Jump to content

Photo

ColecoVision Flashback Upgrade Service


89 replies to this topic

#1 Byte Knight OFFLINE  

Byte Knight

    Stargunner

  • 1,007 posts
  • Robinett Rules!
  • Location:Waconia, MN

Posted Sat Nov 21, 2015 3:07 PM

Hey guys,

 

Here's another great way to play your ColecoVision games on a modern TV.  I'm now offering an upgrade for the ColecoVision Flashback, similar to my upgrade service for the Intellivision Flashback.  The upgrade is set up for original ColecoVision controllers, but you can also use the CV Flashback, Atari 2600, and Intellivision controllers.

 

IMG_1810.JPG  IMG_1812.JPG  IMG_1809.JPG

 

The system includes:

  • The Ultimate CVFB decal upgrade (thanks to pboland!).
  • Raspberry Pi 3 computer + beefier power supply.
  • Ultimate PC Interface.
  • USB extension cable.

What you get:

  • Beautiful HDMI output.
  • Wifi connectivity.
  • USB keyboard input (keyboard not included!).
  • Nanochess's awesome CoolCV emulator.
  • Most of the 60 games you've already purchased + the ability to add more games.
  • EmulationStation front-end.

CV New Look.jpg

 

 

Cost:

  • $159 including shipping from me.  (It would cost you over $130 to do this project yourself.)  You pay to ship your Flashback (unit only) to me.

PM me here or email me at holcozerozerofour@umn.edu (change words to numbers) if you'd like to order.  Make sure you read the manual below first!

 

Early Version of Manual:

Attached File  Ultimate ColecoVision Flashback Setup.pdf   154.92KB   431 downloads

 

Latest Version of Manual:

Attached File  Ultimate ColecoVision Flashback Setup.pdf   136.34KB   416 downloads



#2 Pixelboy ONLINE  

Pixelboy

    Quadrunner

  • 7,519 posts
  • Location:Montreal, Canada

Posted Sat Nov 21, 2015 3:15 PM

Okay, so the obvious question: is there any way to add ROMs beyond the 60 games included?

#3 Kamshaft OFFLINE  

Kamshaft

    Moonsweeper

  • 271 posts
  • Location:Ontario, CANADA

Posted Sat Nov 21, 2015 3:17 PM

With RetroPi/Emulation station, you can connect via FTP.  So yes. Easy as PI!  See what I did there? LOL


Edited by Kamshaft, Sat Nov 21, 2015 3:17 PM.


#4 Pixelboy ONLINE  

Pixelboy

    Quadrunner

  • 7,519 posts
  • Location:Montreal, Canada

Posted Sat Nov 21, 2015 3:23 PM

With RetroPi/Emulation station, you can connect via FTP.  So yes. Easy as PI!  See what I did there? LOL


So I can connect to the internet and retrieve ROMs. This is nice, but I'd rather just add ROMs with a USB key, if I can. I don't know anything about the RetroPi, I must admit. :)

#5 mckafka99 OFFLINE  

mckafka99

    Dragonstomper

  • 958 posts

Posted Sat Nov 21, 2015 3:37 PM

So I can connect to the internet and retrieve ROMs. This is nice, but I'd rather just add ROMs with a USB key, if I can. I don't know anything about the RetroPi, I must admit. :)

If you are familiar and comfortable with Linux, then you should be able to find which ever means best fits your situation to get you own ROMs on to it.

(While what I initially wrote is true, check out the PDF in the OP. Looks like you should be all set.)

#6 Kamshaft OFFLINE  

Kamshaft

    Moonsweeper

  • 271 posts
  • Location:Ontario, CANADA

Posted Sat Nov 21, 2015 3:37 PM

Not Internet, just log in locally


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#7 Byte Knight OFFLINE  

Byte Knight

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,007 posts
  • Robinett Rules!
  • Location:Waconia, MN

Posted Sat Nov 21, 2015 3:59 PM

Okay, so the obvious question: is there any way to add ROMs beyond the 60 games included?

 

Yes, the easiest way is via a USB thumb drive.  You can also add them from your computer via wifi.  It's all in the manual at the bottom of the first post.



#8 Pixelboy ONLINE  

Pixelboy

    Quadrunner

  • 7,519 posts
  • Location:Montreal, Canada

Posted Sat Nov 21, 2015 4:05 PM

Thanks for the info. :)

#9 Byte Knight OFFLINE  

Byte Knight

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,007 posts
  • Robinett Rules!
  • Location:Waconia, MN

Posted Sun Nov 22, 2015 9:34 AM

Not growing up with a CV myself, I'm curious to know what controller most people use to play games.  I need to figure out if I should map the pause, reset, and exit emulator functions to player1 or player2.  I've found that using the 2600 controller for most of the arcade ports works best for me...



#10 Kamshaft OFFLINE  

Kamshaft

    Moonsweeper

  • 271 posts
  • Location:Ontario, CANADA

Posted Sun Nov 22, 2015 12:10 PM

What size of micro SD card you including? If any. :)



#11 Pixelboy ONLINE  

Pixelboy

    Quadrunner

  • 7,519 posts
  • Location:Montreal, Canada

Posted Sun Nov 22, 2015 12:20 PM

Not growing up with a CV myself, I'm curious to know what controller most people use to play games.  I need to figure out if I should map the pause, reset, and exit emulator functions to player1 or player2.  I've found that using the 2600 controller for most of the arcade ports works best for me...


Very few ColecoVision games don't use the keypad at all. In many games, you need to press a keypad key to select a skill level. Several other games integrate keypad usage during gameplay in a continuous manner. If I was in your place and was limited to stock controllers only for input options, I would probably map the pause, reset and exit emulator functions to player 2's keypad.

#12 Byte Knight OFFLINE  

Byte Knight

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,007 posts
  • Robinett Rules!
  • Location:Waconia, MN

Posted Sun Nov 22, 2015 1:08 PM

What size of micro SD card you including? If any. :)

 

8 gB, which gives you 5.2 gB free for roms!



#13 grips03 OFFLINE  

grips03

    River Patroller

  • 3,219 posts
  • Location:New England

Posted Sun Nov 22, 2015 1:17 PM

which setup allows the most emulators to run, Intv or the Coleco one? 

 

I'm most interested in Intv, Coleco, pc-engine, mame (arcade), genesis, sega master system.



#14 Byte Knight OFFLINE  

Byte Knight

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,007 posts
  • Robinett Rules!
  • Location:Waconia, MN

Posted Sun Nov 22, 2015 1:38 PM

Either one will allow those other systems to run, it's just a matter of which startupscreen you want!

 

Getting the other emulators running is usually just a matter of adding roms to the proper folders, but just note that I don't have the time or energy to support the other emulators - you're on your own there.  However, David Harley's site has good info for getting the other emulators fine-tuned.



#15 ValkerieSilk OFFLINE  

ValkerieSilk

    Stargunner

  • 1,134 posts
  • Location:Rancho Palos Verdes, CA

Posted Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:30 PM

Wow, how cool ... But my original Colecovision just took a line from Arnold and said... "I'm Old, Not Obsolete!"...



#16 Byte Knight OFFLINE  

Byte Knight

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,007 posts
  • Robinett Rules!
  • Location:Waconia, MN

Posted Sun Nov 22, 2015 9:31 PM

Wow, how cool ... But my original Colecovision just took a line from Arnold and said... "I'm Old, Not Obsolete!"...

 

Personally, I'd like to have both a T-3000 and a T-800...  ;)



#17 ValkerieSilk OFFLINE  

ValkerieSilk

    Stargunner

  • 1,134 posts
  • Location:Rancho Palos Verdes, CA

Posted Mon Nov 23, 2015 12:28 AM

Ya,  me too I suppose ;) ... 

 

Personally, I'd like to have both a T-3000 and a T-800...  ;)



#18 Flojomojo OFFLINE  

Flojomojo

    Swingin' Space Reporter!

  • 7,836 posts
  • Let's Dance!

Posted Mon Nov 23, 2015 10:43 AM

This project is insanely great. I'm debating whether to send you my Coleco FB unit or get a new one just for the purpose. Very cool idea, VERY VERY cool to offer it up as a service to those who don't want to do it themselves!



#19 ave1 OFFLINE  

ave1

    Moonsweeper

  • 304 posts

Posted Mon Nov 23, 2015 3:56 PM

Couple questions- does this allow for multiple emulators to be installed and used (ie. An NES emulator)?

Also- are the compatible emulators the same ones that run on PC, or maybe Android?

Oh and one more: can Genesis controllers be uaed?

Edited by ave1, Mon Nov 23, 2015 4:03 PM.


#20 Byte Knight OFFLINE  

Byte Knight

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,007 posts
  • Robinett Rules!
  • Location:Waconia, MN

Posted Mon Nov 23, 2015 4:47 PM

Couple questions- does this allow for multiple emulators to be installed and used (ie. An NES emulator)?
Also- are the compatible emulators the same ones that run on PC, or maybe Android?
Oh and one more: can Genesis controllers be uaed?

 

The other emulators are already actually installed - all you typically have to do is add roms to the proper folder via a USB thumb drive to get them up and running.  I believe that Nestopia is the NES emulator that comes with it.  As mentioned above, I don't support the other emulators as it takes a lot of tinkering to get everything working perfectly.  Check out David Harley's site for that.

 

Both the Genesis 3 and 6 button controllers are supported with the UPCI.  Sorry, I was wrong - Sega controllers are no longer supported with the latest firmware version for the UPCI.


Edited by Byte Knight, Tue Nov 24, 2015 12:13 AM.


#21 TPR ONLINE  

TPR

    Stargunner

  • 1,309 posts
  • Location:Orlando, FL

Posted Mon Nov 23, 2015 8:13 PM

get a new one just for the purpose.


This is exactly what I did! ;)

#22 Inky OFFLINE  

Inky

    I'm going to try to come back and post here.

  • 24,695 posts
  • Awkwardness personified
  • Location:The Pie Factory Logistics Center

Posted Mon Nov 23, 2015 8:15 PM

I'm not getting this. So you're removing the insides of the CV Flashback and putting a Raspberry Pi inside?



#23 Flojomojo OFFLINE  

Flojomojo

    Swingin' Space Reporter!

  • 7,836 posts
  • Let's Dance!

Posted Mon Nov 23, 2015 8:49 PM

Byte Knight -- would the Intellivision Flashback controllers work with this as well? For Intellivision games, of course. I have a zillion things that can do emulation, but the Flashback is nice because of its replica controllers.

#24 Flojomojo OFFLINE  

Flojomojo

    Swingin' Space Reporter!

  • 7,836 posts
  • Let's Dance!

Posted Mon Nov 23, 2015 8:51 PM

I'm not getting this. So you're removing the insides of the CV Flashback and putting a Raspberry Pi inside?

The old guts stay there, at least logically if not physically ("get the 60 games you paid for") but there's also a controller adapter as well as a Pi, plus all the good things that come along with that: microSD, USB, wifi, HDMI. It's a pretty serious upgrade!

#25 thevnaguy OFFLINE  

thevnaguy

    Dragonstomper

  • 967 posts
  • Need more Retro games!

Posted Mon Nov 23, 2015 11:08 PM

Hey guys,

 

Here's another great way to play your ColecoVision games on a modern TV.  I'm now offering an upgrade for the ColecoVision Flashback, similar to my upgrade service for the Intellivision Flashback.  The upgrade is set up for original ColecoVision controllers, but you can also use the CV Flashback, Atari 2600, and Intellivision controllers.  The upgrade uses your existing power supply.

 

attachicon.gifIMG_1810.JPG attachicon.gifIMG_1812.JPG attachicon.gifIMG_1809.JPG

 

The system includes:

  • The Ultimate CVFB decal upgrade (thanks to pboland!).
  • Raspberry 2 computer.
  • Ultimate PC Interface.
  • USB wifi dongle.
  • USB extension cable.

What you get:

  • Beautiful HDMI output.
  • Wifi connectivity.
  • USB keyboard input (keyboard not included!).
  • Nanochess's awesome CoolCV emulator.
  • The 60 games you've already purchased + the ability to add more games.
  • EmulationStation front-end.

 

Cost:

  • $159 including shipping from me.  (It would cost you over $130 to do this project yourself.)  You pay to ship your Flashback (unit only) to me.

PM me here or email me at holcozerozerofour@umn.edu (change words to numbers) if you'd like to order.  Make sure you read the manual below first!

 

attachicon.gifUltimate ColecoVision Flashback Setup.pdf

Awesome work!  Will mention this in the next episode of ColecoVisions Podcast :)






1 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users