IGNORED

Help, Apple IIe disk drive won't boot; reads continuously with red light on

Retro STrife

Hey guys. I'm new to the Apple II and having some trouble with my IIe. I'm wondering if someone here might recognize the problem and be able to help. It involves the disk drive reading continuously with the red light on, and never going off, but without booting up the game.

First some background... I bought an Apple IIe, with monitor and two A9M0107 disk drives, on Craigslist a couple months back. I bought it to replay the games I grew up with in my elementary school computer class. So, in general, I don't know much of anything about classic computers from the pre-Windows era. (Since I'm not tech savvy with these, please keep that in mind with any advice.)

So, besides the monitor and disk drive, I have nothing else connected. For the past couple months, I have had the computer downstairs in my house, and it has worked perfectly. No issues at all. The last game I played was a copied Oregon Trail disk that someone made for me using ADTPro and FTP ASIMOV. That was about a week ago. And it played perfectly fine.

Then a few days ago, I disconnected everything and moved it upstairs and reconnected it. While moving it, I wasn't rough with it and nothing unusual happened. After moving it, I went a few days without using it.