 10:45 PM

TheRom I have for the Williams Arcade Classics, I can't get Joust to work on the windows emulator I have, so it could be a bad dump.



#12 Darrin9999 OFFLINE  

Darrin9999

    River Patroller

  • 3,117 posts
  • Location:Michigan

Posted Sat Jan 31, 2015 10:58 PM

Tried Frogger on mine, same thing red screen.



#13 gorfcadet OFFLINE  

gorfcadet

    Stargunner

  • 1,210 posts

Posted Wed Feb 4, 2015 1:43 PM

That is odd that the portable is so different from the atgames console. Ms Pac, Frogger, and Arcades GH all work perfectly on that thing aside from occassional sound/pitch issues. It even runs my copy of Fix It Felix Jr.

#14 Inky OFFLINE  

Inky

    Gobs of money!

  • Topic Starter
  • 25,648 posts
  • Meh
  • Location:The Irradiated Wastelands

Posted Thu Feb 5, 2015 7:48 AM

Testing known multi-tap games, and so far all will load, but cannot be started except for Bill Walsh College Football. I have a theory that the start button is programmed differently in multi-tap games.



#15 errantsoul OFFLINE  

errantsoul

    Space Invader

  • 10 posts

Posted Wed Feb 25, 2015 5:58 AM

I bought one of this a year ago. I hope it's the same model as mine.

 

Sorry first of all. My english is really bad.

Respect the games:

 

DOES NOT WORK AT ALL:
Archrivals -- Also works on mine
Bulls Vs. Blazers - Also works on mine
Desert Strike - Works
James Pond [although James Pond 2 and 3 both work] - I don't know
Zero Wing [so I guess all my base are belong to NOBODY, huh?] - I don't know
 
LOADS AND RUNS BUT UNPLAYABLE:
one version of Stargate (scrambled graphics) - I don't know
Super Bubble Bobble (can't get past the opening background scenery; sound is just a constant buzz) -  Confirmed non working
 
WORKS BUT NOT WITHOUT ISSUES:
Lotus Turbo Challenge (there's a constant high-pitched noise) - I don't know.

 

 

About my problems with games:

 

NOT WORKING:

Nba Jam T.E.

Nba Live (any versión crushes at the beggining).

Fifa (same as Nba Live).

Some other versions of EA Sports's games.

 

 

LOADS AND RUN BUT UNPLAYABLE OR WITH ISSUES:

Contra - Bad synchro

Light Crusade - Runs but when I create a new game, crashes.

Lion King - Same as Contra, and also crashes.

Probotector - Same as Contra.

Zool - Crushes after seconds of play.

 

 

I still test some new roms. I don't know if it helps or not. 

I'll refresh this list with more if you want.

 

Thanks ^^




AAAAHHH!! - Frogger works on my portable ;)


Edited by errantsoul, Wed Feb 25, 2015 6:00 AM.


#16 bohoki OFFLINE  

bohoki

    Stargunner

  • 1,544 posts

Posted Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:24 PM

i'm betting that toy story crashes after the first level



#17 errantsoul OFFLINE  

errantsoul

    Space Invader

  • 10 posts

Posted Mon Mar 2, 2015 5:27 AM

i'm betting that toy story crashes after the first level

I'll try this first :)



#18 errantsoul OFFLINE  

errantsoul

    Space Invader

  • 10 posts

Posted Mon Mar 2, 2015 5:56 AM

i'm betting that toy story crashes after the first level

4 stages without any problem ;)



#19 errantsoul OFFLINE  

errantsoul

    Space Invader

  • 10 posts

Posted Tue Mar 3, 2015 5:46 AM

Not work yet or really bad:

 

- Light Crusader --> Good start, but crash when select slot to play.

- All Fifa --> Many of them crushes in the begin. Others in the menu, can't move the selection.

- All NBA Live --> Same as Fifa.

Nba Jam T.E. --> Not work.

- Contra --> Bad synchro between player and background.

- Lion King --> Same as Contra.

- Probotector --> Same as Contra.

- Space Harrier II --> Same as Contra.

- Zool --> Crushes after a few seconds of play.

 

 

I'll add more in a few hours XD



#20 errantsoul OFFLINE  

errantsoul

    Space Invader

  • 10 posts

Posted Tue Mar 3, 2015 7:28 AM

Not work yet or really bad:

 

- Light Crusader --> Good start, but crash when select slot to play.

- All Fifa --> Many of them crushes in the begin. Others in the menu, can't move the selection.

- All NBA Live --> Same as Fifa.

Nba Jam T.E. --> Not work.

- Contra --> Bad synchro between player and background.

- Lion King --> Same as Contra.

- Probotector --> Same as Contra.

- Space Harrier II --> Same as Contra.

- Zool --> Crushes after a few seconds of play.

 

 

I'll add more in a few hours XD

Add:

 

- Separation Anxiety: Venom & Spiderman --> At the menu screen, when you select 1 or 2 players, the game freeze.

- Frank Thomas Big Hurt Baseball --> Crushes at the begin. Blue and black stripes.

- Virtua Racing --> Don't work.



#21 RHillFake OFFLINE  

RHillFake

    Star Raider

  • 74 posts
  • Programming
  • Location:Virginia, USA

Posted Tue May 5, 2015 9:54 AM

I can't get Sonic 3 and Knuckles to work, however they both work on their own. Sonic and Knuckles is the only game that shows up.

 

Does anyone know if multitaps work on this because I am thinking about getting Sonic Classic Heroes hack cart to play with two other people.



#22 errantsoul OFFLINE  

errantsoul

    Space Invader

  • 10 posts

Posted Fri May 8, 2015 3:23 AM

I can't get Sonic 3 and Knuckles to work, however they both work on their own. Sonic and Knuckles is the only game that shows up.

 

Does anyone know if multitaps work on this because I am thinking about getting Sonic Classic Heroes hack cart to play with two other people.

Multitap on ATGenesis?
Tell me how, please :s



#23 RHillFake OFFLINE  

RHillFake

    Star Raider

  • 74 posts
  • Programming
  • Location:Virginia, USA

Posted Fri May 8, 2015 7:11 AM

Multitap on ATGenesis?
Tell me how, please :s

I do not know if it works on the AtGames Genesis but I know they have them.

http://www.gametrog....ay_play-EA.html

Just imagine how awesome it would be to play Sonic 1-2 with 3 players at once.

ROM: http://info.sonicret..._Classic_Heroes (download at the bottom)

Cart: https://www.etsy.com...ch_query=heroes



#24 errantsoul OFFLINE  

errantsoul

    Space Invader

  • 10 posts

Posted Wed May 13, 2015 8:12 AM

I do not know if it works on the AtGames Genesis but I know they have them.

http://www.gametrog....ay_play-EA.html

Just imagine how awesome it would be to play Sonic 1-2 with 3 players at once.

ROM: http://info.sonicret..._Classic_Heroes (download at the bottom)

Cart: https://www.etsy.com...ch_query=heroes

I know how it's a multitap.

 

But in AtGames Genesis Ultimate portable?... How?



#25 RHillFake OFFLINE  

RHillFake

    Star Raider

  • 74 posts
  • Programming
  • Location:Virginia, USA

Posted Wed May 13, 2015 8:21 AM

I know how it's a multitap.

 

But in AtGames Genesis Ultimate portable?... How?

Well I kinda forgot this was about the portable one :P






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users