IGNORED

Convert .com or .rom to .xex or .exe?

Using my SIO2PC and 130XE, I fired up the dump of XE Crystal Castles from Fandal's site and for some reason, there are no sound effects and the nutcracker tune has completely wrong notes. No other game I've tried has this problem. Rather than try to hunt down another .xex file on the web, are there any utilities out there that can take any file format and convert it to .xex?

Reminds me of a similar problem I was having with a Dig Dug executable, which turned out to be a POKEY initialization issue.

I looked at that thread, but I'm not clear what the solution is, or if there is one. I was really looking forward to playing Crystal Castles XE. That cart rarely turns up and goes for way more than I'm willing to spend.

Please have patience with me. I'm a novice with this stuff. I jumped feet first into A8bit hardware after loving A8winplus.

Edited by zetastrike

I added a quick Pokey init routine. Let me know if this works.

I just tried it Bryan and it's exhibiting the same problem as the original. It's very similar to what was happening with Dig Dug: one or more voices aren't playing correctly, or at all, at times. With the music it sounds like at least one voice is not playing, and during game play (most likely the same voice) just makes a soft fluttering type of sound (the voice used for the "gathering the gems" sound effect).

I used to have a standard wrapper that I'd add to Rom dumps as a load segment, it backed up the top 1K which allows the cart copy to survive a Reset.

Such a thing could be recreated easily enough. The trick with appending the Rom would be to know whether or not it has the header info for emulation which we'd need to throw out. Probably easiest to just load the entire image, if it's an exact 1K multiple for filesize then you know there's no header to deal with.

Yeah, fix2 seems to be working right.

Cool.