Jump to content

Photo

Flash ROM Cart


459 replies to this topic

#451 ralphb OFFLINE  

ralphb

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 569 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sun Jul 29, 2018 2:44 AM

Yes, that HEX is the latest version (there is only one), and the HEX is the final result of all those crazy steps.

 

You'll also find it in the repository: https://github.com/endlos99/flashrom99/blob/master/avr/flashrom.hex (use "Raw", then save)



#452 ColorComputerStore OFFLINE  

ColorComputerStore

    Chopper Commander

  • 119 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Fri Aug 3, 2018 6:22 AM

I completed the build of my FLASH ROM cart and tested it. The results was the machine's LED didn't light up and the TI just booted to its regular screen.
 
OH NOOOOOOOO! I need some expert help to understand what could be wrong.
 
First, I want to share my board front and back. See attachments. I made the boards with the GIT gerbers. All solder joints look correct. I believe I purchased all the right components with the right specs. Only component I wasn't sure about was the tactile switch. I wasn't sure which orientation it should be in. I also placed some paper under the board and above the SD Card to separate them. Although I did solder the tactile switch from above and not at the bottom of the board.  Is my board the issue?
 
I obtained the HEX file (flashrom.hex) to program the ATMega from this message thread. Not sure if there is a download link for a newer version? Is my HEX version the issue? I used a TL866A to program the HEX file. I used the photo that CosmicBoy posted as a reference for my settings. See the difference in the attachment.
 
I noticed was that he was programming a ATMEGA8515 and I was programming a ATMEGA8515L. I bought the 'L' version. Is that the issue?
 
When I loaded the HEX file, I was given the option to load the file format as BINARY or Intel HEX. I picked HEX. The File Start Addr(Hex) and TO Buffer Start Addr (HEX) were left as 00000. That brought up an error message 'Out of Address of the device!'. I didn't think about it much so just clicked OK and proceeded. The program said it was successful.
 
The SD Card has about 12 games on it. All in BIN format and all under 32K. I got them from an archive someone here posted with about 171 programs.
 
To recap...
I inserted the board. Turned on the TI. It went to its normal boot screen. The board's LED never came on.
I am praying that the issue is just a bad programming of the ATMega8515.
I appreciate everyone's help as this will be more first adventure with TI software if I can get it working.
 
Thanks,
 
Carlos

Attached Files


Edited by ColorComputerStore, Fri Aug 3, 2018 6:24 AM.


#453 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,610 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Fri Aug 3, 2018 4:04 PM

I completed the build of my FLASH ROM cart and tested it. The results was the machine's LED didn't light up and the TI just booted to its regular screen.
 
OH NOOOOOOOO! I need some expert help to understand what could be wrong.
 
First, I want to share my board front and back. See attachments. I made the boards with the GIT gerbers. All solder joints look correct. I believe I purchased all the right components with the right specs. Only component I wasn't sure about was the tactile switch. I wasn't sure which orientation it should be in. I also placed some paper under the board and above the SD Card to separate them. Although I did solder the tactile switch from above and not at the bottom of the board.  Is my board the issue?
 
I obtained the HEX file (flashrom.hex) to program the ATMega from this message thread. Not sure if there is a download link for a newer version? Is my HEX version the issue? I used a TL866A to program the HEX file. I used the photo that CosmicBoy posted as a reference for my settings. See the difference in the attachment.
 
I noticed was that he was programming a ATMEGA8515 and I was programming a ATMEGA8515L. I bought the 'L' version. Is that the issue?
 
When I loaded the HEX file, I was given the option to load the file format as BINARY or Intel HEX. I picked HEX. The File Start Addr(Hex) and TO Buffer Start Addr (HEX) were left as 00000. That brought up an error message 'Out of Address of the device!'. I didn't think about it much so just clicked OK and proceeded. The program said it was successful.
 
The SD Card has about 12 games on it. All in BIN format and all under 32K. I got them from an archive someone here posted with about 171 programs.
 
To recap...
I inserted the board. Turned on the TI. It went to its normal boot screen. The board's LED never came on.
I am praying that the issue is just a bad programming of the ATMega8515.
I appreciate everyone's help as this will be more first adventure with TI software if I can get it working.
 
Thanks,
 
Carlos

With those socketed front chips are you even able to insert the cartridge all the way?

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

#454 ColorComputerStore OFFLINE  

ColorComputerStore

    Chopper Commander

  • 119 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Fri Aug 3, 2018 7:41 PM

It's tight, but yes, it slides in.

#455 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,610 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Fri Aug 3, 2018 7:48 PM

It's tight, but yes, it slides in.

With the cases i sell i had to solder those in to fit.

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

#456 ColorComputerStore OFFLINE  

ColorComputerStore

    Chopper Commander

  • 119 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Sat Aug 4, 2018 5:09 PM

Right now, the lowest priority is the height of the ICs due to the sockets. This was just a test board. Anyone, one the topic of troubleshooting...

 

Someone over on Facebook mentioned latter TIs were tweaked so that only Final GROM board will work. As I tested my board on a beige TI, I thought that might by the issue.

 

Alas, even on a Silver TI it failed to operate. Any other advice? I think one concern was in the ATMega version I used and the settings on my programmer. As mentioned, my programmer did throw up an error.

 

Is the original designer of this board still active on AtariAge?

 

Cheers



#457 Shift838 OFFLINE  

Shift838

    River Patroller

  • 2,413 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Deer Park, Texas

Posted Sat Aug 4, 2018 8:36 PM

Right now, the lowest priority is the height of the ICs due to the sockets. This was just a test board. Anyone, one the topic of troubleshooting...

 

Someone over on Facebook mentioned latter TIs were tweaked so that only Final GROM board will work. As I tested my board on a beige TI, I thought that might by the issue.

 

Alas, even on a Silver TI it failed to operate. Any other advice? I think one concern was in the ATMega version I used and the settings on my programmer. As mentioned, my programmer did throw up an error.

 

Is the original designer of this board still active on AtariAge?

 

Cheers

 

It very well could be the ATMega chip, especially if you threw an error on programming.  Ralph is active on this board (Ralphb).  He was just online a few days ago.  Send him a PM



#458 ralphb OFFLINE  

ralphb

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 569 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sun Aug 5, 2018 2:55 AM

First of all, I would try using the cart without shell.

 

For the LED, could you try to put it the other way around?  I seem to remember that I had labeled or designed it the wrong way around.  But I might be mistaken, as everything looks alright now.  If the LED still doesn't work, there is some basic problem with the HEX file, or your power supply.  Have you checked that everything gets 5V?

 

For the ATmega, I think people used the "L" version successfully.  Nominally, the non-L can run faster, but I only run it at 8 MHz, which both can handle.



#459 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • 2,874 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Sun Aug 5, 2018 4:09 AM

When I loaded the HEX file, I was given the option to load the file format as BINARY or Intel HEX. I picked HEX. The File Start Addr(Hex) and TO Buffer Start Addr (HEX) were left as 00000. That brought up an error message 'Out of Address of the device!'. I didn't think about it much so just clicked OK and proceeded. The program said it was successful.

 

I would retry that step and try go get rid of that error message.



#460 ColorComputerStore OFFLINE  

ColorComputerStore

    Chopper Commander

  • 119 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Sun Aug 5, 2018 9:29 AM

Good news peeps... Working with a noted CoCo community engineer, he was able to walk me through it. Board was fine. Issue was programming MCU. Thanks all.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users