Jump to content

Photo

BASIC Tenliners Contest 2016

BASIC Programming Contest Tenliners Tenliner NOMAM

129 replies to this topic

#1 Bunsen OFFLINE  

Bunsen

    Dragonstomper

  • 847 posts
  • Location:Dithmarschen/ Germany

Posted Sat Jan 16, 2016 4:21 AM

Guys, it's time for "the most wonderful time of the year" (Kevin Savetz in ANTIC) again!

 

This year's BASIC Tenliners Contest is starting now!

The rules changed slightly: now every 8 bit computer platform is allowed and every basic dialect is also allowed (but the authors may help us running their programs on an emulator). For details please look at the contest site: http://gkanold.wix.c...iners-2016/c450

 



#2 Savetz OFFLINE  

Savetz

    Dragonstomper

  • 829 posts
  • Location:Portland OR

Posted Mon Jan 18, 2016 3:42 AM

Cabbage - A Text Adventure In 10 Lines Of Turbo BASIC XL By Kevin Savetz
Get all items north across the river in your boat, which only fits 1 item at a time.
Commands are: INVENTORY, NORTH, SOUTH, GET <ITEM>, DROP <ITEM>

 

Screenshot 2016-01-18 01.35.53.png

Attached File  CABBAGE.atr   90.02KB   176 downloads

 



#3 Savetz OFFLINE  

Savetz

    Dragonstomper

  • 829 posts
  • Location:Portland OR

Posted Mon Jan 18, 2016 3:50 AM

Also, I found a bug in TBXL 1.5: certain long program lines crash it (lock up, or fill the listing with junk)

 

Just entering any one of these lines guarantees a crash for me. Any hints on avoiding this?

 

15 RN(1,0)=1:RN(1,1)=10:RN(2,0)=11:RN(2,1)=20:IN$="WolfGoatCabbage":IN(1,1)=1:IN(1,2)=4:IN(2,1)=5:IN(2,2)=8:IN(3,1)=9
 
15 RN(1,0)=1:RN(1,1)=10:RN(2,0)=11:RN(2,1)=20:IN$="WolfGoatCabbage":IN(1,1)=1:IN(1,2)=4:IN(2,1)=5:IN(2,2)=8
 
10DIMA$(20),B$(1),RN$(20),RN(2,2),IN$(100),IN(3,2),IL(3),EX(2,4):EX(1,1)=2:EX(2,2)=1:H=3:IN(2,2)=8:IN(3,1)=9:RN(1,0)=1


#4 Rybags ONLINE  

Rybags

    Quadrunner

  • 15,216 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Mon Jan 18, 2016 4:05 AM

Maybe define a variable for 0. e.g. 15 Z=0 : RN(1,Z)=1 ...

 

I'm not aware of a bug list for TBXL, might be worth a look around for one.  The old Atari Basic move bug would manifest during program entry as well.  A workaround is to change the order a bit or make the line different so as to not use the same amount of memory.



#5 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 12,744 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Mon Jan 18, 2016 4:54 AM

Use built-in constants (%0-%3) for 0-3.

#6 pirx OFFLINE  

pirx

    Moonsweeper

  • 377 posts
  • Location:Poland

Posted Mon Jan 18, 2016 4:55 AM

Hi Savetz,

This is quite annoying indeed. I suppose the tokenizer goes awry with too many bytes in line. Using %0 -- %3 in place of 0 - 3 helps a lot. For higher integers you can try using hex (10 A=$4), it takes more bytes though. The reason why it works better is "%1" takes much less bytes than "1" in a tokenized line.

Too bad it takes more characters than just "1", so it is not good for "PUR" categories. 

 

This exact problem was my reason to scribble TBXL tokenizer. But mine is nothing in comparison to dmsc http://atariage.com/...xl#entry3352277. Go for it and destroy the contest this year :] 



#7 slx OFFLINE  

slx

    Stargunner

  • 1,180 posts
  • Location:Vienna, Austria

Posted Mon Jan 18, 2016 4:46 PM

Unfortunately length is limited by characters entered rather than tokenized lines so the %1 saving doesn't help but means an extra character.


Gesendet von meinem iPhone mit Tapatalk

#8 Savetz OFFLINE  

Savetz

    Dragonstomper

  • 829 posts
  • Location:Portland OR

Posted Mon Jan 18, 2016 6:43 PM

I did a little write-up about CABBAGE, explaining the code line by line (not that it's that complicated.)

http://atariaction.t...6191122/cabbage



#9 pirx OFFLINE  

pirx

    Moonsweeper

  • 377 posts
  • Location:Poland

Posted Tue Jan 19, 2016 3:15 AM

Unfortunately length is limited by characters entered rather than tokenized lines so the %1 saving doesn't help but means an extra character.

Yes, but it helps when TBXL generates broken lines - this is obviously a bug in TBXL.

 

Anyway, dmsc tool is the answer to this problem.


Edited by pirx, Tue Jan 19, 2016 3:18 AM.


#10 Bunsen OFFLINE  

Bunsen

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 847 posts
  • Location:Dithmarschen/ Germany

Posted Sat Jan 23, 2016 1:39 PM

I've received 6 Tenliners until now. 5 for C64 and only 1 for Atari...

 

http://gkanold.wix.c...list-2016/c1jdt



#11 snicklin OFFLINE  

snicklin

    River Patroller

  • 2,066 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Sun Jan 24, 2016 1:23 AM

Could it be that new ideas are becoming harder to come by?



#12 therealbountybob OFFLINE  

therealbountybob

    Quadrunner

  • 7,427 posts
  • High Score Club - Post a score already
  • Location:Approaching "Space Fortress Omega"

Posted Sun Jan 24, 2016 5:18 AM

I've just sent in Gravity X a ten liner version of Gravity... Go ATARI :D

 

 

p.s. Just completed Cabbge, first time I dropped everything on the north shore, big mistake! Nice example of some of Turbo BASIC's string handling :thumbsup:



#13 Bunsen OFFLINE  

Bunsen

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 847 posts
  • Location:Dithmarschen/ Germany

Posted Sun Jan 24, 2016 1:11 PM

I've just sent in Gravity X a ten liner version of Gravity... Go ATARI :D

 

 

Per snail mail? :grin:

 

It hasn't reached me.



#14 therealbountybob OFFLINE  

therealbountybob

    Quadrunner

  • 7,427 posts
  • High Score Club - Post a score already
  • Location:Approaching "Space Fortress Omega"

Posted Sun Jan 24, 2016 5:40 PM

 

Per snail mail? :grin:

 

It hasn't reached me.

oops - from Yahoo to software at abbuc . de - I've just forwarded it on to you!

 

Instructions: press fire!



#15 vitoco OFFLINE  

vitoco

    Chopper Commander

  • 214 posts

Posted Sun Jan 24, 2016 10:34 PM

I've just sent "Fleas!", a small game for Atari XL/XE written in TurboBASIC XL as an entry for the PUR-120 category.



#16 Bunsen OFFLINE  

Bunsen

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 847 posts
  • Location:Dithmarschen/ Germany

Posted Mon Jan 25, 2016 7:50 AM

oops - from Yahoo to software at abbuc . de - I've just forwarded it on to you!

 

Instructions: press fire!

Now I got it :-). The abbuc adress leads to Sascha.



#17 Savetz OFFLINE  

Savetz

    Dragonstomper

  • 829 posts
  • Location:Portland OR

Posted Mon Jan 25, 2016 10:14 AM

In previous years, people submitted their entries on this thread, now it seems less open, emailing them instead. C'mon people, show your entries!



#18 atari2600land ONLINE  

atari2600land

    Waffles:

  • 10,842 posts
  • Man's best invention. Ever.
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Mon Jan 25, 2016 12:06 PM

I'm writing something but it may be done before by someone else. What are the links to previous competitions?



#19 therealbountybob OFFLINE  

therealbountybob

    Quadrunner

  • 7,427 posts
  • High Score Club - Post a score already
  • Location:Approaching "Space Fortress Omega"

Posted Mon Jan 25, 2016 12:11 PM

In previous years, people submitted their entries on this thread, now it seems less open, emailing them instead. C'mon people, show your entries!

I think it's nice that the people going to the event get to see them first - might encourage more to go ;)



#20 atari2600land ONLINE  

atari2600land

    Waffles:

  • 10,842 posts
  • Man's best invention. Ever.
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Mon Jan 25, 2016 1:15 PM

Also, I forgot how to make a .atr rom. Can someone post directions on how to do that with Atari800WinPlus?



#21 Bunsen OFFLINE  

Bunsen

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 847 posts
  • Location:Dithmarschen/ Germany

Posted Mon Jan 25, 2016 2:32 PM

Also, I forgot how to make a .atr rom. Can someone post directions on how to do that with Atari800WinPlus?

 

Do you want to program in Turbo BASIC XL or in ATARI BASIC?

 

Take this atr from archive.org: https://archive.org/...rowski_Frank_a2

 

You can also use it if you want to program in ATARI BASIC. Then you only have to mount it and make a cold boot (Cold Reset).

If you want to use Turbo, you have to go to DOS with typing in "DOS" in the editor and then pressing "L" and entering "TURBOBAS.COM".



#22 atari2600land ONLINE  

atari2600land

    Waffles:

  • 10,842 posts
  • Man's best invention. Ever.
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Mon Jan 25, 2016 2:51 PM

I'm programming using Turbo Basic. Don't I have to save my program to the "computer" first?



#23 vitoco OFFLINE  

vitoco

    Chopper Commander

  • 214 posts

Posted Mon Jan 25, 2016 5:51 PM

I'm programming using Turbo Basic. Don't I have to save my program to the "computer" first?

 

If you are using TurboBASIC XL, you are already using an ATR image in the emulator. You can SAVE (or LIST) your program to that disk, or you can do it over a new disk. In ATARI80WinPLus you can "create" a new disk using the the Drive Selection popup. Activate it using Alt-D, then create a Single Density disk, naming it as the ATR you want. Then you have to mount it as drive D2: and format it using DOS from the same disk you've already booted.

 

Hope this helps...

 

I think it's nice that the people going to the event get to see them first - might encourage more to go ;)

 

I agree... The screenshots already published by Bunsen is enougth to give an idea of them. The rest should be a surprise!!!

 

....  or not? :?



#24 Savetz OFFLINE  

Savetz

    Dragonstomper

  • 829 posts
  • Location:Portland OR

Posted Mon Jan 25, 2016 6:14 PM

I disagree — I think positing code now can inspire and/or teach others before the end of the contest, encouraging other programmers to do more and better entries. You do what you want; I'm going to publicly post my programs and programming notes as I submit them. 



#25 devwebcl OFFLINE  

devwebcl

    Stargunner

  • 1,138 posts
  • Location:Chile

Posted Mon Jan 25, 2016 6:48 PM

Yup. Posting the code is a good idea.
Let's see if I code with enough spare time





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: BASIC Programming, Contest, Tenliners, Tenliner, NOMAM

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users