Jump to content

Photo

Aardvark for Atari VCS/2600


58 replies to this topic

#51 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • 22,365 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany

Posted Tue Jan 24, 2017 9:55 AM

In the video, the player is pretty skilled, but at a certain level the arcade game abruptly becomes impossible to him. IMO that would be bad design for a homebrew.

 

For me a homebrew should make some differences compared to arcade especially when to comes to difficulty ramp up. The homebrew version should allow long play sessions, the difficulty ramp up should be graduate and fair. There should be no impossible difficulties, instead the player should always have the impression that with a bit more training and skill the next level is manageable.



#52 imstarryeyed OFFLINE  

imstarryeyed

    Moonsweeper

  • 257 posts

Posted Tue Jan 24, 2017 11:44 AM

Oh wow I love that game in the arcade, I am looking forward to seeing it on the 2600.

 

On that note I think this game would make a great 7800 or Colecovision game too, I could only imagine the game with the Super Game Module Plus with the great music!



#53 Kosmic Stardust OFFLINE  

Kosmic Stardust

    Princess Rescuer

  • 14,284 posts
  • Location:Milky Way Galaxy

Posted Tue Jan 24, 2017 5:05 PM

Responding to something from earlier:

 

 

Spider management is an important part of late game strategy.  The spider doesn't kill you until it reaches the tip of your tongue (traveling from the base), and is cleared from the screen when you eat a Queen Ant like all the other bugs (it immediately respawns from its starting point).  The appearance of the spider is by no means the end of your game.

 

That was me. :)  I know about the Queen Ants and how to use them as part of the strategy.

 

But have a look at this video. Here you can see:

  • around hill #15, the spider arrives very soon and the player hardly makes any significant score progress anymore
  • around hill #20, the sun starts at the very left, so there is zero chance to clear the screen

This may have been acceptable for an Arcade, where long plays were not wanted. But for a homebrew, the game shouldn't become unfair.

 

Hill 15 is a very advanced level in the arcade, let alone 20.

 

I make no judgement on the difficulty of a homebrew game over an arcade game.  I think the game should probably have the same difficulty advancement in both versions.  Anyway, it's hard enough to write homebrew without imposing additional game design standards besides.

 

In the video, the player is pretty skilled, but at a certain level the arcade game abruptly becomes impossible to him. IMO that would be bad design for a homebrew.

 

For me a homebrew should make some differences compared to arcade especially when to comes to difficulty ramp up. The homebrew version should allow long play sessions, the difficulty ramp up should be graduate and fair. There should be no impossible difficulties, instead the player should always have the impression that with a bit more training and skill the next level is manageable.

 

If this change takes place at a difficulty level that few players will ever reach, it's pretty much a moot point. Apparently there are ways to dodge the Spider so it doesn't necessarily mean you've hit a "kill screen" event. Normally when I play an arcade game, or a quality port of an arcade game, I feel very privileged if I make it past the third or fourth stage. For instance very rarely do I ever make it to the second intermission of Pacman on the real arcade, or ports where you cannot select the starting fruit. It doesn't hurt my enjoyment of the game at all that I can't make it to the ninth key where the power pellets stop working, much less the first.



#54 nanochess OFFLINE  

nanochess

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,631 posts
  • Coding something good
  • Location:Mexico, Mexico

Posted Thu Jan 26, 2017 12:57 PM

The above links to the single player version of the tool.

This version is the one I used for the dragon in Medieval Mayhem, it uses both players for a two-color image.

Do note that's still using my old graphics.h file where the binary notation is done using _ for 0 and X for 1. To convert to standard binary do a find/replace of:

  • zz/%
  • _/0
  • X/1

Let me know if you plan to use the two-color converter and I'll update it to use standard binary notation.

 

A few minutes ago I tried it, not even one sample worked :?



#55 SpiceWare ONLINE  

SpiceWare

    Quadrunner

  • 11,061 posts
  • Medieval Mayhem
  • Location:Planet Houston

Posted Thu Jan 26, 2017 1:36 PM

A few minutes ago I tried it, not even one sample worked :?

 
Looks like my hosting site updated PHP again.  Whenever they do that the PHP setting, found in the php.ini file, that allows a URL to be used as a file gets turned off:
allow_url_fopen = off
 
I just changed it to this and it's working again:
allow_url_fopen = on


#56 nanochess OFFLINE  

nanochess

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,631 posts
  • Coding something good
  • Location:Mexico, Mexico

Posted Sat May 27, 2017 1:21 PM

I've received a gift from Tarzilla, he sent me an Atari Flashback Portable with one condition: make Aardvark to work on it.

It took me two days but today finally I've managed to achieve it :) it results the AFP crashes if the display kernel has a bank switch! I've moved all display code to a single bank.

In a related note, Space Raid works just fine in the AFP.

Attached Files



#57 StanJr OFFLINE  

StanJr

    Web-slinger

  • 14,873 posts
  • fun or bust
  • Location:Louisville KY

Posted Sat May 27, 2017 8:23 PM

Is this headed for a cart release, because I would really like for it to...

 

:spidey:



#58 Arenafoot OFFLINE  

Arenafoot

    Dragonstomper

  • 693 posts
  • videogamestores.net/
  • Location:Watson, LA

Posted Sun May 28, 2017 10:28 AM

I've received a gift from Tarzilla, he sent me an Atari Flashback Portable with one condition: make Aardvark to work on it.

It took me two days but today finally I've managed to achieve it :) it results the AFP crashes if the display kernel has a bank switch! I've moved all display code to a single bank.

In a related note, Space Raid works just fine in the AFP.

is ver8 the AFP version?



#59 nanochess OFFLINE  

nanochess

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,631 posts
  • Coding something good
  • Location:Mexico, Mexico

Posted Sun May 28, 2017 10:29 AM

is ver8 the AFP version?


That's right :)




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users