Jump to content

Photo

New development: GTIA in CPLD


708 replies to this topic

#1 Simius OFFLINE  

Simius

    Moonsweeper

  • 432 posts
  • Location:Warszawa, Poland

Posted Fri Nov 4, 2016 3:24 PM

The new CPLD solution is already working. Features:

  • Standard RGB output
  • Sharp, clean image
  • True 256 colors
  • 16 luminance levels available in all graphics modes.
  • Two colors in hi-resolution graphics
  • P/M colissions, trigger inputs and consol keys are supported by the old chip.

The tests takes some time. The decision on the mass production depends on the interest.

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_0211.JPG

Edited by Simius, Fri Nov 4, 2016 3:30 PM.


#2 TXG/MNX OFFLINE  

TXG/MNX

    River Patroller

  • 3,611 posts

Posted Fri Nov 4, 2016 3:25 PM

I am interested in a few

#3 TXG/MNX OFFLINE  

TXG/MNX

    River Patroller

  • 3,611 posts

Posted Fri Nov 4, 2016 3:27 PM

Will gr.11 be fixed or are these the final specs?

#4 Brentarian OFFLINE  

Brentarian

    Moonsweeper

  • 264 posts
  • Location:Columbus, Georgia USA

Posted Fri Nov 4, 2016 3:30 PM

Interested depending on price.

#5 ndary OFFLINE  

ndary

    Moonsweeper

  • 444 posts
  • Location:Israel

Posted Fri Nov 4, 2016 3:33 PM

I am Interested

#6 Firedawg OFFLINE  

Firedawg

    Moonsweeper

  • 382 posts
  • Location:Atlanta, GA

Posted Fri Nov 4, 2016 3:37 PM

I'm interested as well!



#7 Simius OFFLINE  

Simius

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 432 posts
  • Location:Warszawa, Poland

Posted Fri Nov 4, 2016 3:37 PM

A lapse. GR.11 is ok, but it is one luminance graphics. One of 16.



#8 Simius OFFLINE  

Simius

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 432 posts
  • Location:Warszawa, Poland

Posted Fri Nov 4, 2016 3:41 PM

Are the typical TVs in the US equipped with the RGB inputs or the component (YPbPr) only?



#9 Brentarian OFFLINE  

Brentarian

    Moonsweeper

  • 264 posts
  • Location:Columbus, Georgia USA

Posted Fri Nov 4, 2016 3:52 PM

Are the typical TVs in the US equipped with the RGB inputs or the component (YPbPr) only?


I'm sure there are some high end TV's that support RGB, but the most I've seen have HDMI, YPbPr, composite, and sometimes VGA.

#10 ApolloBoy OFFLINE  

ApolloBoy

    Quadrunner

  • 5,664 posts
  • Location:San Jose, CA

Posted Fri Nov 4, 2016 4:24 PM

I'm sure there are some high end TV's that support RGB, but the most I've seen have HDMI, YPbPr, composite, and sometimes VGA.

There's also professional monitors like the Sony PVM and BVM series, and you also have upscalers like the Framemeister that can take RGB and output HDMI.

And let be known that I am *very* interested in this. If you want someone to test this in a 5200 that can be arranged...

Edited by ApolloBoy, Fri Nov 4, 2016 4:27 PM.


#11 mickcris OFFLINE  

mickcris

    Moonsweeper

  • 471 posts
  • Location:Texas

Posted Fri Nov 4, 2016 4:29 PM

I would be interested if it works in a 5200 also. :)



#12 MrFish OFFLINE  

MrFish

    River Patroller

  • 3,923 posts
  • Location:1010-1010

Posted Fri Nov 4, 2016 4:43 PM

Demo/video?



#13 Lilralphie OFFLINE  

Lilralphie

    Space Invader

  • 23 posts

Posted Fri Nov 4, 2016 4:48 PM

Yes - I'm curious as well - would this work with a 5200?



#14 mytekcontrols ONLINE  

mytekcontrols

    Stargunner

  • 1,851 posts
  • Location:Santa Rosa, CA

Posted Fri Nov 4, 2016 4:49 PM

Wow this sure came out of left field  :-o!!! Didn't see that one coming. Not a bad thing, but definitely a surprise.

 

So yes, how much will this cost?

 

- Michael



#15 CharlieChaplin OFFLINE  

CharlieChaplin

    River Patroller

  • 2,492 posts

Posted Fri Nov 4, 2016 5:41 PM

"The decision on the mass production depends on the interest."

 

And interest depends on price...   ;-)

 

Besides, does Gr. 10 (normally 9 colours, 8 luminances) also have 16 luminances then?



#16 rdea6 OFFLINE  

rdea6

    River Patroller

  • 2,539 posts
  • Location:Arizona USA

Posted Fri Nov 4, 2016 5:47 PM

Interested for 800XL..

 

Maybe 130XE not sure..



#17 R6502A OFFLINE  

R6502A

    Star Raider

  • 70 posts
  • Location:London

Posted Fri Nov 4, 2016 6:37 PM

I'm interested.



#18 orange808 OFFLINE  

orange808

    Space Invader

  • 15 posts

Posted Fri Nov 4, 2016 6:45 PM

Interested.



#19 David_P OFFLINE  

David_P

    Dragonstomper

  • 789 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Fri Nov 4, 2016 7:30 PM

Does it co-exist nicely with 130XE style banking?



#20 Stephen OFFLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 6,252 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:Akron, Ohio

Posted Fri Nov 4, 2016 8:02 PM

Interested - very interested.



#21 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Quadrunner

  • 14,971 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Fri Nov 4, 2016 8:08 PM

Nice - is the low bit capability for palettes selectable on/off like VBXE ?  Also I assume GTIA bugs and quirks are reproduced, e.g. persistent PM via size change trick and multicolour mode when PRIOR is changed from GTIA back to normal on a hires line.

 

I have to agree though, Component video would be way more desirably than RGB.  16 KHz RGB monitors are just a rarity where Component is almost universal on modern TVs.

 

Another nice addition would be the ability to half shift Gr. 10 pixels to the left so they match other modes.  This is one of those mystery things that is rumoured to be possible on normal hardware but not yet verified.



#22 ProWizard OFFLINE  

ProWizard

    River Patroller

  • 4,443 posts
  • Into Stampede
  • Location:In the cattle!

Posted Sat Nov 5, 2016 2:29 AM

Will atari monitor output (comp video) also have benefit? IS there also comp.video output on pcb?

It sounds awesome.

#23 ApolloBoy OFFLINE  

ApolloBoy

    Quadrunner

  • 5,664 posts
  • Location:San Jose, CA

Posted Sat Nov 5, 2016 2:47 AM

IS there also comp.video output on pcb?

That seems pointless considering most A8s already have composite video available on their monitor ports.

#24 ebiguy OFFLINE  

ebiguy

    Star Raider

  • 99 posts
  • Location:Paris, France

Posted Sat Nov 5, 2016 3:32 AM

Maybe a stupid question but will it work in SECAM computers ?

 

In any case, Im am nterested also for several ones



#25 Simius OFFLINE  

Simius

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 432 posts
  • Location:Warszawa, Poland

Posted Sat Nov 5, 2016 4:32 AM

@ApolloBoy, Mickcris, Lilralphie

There is no reason not work in 5200, since it is originally equipped with GTIA, but I'll try to remove the doubt.

@Mytekcontrols, CharlieChaplin

I'm not sure, but I suppose about US$50-60.

@CharlieChaplin

All color registers are eight-bit, so yes, GR.10 also have 16 luminances.

@David_P

Of course.

@Rybags

1. No, the least significant bit of luminance isn't on/off, athough could be if you can propose a proper, free bit in some GTIA register.
2. I don't know but if you can point some test program, I can check it out.
3. There is no problem with the positioning GTIA-mode pixels relative to hi-res graphics. As above - give a test.

@Ebigui

It isn't a stupid question. It will work, but the pinout of GTIA is different than FGTIA and there are significant differences in the TRIGs inputs handling, so different CPLD firmware and an adapter (or another PCB version) would be needed.
 






1 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users