IGNORED

Bank Switching Madness - I just don't get it why it won't work!

Pixman

Hi folks,

I saw many examples, but none that satisfied my learning for a working program.

I don't know what I am doing wrong.

Look at this, I wrote a little program, that displays on every 192 scanlines a different color.

You can see it here:

http://pastebin.com/xbQu8FNk

Written like this, it works.

I'm working on something big and I really need the 8kb for that.

Here's the code I can't get to work:
http://pastebin.com/4b8CpeMj

It should come back after a few nops and the program should run flawlessly! All I get is a black screen and some beeping noises. Sometimes some garbled graphics.

Can please anybody explain me this properly?

I worked 4 hours on this crappy bank switching. It seems all so easy, I'm missing something.

I'd be very grateful for any help!

My brain is hurting. Really. I just don't get it. And I have plenty of experience in C64/6502 and PC development.

Thank you :)

Best Regards,

Pix

Edited by Pixman

I can see what's wrong, though I don't have time to go into detail at the moment. For now, I suggest you use Stella's debugger mode to single step through the code so you can see what's happening, that should provide you with some insight to help you figure out what's wrong.

You can also check out the development history for Medieval Mayhem, this blog entry was when I implemented bankswitching.

Oh, this is awesome. :)

I thank you a lot. I will try this when my brain is a bit more unstuck. I'm currently also fighting with Quaternions (grrr, evil fuckers ;)).

Very interesting, I think I might figure it out with this. I'll give some feedback if I can.

BTW, in your code, I can't see any usage of $1ff6 to $1ff9, which is a bit confusing to me.

How's that?

I saw into your macros. They make sense, sure. But I don't get why you don't have to fiddle around with setting the banks with those particular registers.