Jump to content

Photo

(Hardware) Project of the 'calendar quarter'

Build It Mod Hardware

186 replies to this topic

#26 Manic1975 OFFLINE  

Manic1975

    Chopper Commander

  • 149 posts
  • Location:Croatia

Posted Thu Sep 3, 2015 3:39 AM

Is there project to build PEB at home with standard TI components? Or it is easyer to build new PEB with new components?



#27 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • Topic Starter
  • 9,517 posts
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Gould Belt in the Orion arm of Milky Way galaxy.

Posted Thu Sep 3, 2015 7:34 AM

... but I think any solution we come up with will reach a wider audience if you don't have to open up the console. 

 

 So true!.

 

 Joysticks make a great first project too as it's possible to make one with very little soldering required.

 In fact if one orders something like this...

 

$(KGrHqRHJC4E-+qZ6wO!BQBZVHm,UQ~~60_57.J

from Ebay and hack off one end you could attach ...

$_57.JPG

 

the connectors to the individual wires and just slip them on the joysticks connectors.



#28 Shift838 OFFLINE  

Shift838

    Stargunner

  • 1,706 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Texas

Posted Thu Sep 3, 2015 5:39 PM

I was also thinking of a project to build a numeric keypad to attach to the TI along with maybe 4 or 5 functions keys (most used ones like F=,F4,F8,F9, etc..  

 

Or maybe...

 

We build the PS2 adapter card from HarmlessLion Software for PS2 keyboards, the specs and layout is HERE



#29 schmitzi ONLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,484 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Fri Sep 4, 2015 2:41 AM

or maybe some software ("driver") for this here ?

 

 

Attached File  Wico-Keypad-for-Atari-5200--02.JPG   130.75KB   2 downloadsAttached File  Wico-Keypad-for-Atari-5200--01.JPG   190.85KB   2 downloads



#30 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • Topic Starter
  • 9,517 posts
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Gould Belt in the Orion arm of Milky Way galaxy.

Posted Fri Sep 4, 2015 10:49 AM

 

Or maybe...

We build the PS2 adapter card from HarmlessLion Software for PS2 keyboards, the specs and layout is HERE

 

Tursi's little PS/2 keyboard interface is without a doubt one of my all-time favorite TI enhancements.  The extra function keys are very handy and I love the way that the TI's FCTN-9 (back) is also mapped to the PS/2's escape key, because after years of PC use, it's all automatic.  

 

Prices on PS/2 keyboards are CHEAP too, for example << this auction >> has NIB keyboard(s) that "MATCH" the TI,  with shipping included... for only $9.98.  Of course it has a numeric keypad built-in too.   :)  Now if you just want the << keypad only >>,  they are

available, but for more money than the entire keyboard.

 

If you don't mind soldering to a couple of pins you'll also have the ALT-F12 (reset button) and the ALT-F11 (load interrupt) features.  By the way, that ALT-F12 feature is BLOODY AWESOME if you are running XB2.7s with the BOOT enhancement! 

 

A while back I made a short blog entry about this thing << HERE >> and even made a couple of downloadable keyboard strips for it.  



#31 Shift838 OFFLINE  

Shift838

    Stargunner

  • 1,706 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Texas

Posted Fri Sep 4, 2015 11:45 AM

Omega, v

 

Very nice.  I think that this would be a very good project and would benefit the TI users.

 

The big question is if we would have enough interest to make a run of the PS2 adapter boards.

 

I checked my GQ-4X programmer specs and it has the ability to program the ATMEGA16 chips.

 

if we have enough interest we could even put together DIY assembly kits much like I helped with the IDE project.  I think it would be fairly cheap to do.



#32 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • Topic Starter
  • 9,517 posts
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Gould Belt in the Orion arm of Milky Way galaxy.

Posted Fri Sep 4, 2015 11:51 AM

 

The big question is if we would have enough interest to make a run of the PS2 adapter boards.

 

 

 Hmmmm, sounds like it's time to make a poll Chris!  ;)



#33 bad robot OFFLINE  

bad robot

    Space Invader

  • 36 posts

Posted Sat Sep 12, 2015 3:12 AM

Probably best to look at What the Ti-99/4A needs ??

 

Things like (possibly) ?

 

Real Time Clock

Silicon disc (possibly a DS12C887 512Kx8bit NVSRAM)

CF Card reader

Turbo mode (accelerator board)

More I/O ports even USB ports ?

A Hard Drive interface ?

An Infra-Red interface for wireless keyboard/mouse joystick ?

 

Well you get the idea !!



#34 Hades666 OFFLINE  

Hades666

    Combat Commando

  • 8 posts

Posted Fri Oct 30, 2015 4:00 AM

So what hardware has been decided ? Or what is going to be made ?



#35 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • Topic Starter
  • 9,517 posts
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Gould Belt in the Orion arm of Milky Way galaxy.

Posted Fri Oct 30, 2015 6:12 AM

So what hardware has been decided ? Or what is going to be made ?

 

 Dunno... I thought that this thread was another idea that crashed & burned...

aviation-show-jet-fighter-crash-photo-mi



#36 schmitzi ONLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,484 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Fri Oct 30, 2015 8:08 AM

No, it´s like a good tea, it needs it time :)

 

I am thinking about renaming my avatar "schmitzi" here on AA to "+1"  :)

 

 

PS: Is that the MoonSweeper in the upper right corner in the pic ? :)


Edited by schmitzi, Fri Oct 30, 2015 8:10 AM.


#37 Hades666 OFFLINE  

Hades666

    Combat Commando

  • 8 posts

Posted Fri Oct 30, 2015 8:43 AM

 

 Hmmmm, sounds like it's time to make a poll Chris!  ;)

So there was no POLL as to what hardware people want ?

 

 

It's still a good idea just needs more interest and enthusiasm to get things off the ground !



#38 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • Topic Starter
  • 9,517 posts
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Gould Belt in the Orion arm of Milky Way galaxy.

Posted Fri Oct 30, 2015 3:25 PM

So there was no POLL as to what hardware people want ?

 

 

It's still a good idea just needs more interest and enthusiasm to get things off the ground !

 

Possibly.  Would you be willing to start a poll thread and carry this forward? :)



#39 Hades666 OFFLINE  

Hades666

    Combat Commando

  • 8 posts

Posted Sat Oct 31, 2015 4:48 AM

 

Possibly.  Would you be willing to start a poll thread and carry this forward? :)

http://atariage.com/...e/#entry3356822



#40 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • Topic Starter
  • 9,517 posts
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Gould Belt in the Orion arm of Milky Way galaxy.

Posted Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:38 PM

The Tursi 32K 'in-console' Memory Expansion

1st Quarter of 2016

 

With the cool cartridge images that have been coming out that require 32K, I was thinking the time might be right for a dedicated 'gaming only machine'.  Tursi's internal 32K memory expansion seems like 'just the ticket' to make this happen.

 

At first glance some of you may balk at this project, but if you look it over carefully, you'll realize that if you take your time and do it 'one wire at a time', it'll be a fairly nice project.  So, pull out one of your many backup consoles  ;) and consider giving this project a shot.

 

NOTE:  If you buy the parts from Jameco like Tursi mentioned...

 

gallery_35324_1027_3052.jpg

 

...so you might want to add a couple of extra items.

 

The following attached PDF's should get you started.  They are:

 

1) TI32k Mod ................The actual project by Tursi

2) TI-99 4A Dissassembly.... A PDF file made from the ripped off contents of MAINBYTE.COM

 

The other two are datasheets on the specific chips for those who are interested.

 

Oh yeah, one more thing... this project does not have to be just for a dedicated gaming machine.  Some of you guys are running out of room in your P-Boxes, this project will let you, "open up one extra slot".

Attached Files



#41 Iwantgames:) OFFLINE  

Iwantgames:)

    Stargunner

  • 1,717 posts

Posted Mon Nov 30, 2015 2:48 PM

I already planned on doing this mod to two of my TI's just need to get a better iron first as mine kinda sucks :P

#42 kl99 OFFLINE  

kl99

    Dragonstomper

  • 603 posts
  • Location:Vienna, Austria

Posted Tue Dec 1, 2015 12:50 AM

i am interested in gaining hardware skills. iron tool is ready :)

count me in.

personal interest would be a working physical connection from TI expansion port towards another device to be able to halt/debug and do all kind of stuff like emulating 32k, ramdisks,...

or building a hardware device utilizing the maximum speed of a TI for I/O with another device (like pc or android).



#43 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • Topic Starter
  • 9,517 posts
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Gould Belt in the Orion arm of Milky Way galaxy.

Posted Tue Dec 1, 2015 11:31 AM

Tursi,

   Jameco also carries wire.  Do you think << THIS >> is right for the job?

If everyone ordered two each of the chips and the wire, it would eliminate the shipping charges. 

 

gallery_35324_1027_30863.jpg



#44 Iwantgames:) OFFLINE  

Iwantgames:)

    Stargunner

  • 1,717 posts

Posted Tue Dec 1, 2015 11:55 AM

Only $11 not bad :) what is a good iron that's not ultra expensive?

#45 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • Topic Starter
  • 9,517 posts
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Gould Belt in the Orion arm of Milky Way galaxy.

Posted Tue Dec 1, 2015 12:10 PM

Only $11 not bad :) what is a good iron that's not ultra expensive?

 

Well, << this one >> will probably do the job.  It looks a LOT like mine, but it's less expensive than mine was!  :mad:

 

gallery_35324_1027_1193434.jpg



#46 Iwantgames:) OFFLINE  

Iwantgames:)

    Stargunner

  • 1,717 posts

Posted Tue Dec 1, 2015 12:23 PM

Nice :) I think I'll get that one this week :)

#47 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 3,876 posts

Posted Tue Dec 1, 2015 8:23 PM

I use these for my day-to-day soldering work, but I pull out this for those days when I need to do some serious soldering. Of course, you also have to have the right type of irons for these (at least they can be used with both stations).



#48 Tursi OFFLINE  

Tursi

    River Patroller

  • 4,510 posts
  • Location:BUR

Posted Tue Dec 1, 2015 8:29 PM

Tursi,

   Jameco also carries wire.  Do you think << THIS >> is right for the job?

 

I'm clueless on wire - as long as it's thin enough. I used wirewrap wire for the one in the PDF, but I don't know what gauge that was.



#49 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 3,876 posts

Posted Tue Dec 1, 2015 8:32 PM

Wirewrap wire usually goes by the name Kynar.



#50 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 2,065 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Wed Dec 2, 2015 12:53 AM

ordered 4 sets of chips to do some consoles :)







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Build It, Mod, Hardware

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users