Jump to content

Photo

FlashROM 99 & FinalGROM 99 - Image Repository -- (6/13/2018)

FlashROM99 TI-99/4A BIN

1092 replies to this topic

#1026 FDOS OFFLINE  

FDOS

    Chopper Commander

  • 178 posts

Posted Mon Mar 12, 2018 4:34 PM

 

Hmmm.  I see phm3035C.BIN and phm3035G.BIN in the tools folder, but I am not seeing TEII in the FG99 menu.  I've tried moving these to their own folder at the root of the flash card, and the folder is empty in the FG99 menu

 

I do see Terminal Emulator (one) in the menu structure.  Does it have a label that's something other than 'Terminal Emulator II'?

 

Thanks!

I just went back and checked again.  Both TE I & TE II are in the TOOLS folder, and both load quickly and work.  PHM3035C,BIN + PHM3035G.BIN constitute the Terminal Emulator II module.  I also verified the FinalGROM99.ZIP included those two files, and the image-list.txt file is dated 2017-07-10.



#1027 sixsevenco OFFLINE  

sixsevenco

    Star Raider

  • 51 posts

Posted Mon Mar 12, 2018 4:37 PM

I just went back and checked again.  Both TE I & TE II are in the TOOLS folder, and both load quickly and work.  PHM3035C,BIN + PHM3035G.BIN constitute the Terminal Emulator II module.  I also verified the FinalGROM99.ZIP included those two files, and the image-list.txt file is dated 2017-07-10.

 

Thanks for responding.  I agree.  I see those files in the zip file and on my flash card.  It's just not loading in the menu in FG99 for me.



#1028 FDOS OFFLINE  

FDOS

    Chopper Commander

  • 178 posts

Posted Mon Mar 12, 2018 4:40 PM

I would like to know how to convert GramKracker module files to FinalGROM99 format.  Is there a documented procedure to do this?



#1029 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,338 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Mon Mar 12, 2018 4:46 PM

If anyone can convert EA5 files to a format accepted with FR99 here's Lunar Mission in it's latest updated state.  I won't be updating for a good while now, other projects are on the horizon icon_smile.gif

 

attachicon.giflunarmission.zip

 

attached.. 

 

Greg

Attached Files



#1030 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,338 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Mon Mar 12, 2018 4:47 PM

I would like to know how to convert GramKracker module files to FinalGROM99 format.  Is there a documented procedure to do this?

 

strip any header, rename the rom files to C D etc.. concatenate the Grom files under G file and put file in directory? you'd think there'd be instructions in v9t9

 

Greg



#1031 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,338 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Mon Mar 12, 2018 4:47 PM

 

Thanks for responding.  I agree.  I see those files in the zip file and on my flash card.  It's just not loading in the menu in FG99 for me.

 

how many items are in the folder you have them in?  If it's a big number, consider moving some there's a limit to the menu read the finalgrom99 webpage (google it if you dont have it bookmarked) the limit is listed there

 

Greg



#1032 Schmitzi OFFLINE  

Schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 4,303 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon Mar 12, 2018 5:04 PM

FlashROM 99 limit is 171 files on SD, in the root directory.

FinalGROM 99 I don´t know about  limit (but maybe there is because of the TI´s menu), and it supports subdirs



#1033 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,338 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Mon Mar 12, 2018 5:25 PM

FlashROM 99 limit is 171 files on SD, in the root directory.

FinalGROM 99 I don´t know about  limit (but maybe there is because of the TI´s menu), and it supports subdirs

 

Each folder, including the root folder, may contain up to 171 images or folders. (Strictly speaking, it is 171 entries and folders, as one image can have more than one entry.)

 

my google-fu is stronger than yours :)

 

Greg



#1034 sixsevenco OFFLINE  

sixsevenco

    Star Raider

  • 51 posts

Posted Mon Mar 12, 2018 6:28 PM

I think i have a problem.  I've reformatted my SD card (fat 32), I created a folder called TOOLS and placed both PHM3035C,BIN and PHM3035G.BIN in that folder.  The FG99 LED would blink 4 times when I would startup.  I didn't look up that error code, but I guessed it was to indicate "no files found".  I then created a GAMES folder and loaded Donkey Kong and Dig Dug.  FG would load and I would see the GAMES and TOOLS folders, but TOOLS is empty...

 

Any suggestions?



#1035 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • Topic Starter
  • 12,063 posts
  • Location:워싱턴 주

Posted Mon Mar 12, 2018 6:31 PM

Love it in my cartridge, but DAMN it's hard... or I really suck, dunno which one... yet!



#1036 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,338 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Mon Mar 12, 2018 8:04 PM

I think i have a problem.  I've reformatted my SD card (fat 32), I created a folder called TOOLS and placed both PHM3035C,BIN and PHM3035G.BIN in that folder.  The FG99 LED would blink 4 times when I would startup.  I didn't look up that error code, but I guessed it was to indicate "no files found".  I then created a GAMES folder and loaded Donkey Kong and Dig Dug.  FG would load and I would see the GAMES and TOOLS folders, but TOOLS is empty...

 

Any suggestions?

 

put them in the root directory.. also are you getting the files from the zip on ftp.whtech.com? or somewhere else?

 

Greg



#1037 sixsevenco OFFLINE  

sixsevenco

    Star Raider

  • 51 posts

Posted Mon Mar 12, 2018 8:39 PM

 

put them in the root directory.. also are you getting the files from the zip on ftp.whtech.com? or somewhere else?

 

Greg

 

Thank you for helping.  I have copied PHM3035C.BIN, PHM3035G.BIN, PHM3112C.BIN, and PHM3112G.BIN to the root of my SD card.  There are no other files or folders on the card.  I got the files from http://ftp.whtech.com. When I start up, I only see Parsec in the FG99 menu.


Edited by sixsevenco, Mon Mar 12, 2018 8:39 PM.


#1038 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,338 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Mon Mar 12, 2018 9:05 PM

Do you have another card to try

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

#1039 sixsevenco OFFLINE  

sixsevenco

    Star Raider

  • 51 posts

Posted Mon Mar 12, 2018 9:16 PM

Do you have another card to try

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

I've tried three cards...



#1040 sometimes99er OFFLINE  

sometimes99er

    River Patroller

  • 4,113 posts

Posted Tue Mar 13, 2018 1:55 AM

Here's Donkey Kong with unlimited lives.
    


  
The change in one of the 8K binaries is two bytes. Again removing subtraction from remaining lives. This time a DEC *R1 instruction is replaced with a NOP.

  



#1041 sometimes99er OFFLINE  

sometimes99er

    River Patroller

  • 4,113 posts

Posted Tue Mar 13, 2018 3:15 AM

Screenshots.

  



#1042 Schmitzi OFFLINE  

Schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 4,303 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Tue Mar 13, 2018 4:38 AM

wow coool. Is it for FlashROM 99 too ?

(and how about the other "unlimited´s" ?)



#1043 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,619 posts

Posted Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:48 AM

He has to find the part of the code in each module that decrements the lives and set it to "0" instead of "1" which is a bit of a hunt sometimes. . .so this can be a slow, but fruitful process. I'm glad for the three Sometimes has already done.



#1044 Torrax OFFLINE  

Torrax

    Chopper Commander

  • 111 posts

Posted Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:55 AM

Parsec graphics hack from several years back.

 

Attached Files



#1045 sometimes99er OFFLINE  

sometimes99er

    River Patroller

  • 4,113 posts

Posted Tue Mar 13, 2018 8:12 AM

wow coool. Is it for FlashROM 99 too ?

(and how about the other "unlimited´s" ?)

  

Centipede and Defender should work. Hopefully Donkey Kong works on both FlashROM and FinalGROM. Let me know if there are problems.



#1046 sometimes99er OFFLINE  

sometimes99er

    River Patroller

  • 4,113 posts

Posted Tue Mar 13, 2018 9:01 AM

Depending upon what kind of hacks you want, there are some color and graphics changes for games like Car Wars and TI Invaders floating around the forum, as well.

  

Here's a link to the Car Wars hack.
 
http://atariage.com/...s/topic/214377-



#1047 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • Topic Starter
  • 12,063 posts
  • Location:워싱턴 주

Posted Tue Mar 13, 2018 10:11 AM

I'll update the list when I get a chance to verify them all later today or tomorrow.

 

It might be worth noting that a name change needs to occur.  I had to rename the CNN/Parsec to get it to run, I did not test CarWars under the original name, but I changed it to 'carwarsg' and it worked fine, but I'm not having any luck with two part Donkey Kong game. How do I get it to run correctly?



#1048 FDOS OFFLINE  

FDOS

    Chopper Commander

  • 178 posts

Posted Tue Mar 13, 2018 10:28 AM

 

strip any header, rename the rom files to C D etc.. concatenate the Grom files under G file and put file in directory? you'd think there'd be instructions in v9t9

 

Greg

I'll give it a try, but this brings up another question?  I'm mostly dealing with GramKracker GRAM/GROM files, so many are over 5 files long, as they often include ROM/RAM files for XB or SuperCart/SuperSpace (2 or 4 files of 8K each).  In the case of XB+EA, they're the first 2 files, but I don't know about the others.  Any idea as how to convert and concatenate them to FG99?  Are you referring to an AtariAge V9T9 topic?


Edited by FDOS, Tue Mar 13, 2018 10:32 AM.


#1049 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • Topic Starter
  • 12,063 posts
  • Location:워싱턴 주

Posted Tue Mar 13, 2018 10:43 AM

  

Hopefully Donkey Kong works on both FlashROM and FinalGROM. Let me know if there are problems.

 

I'm unable to get Donkey Kong to run on my FinalGROM.  Does it need to be renamed to something special?  Did you test it on R.I. and it's just me having a problem?



#1050 digdugnate OFFLINE  

digdugnate

    Stargunner

  • 1,373 posts

Posted Tue Mar 13, 2018 1:22 PM

 

I'm unable to get Donkey Kong to run on my FinalGROM.  Does it need to be renamed to something special?  Did you test it on R.I. and it's just me having a problem?

 

I already had my system up, so i tested it out- it works just fine on my real-iron TI and FG99 cart.

 

You do have to use the 'left' joystick.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: FlashROM99, TI-99/4A, BIN

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users