IGNORED

Just bought an 800xl - What is this mod?

BuckoA51

Hi, I'm new to Atari 8 bit computers having grown up with C64 and Spectrums. I recently bought a bargain 800XL from eBay (yes, miracles do sometimes happen). I don't have any software yet but I was able to get the machine into self test mode (what a cool feature!) and it passes just fine.

There seems to be some after-market mod on the system, can anyone tell me what it's for? Here's a picture of it:-

32196087342_dfb6ae164f.jpgIMG_0922 by videogameperfection, on Flickr

There's three switches at the back. I tried flipping them but all that seems to happen is the machine boots to a blank screen.

Does anyone have any idea what this might be? My intention with the machine is to RGB mod it using Lotharek's VBXE board and probably add a flash cart of some description too. Hopefully whatever this is won't interfere with that!

Thanks in advance for any help

Well, Atari computers with built-in BASIC have BASIC on by default and it has to be turned off while booting by holding down the OPTION key to load non-basic software (auto load thank God, none of that typing in like on the C64).

The middle switch I'll let someone else take a crack at, even though I think I know, but not sure (OK, my guess is alternate ram and OS configuration).

The last switch could be a lock out for power or something else, not sure really.

Edited by Gunstar

It's best when you first get something like this that has been modded, that you open it up and check for loose connections/chips. About half the time any problems you have are caused by that. The other half the time is that it's not malfunctioning you just know what it's supposed to be doing, so you think it's bad. :grin:

Of course the other half the time there is something wrong. :(

• Like 1

All right, lets go exploring! So first of all lifting the lid on the Atari

32219344902_d6f759ebd4.jpgIMG_1243 by videogameperfection, on Flickr