Jump to content

Photo

Jumpman hacking


53 replies to this topic

#1 Savetz OFFLINE  

Savetz

    Dragonstomper

  • 784 posts
  • Location:Portland OR

Posted Wed May 4, 2016 10:13 PM

Rob of the Player/Missile podcast and I have been using his awesome Omnivore binary editor to reverse engineer Jumpman. We're slowly figuring things out, and writing a detailed document (26 pages and counting) that we will eventually release. 

 

 

In the mean time, I thought I'd share some things.

 

Here are the three Mystery Maze levels with the mystery removed (screenshots and playable ATR files)

 

Attached File  less mysterious.atr   23.17KB   110 downloadsAttached File  less mysterious 3.atr   23.17KB   102 downloadsAttached File  less mysterious 2.atr   23.17KB   99 downloads

Screenshot 2016-05-04 21.00.56.png

Screenshot 2016-05-04 21.01.31.png

Screenshot 2016-05-04 21.01.55.png

 

 



#2 Savetz OFFLINE  

Savetz

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 784 posts
  • Location:Portland OR

Posted Wed May 4, 2016 10:23 PM

Here's a work-in-progress, the idea could be the basis for something when we create a set of new levels.

 

Attached File  not what it seems.atr   23.17KB   171 downloads

 



#3 Grover Torbel OFFLINE  

Grover Torbel

    Space Invader

  • 34 posts

Posted Wed May 4, 2016 10:51 PM

It's great to see Jumpman getting some love. This is definitely one of the classics on the 8-bit Atari computers.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#4 firebottle OFFLINE  

firebottle

    Space Invader

  • 24 posts

Posted Thu May 5, 2016 10:28 AM

Tried these disk images in Altirra... they load until sector 186 then you hear a scratch noise and the screen turns a red color. Doesn't matter what OS or model I use. Tried Altirra 2.50, 2.70, latest beta.

 

But using Atari800Win 4.0... they work fine.



#5 playermissile OFFLINE  

playermissile

    Chopper Commander

  • 217 posts

Posted Thu May 5, 2016 10:44 AM

We went with the ATR image because of problems with Atari800MacX. I used the kboot header to turn an XEX into an ATR, so if you strip off the first 3 sectors, you'll get an XEX.

 

I'm also working on writing my own boot loader to replace the kboot header because I can't figure out, and it's given me problems, too.


Edited by playermissile, Thu May 5, 2016 10:52 AM.


#6 tschak909 ONLINE  

tschak909

    Stargunner

  • 1,650 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Thu May 5, 2016 10:08 PM

Here's a work-in-progress, the idea could be the basis for something when we create a set of new levels.

 

attachicon.gifnot what it seems.atr

 

 

HOLY CRAP!!!!!!! :)

 

-Thom



#7 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    River Patroller

  • 4,774 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Fri May 6, 2016 2:58 AM

Well done Kevin, Jumpman is one of the games that sometimes gets overlooked because of the simple graphics yet there's a devil of a game underneath, in fact I have 3 games I still play on a weekly basis, Jumpman, Spelunker and Fractulas.



#8 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    River Patroller

  • 4,774 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Fri May 6, 2016 6:09 AM

Got the same issue loading in Altirra, write enabled the disks etc etc no joy, any chance of posting the XEX files please..



#9 Tempest OFFLINE  

Tempest

    Monochrome Martinet

  • 25,903 posts
  • Location:Accardi-By-The-Sea

Posted Fri May 6, 2016 8:15 AM

Can this be used with Jumpman Jr. as well?  I've always wondered how many variations there are for Blackout (I think two, but who knows?)



#10 Savetz OFFLINE  

Savetz

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 784 posts
  • Location:Portland OR

Posted Fri May 6, 2016 8:36 AM

Can this be used with Jumpman Jr. as well?  I've always wondered how many variations there are for Blackout (I think two, but who knows?)

 

 

Jumpman Jr. uses a level descriptor which is kind of similar but seems optimized to save space. And all the memory locations are different.

 

So the answer for now is that Rob and I intend to go down that rabbit hole, but that's a project for the future. We'll also mulling the possibility of porting the levels that were unique to the C64. By "we" I mean Rob, because I can't code :)

 

-Kevin



#11 Atari_Ace OFFLINE  

Atari_Ace

    Star Raider

  • 88 posts
  • https://ksquiggle.neocities.org/
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted Fri May 6, 2016 9:58 AM

Got the same issue loading in Altirra, write enabled the disks etc etc no joy, any chance of posting the XEX files please..

 

As requested...

Attached Files



#12 Xuel OFFLINE  

Xuel

    Dragonstomper

  • 600 posts
  • Location:US

Posted Fri May 6, 2016 10:30 AM

Fixed ATRs with padding added to the end to avoid sector not found errors in K loader:

Attached File  less mysterious fixed.atr   23.29KB   103 downloads
Attached File  less mysterious 2 fixed.atr   23.29KB   87 downloads
Attached File  less mysterious 3 fixed.atr   23.29KB   93 downloads
Attached File  not what it seems fixed.atr   23.29KB   87 downloads

XEXs:

Attached File  less mysterious.xex   22.78KB   102 downloads
Attached File  less mysterious 2.xex   22.78KB   94 downloads
Attached File  less mysterious 3.xex   22.78KB   92 downloads
Attached File  not what it seems.xex   22.78KB   102 downloads

Edited by Xuel, Fri May 6, 2016 10:31 AM.


#13 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    River Patroller

  • 4,774 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Fri May 6, 2016 11:05 AM

Thanks People...Appreciated!



#14 Savetz OFFLINE  

Savetz

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 784 posts
  • Location:Portland OR

Posted Fri May 6, 2016 12:35 PM

No, YOU'VE always wanted to play the demo level.

 

The rocket and other baddies in the Jumpman demo screen aren't included here. So I made it aggressive with bullets to compensate :)

 

Attached File  Play The Demo.atr   23.27KB   100 downloads

Screenshot 2016-05-06 11.32.10.png



#15 Savetz OFFLINE  

Savetz

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 784 posts
  • Location:Portland OR

Posted Fri May 6, 2016 10:52 PM

Hi.

 

Here's the first new Jumpman level in 33 years.

Attached File  Jumpman_welcomeback.atr   23.27KB   121 downloads

Screenshot 2016-05-06 21.51.37.png

 

-Kevin



#16 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    River Patroller

  • 4,774 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Sat May 7, 2016 5:21 AM

Very nice Kevin, looking forward to the hacking guide and don't forget to ask Randy / Randall why he stopped the windows version he was doing?



#17 Farb OFFLINE  

Farb

    Moonsweeper

  • 465 posts
  • Location:Colorado, USA

Posted Sat May 7, 2016 11:03 PM

Wow, nice work! This is one of my favorite games of all time.

I have to ask, does anyone have a trick for using the far left "up" rope in the first Mystery Maze screenshot? I die every time I try to use it


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

#18 Savetz OFFLINE  

Savetz

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 784 posts
  • Location:Portland OR

Posted Sat May 7, 2016 11:41 PM

I have to ask, does anyone have a trick for using the far left "up" rope in the first Mystery Maze screenshot? I die every time I try to use it

 

I have no problem using that rope.



#19 therealbountybob OFFLINE  

therealbountybob

    Quadrunner

  • 7,214 posts
  • High Score Club New Season Starting
  • Location:Join in!

Posted Sun May 8, 2016 8:26 AM

Hi.

 

Here's the first new Jumpman level in 33 years.


-Kevin

After losing a man I had the ring appear in the gap right of the first platform and couldn't reach it. After you are out you can't restart?

 

I'm enjoying playing these, you know everyone is hoping we on for a new game one day :)



#20 Savetz OFFLINE  

Savetz

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 784 posts
  • Location:Portland OR

Posted Sun May 8, 2016 9:03 AM

After losing a man I had the ring appear in the gap right of the first platform and couldn't reach it. After you are out you can't restart?

 

I'm enjoying playing these, you know everyone is hoping we on for a new game one day :)

 

 

The second bomb can be reached.

 

But you're correct, it's currently not possible to restart the level once you're out of lives. Rob is working on fixing that in the level tester.

 

Kevin


Edited by Savetz, Sun May 8, 2016 9:03 AM.


#21 tcdev OFFLINE  

tcdev

    Star Raider

  • 99 posts
  • Location:Sydney, Australia

Posted Mon May 9, 2016 12:02 AM

Good to hear you guys are reverse-engineering the original. I've been thinking about porting an Atari 8-bit game to the TRS-80 Coco3, and Jumpman was a definite candidate. A commented disassembly might just seal the deal! ;)



#22 eegad OFFLINE  

eegad

    Moonsweeper

  • 301 posts
  • Location:New Jersey

Posted Mon May 9, 2016 3:07 PM

I think it's great that you guys are making some new levels for Jumpman! I LOVED this game back in the day. I think because it was kind of "plain" looking, and didn't have any cool background music playing throughout, that it didn't get the love it deserved. But as far as the old style platforming type games, it was one of the best to play, in my opinion. Mostly because it was somewhat forgiving, and fair....you didn't always have to hit the platform pixel-perfect. If you landed near the edge, Jumpman would just smoothly walk up onto the girder. Great game.

 

Haven't played it lately, but I'd like to throw out one request/suggestion. Any chance you could hack a version where you could select the starting level? From what I recall, you could choose beginner, which starts on level 1, intermediate which starts on level (9?), or expert which starts on level (20-ish?). I always wanted to just be able to select whichever level I wanted to play (and I hang my head in shame if there was always a way to do this, but I never figured it out!).



#23 playermissile OFFLINE  

playermissile

    Chopper Commander

  • 217 posts

Posted Mon May 9, 2016 3:44 PM

Haven't played it lately, but I'd like to throw out one request/suggestion. Any chance you could hack a version where you could select the starting level? From what I recall, you could choose beginner, which starts on level 1, intermediate which starts on level (9?), or expert which starts on level (20-ish?). I always wanted to just be able to select whichever level I wanted to play (and I hang my head in shame if there was always a way to do this, but I never figured it out!).

 

Funny you should ask... This week, Kevin and I will release a version of the game that will allow you to practice any level. I've just got to finish up the code for the new menu, and it will be ready to go.



#24 bbking67 OFFLINE  

bbking67

    Moonsweeper

  • 493 posts
  • Location:Osgoode, ON, Canada

Posted Mon May 9, 2016 5:20 PM

We need a construction set!



#25 Farb OFFLINE  

Farb

    Moonsweeper

  • 465 posts
  • Location:Colorado, USA

Posted Mon May 9, 2016 7:16 PM

I have no problem using that rope.

 

 

I figured out the problem... I was performing the jump onto the rope and then not moving the joystick. It looks like you have to move right onto the rope once you land on it or you fall.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users