Jump to content

Photo

Iron Soldier 2 WIP


13 replies to this topic

#1 Fredifredo OFFLINE  

Fredifredo

    Moonsweeper

  • 499 posts
  • Location:France , 85

Posted Wed Mar 1, 2017 9:14 AM

Hi !

I found an old rom on my computer, I create it ( in 2004 ) from files come from Eclipse Software mails to Atari Corp.
it's Iron Soldier 1.45 ( 1995 )

If someone can test it ?

Attached Files



#2 ls650 OFFLINE  

ls650

    Quadrunner

  • 7,202 posts
  • Atari rocks!
  • Location:British Columbia

Posted Wed Mar 1, 2017 9:27 AM

I'll try to check it out with my Skunk board in the next day...

#3 madman OFFLINE  

madman

    River Patroller

  • 2,798 posts
  • Location:127.0.0.1

Posted Wed Mar 1, 2017 10:15 AM

Boots to a stage select in virtual jag, starting any stage basically crashes it, you see the mech and then that's that.



#4 nicolaspersijn OFFLINE  

nicolaspersijn

    Star Raider

  • 65 posts
  • Location:Saarland Germany (DOD Overseas)

Posted Wed Mar 1, 2017 1:26 PM

Works great split and burned to 2 m27c160s and thrown into a standard socketed 2 chip pcb. All 16 levels boot no problem. Some screen garbage, quick mech portrait then I'm in. Super fun actually. Unlimited ammo as far as I can tell and all weapons available.

#5 nicolaspersijn OFFLINE  

nicolaspersijn

    Star Raider

  • 65 posts
  • Location:Saarland Germany (DOD Overseas)

Posted Wed Mar 1, 2017 1:26 PM

Works great split and burned to 2 m27c160s and thrown into a standard socketed 2 chip pcb. All 16 levels boot no problem. Some screen garbage, quick mech portrait then I'm in. Super fun actually. Unlimited ammo as far as I can tell and all weapons available.

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_1403.JPG


#6 nicolaspersijn OFFLINE  

nicolaspersijn

    Star Raider

  • 65 posts
  • Location:Saarland Germany (DOD Overseas)

Posted Wed Mar 1, 2017 1:31 PM

Sorry for the multipost

#7 ls650 OFFLINE  

ls650

    Quadrunner

  • 7,202 posts
  • Atari rocks!
  • Location:British Columbia

Posted Wed Mar 1, 2017 3:41 PM

How does this differ from IS1 or IS2?  New missions, etc?



#8 lachoneus OFFLINE  

lachoneus

    Chopper Commander

  • 229 posts
  • Location:Utah, USA

Posted Wed Mar 1, 2017 4:06 PM

Here is a video captured off of the Jag with a Skunk.  Not thorough.  Covers gameplay on a few levels for a few minutes.  Afterwards, a quick pass through each level.

 

 

Looks like it could be an in between IS1 and IS2.  It has been a while since I have played IS2 though.  Compared to IS1 there are different buildings, at least 1 different enemy on one of the levels, and textures all over the place.  Targeting for the missiles and grenade launcher.  Some of the levels have some missed placed textures that look like brown ground, but you aren't able to walk on it which leads me to believe they meant to put the water texture in those places.

 

Again, I would need to compare to IS1 and IS2 again, but I believe most of the levels generally are from IS1, but my brother ways saying there might be one from IS2?  It seemed a bit faster than IS1, but there was no music playing, and there could have been some code optimizations between the finals of IS1 nd IS2.

 

Anyways, fun find if it wasn't already available elsewhere.



#9 PeterG OFFLINE  

PeterG

    Dragonstomper

  • 875 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Wed Mar 1, 2017 4:19 PM

Cool, thank you. Will have to check it out. It is one of my favorite games. Great find. If only that racing/combat game would show up Marc Rosocha talked about when presenting IS2 in Düsseldorf...but first I'm very thankful for this. ;-)

 

Edit: From the Video it looks like IS1 trying out the new ground textures found in IS2 and also new weapons already.


Edited by PeterG, Wed Mar 1, 2017 4:22 PM.


#10 PeterG OFFLINE  

PeterG

    Dragonstomper

  • 875 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Wed Mar 1, 2017 5:32 PM

Hi !

I found an old rom on my computer, I create it ( in 2004 ) from files come from Eclipse Software mails to Atari Corp.
it's Iron Soldier 1.45 ( 1995 )

If someone can test it ?

Fredifredo, do you still have those mails also? Might make for an interesting read. I know only two which are on the Atari HQ CD where they pitch their textured ground demo for something similar as Blue Lightning...



#11 Fredifredo OFFLINE  

Fredifredo

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 499 posts
  • Location:France , 85

Posted Wed Mar 1, 2017 11:03 PM

it comes from the B&C CD !

"To: Sean Patten / Atari Corp.

From: Marc Rosocha
Eclipse Software
Versmolder Str. 41
33790 Halle (Westf.)
Germany
Phone +49 5201 16989
Fax 6441

Subj: Iron Soldier II V 1.45

Date: June 20, 1995


The disk contains the actual IS2 version and the mission pictures.

Load is2.bat to start the game.
Load mpic.bat to see the pictures.


Weapon: The mech is equipped with the new weapons, we didn't change the
range of the homing missile so far.

To see the mines, favs and transport planes look at level 5.


Known bugs: - The collision definitions are very preliminary.
- The right hand textures of the enemy mech (Level 1)
are not correct.
- Some buildings have bad clipping settings.


Regards,
Marc"

#12 PeterG OFFLINE  

PeterG

    Dragonstomper

  • 875 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Fri Mar 3, 2017 8:55 AM

Works great split and burned to 2 m27c160s and thrown into a standard socketed 2 chip pcb. All 16 levels boot no problem. Some screen garbage, quick mech portrait then I'm in. Super fun actually. Unlimited ammo as far as I can tell and all weapons available.

 

How do you access all the levels? I played around with it and the boot up is the same garbage, portrait and it starts with level 5 Road Block which can be seen in the video above. I could not finish that level in any way other than pressing * or #. Button * gives you a screen message saying "Player dead", pressing # prompts the message "You made it" aside from that nothing else so how do you enter the other 15 levels?

 

In any case thanks again Fredifredo neat "inbetween" find...



#13 madman OFFLINE  

madman

    River Patroller

  • 2,798 posts
  • Location:127.0.0.1

Posted Fri Mar 3, 2017 9:14 AM

How do you access all the levels? I played around with it and the boot up is the same garbage, portrait and it starts with level 5 Road Block which can be seen in the video above. I could not finish that level in any way other than pressing * or #. Button * gives you a screen message saying "Player dead", pressing # prompts the message "You made it" aside from that nothing else so how do you enter the other 15 levels?

Using the D-pad.



#14 PeterG OFFLINE  

PeterG

    Dragonstomper

  • 875 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Fri Mar 3, 2017 11:53 AM

Using the D-pad.

Haha alright, thanks, did not think of a level select at the start. Thought it would go into level 5 either way. Doh ;-)






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users