Jump to content

Photo

Is my game fried?


25 replies to this topic

#1 kennetzel OFFLINE  

kennetzel

    Chopper Commander

  • 171 posts
  • Location:Buffalo, NY

Posted Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:30 PM

A while back I purchased a heavy sixer on eBay that was advertised as working. And when it arrived, it did work fine. But one day when my wife was playing it, she suddenly got three green lines down the right side of the screen and it then went black. Now no cartridges work at all on it, it's just a black screen. Is the unit fried, or is there a fix for it? I would appreciate any help. Thanks.



#2 save2600 OFFLINE  

save2600

    Quadrunner

  • 13,757 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin

Posted Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:34 PM

Component maybe fried? Shouldnt be a bad wall wart (power adapter) since you're getting voltage to the unit. Cartridges should be clean too if you don't already make it a habit. 

#3 -^CrožBow^- OFFLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    River Patroller

  • 4,832 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Thu Mar 16, 2017 2:56 PM

Sounds to me like if she was playing it...how long did she play it for? 

 

Cause I'm leaning on a bad 7805 on this...or the power supply itself.



#4 kennetzel OFFLINE  

kennetzel

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 171 posts
  • Location:Buffalo, NY

Posted Thu Mar 16, 2017 3:20 PM

She was playing it for about an hour when it happened. I went back to it a few days later and I couldn't get it to work.



#5 -^CrožBow^- OFFLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    River Patroller

  • 4,832 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Thu Mar 16, 2017 3:31 PM

Likely the power supply then. Especially if you just get a black screen when powering it on. I would try and get a replacement power supply or wall wart for the Atari first and see if anything changes from there.



#6 chas10e OFFLINE  

chas10e

    Dragonstomper

  • 685 posts

Posted Thu Mar 16, 2017 3:33 PM

I'm with trying to clean the carts first. http://atariage.com/...cartridges.html( us 91% rubbing alcohol ) 

 

certainly can be other things ... this guy assembled a parts kit , with a pic of "the 7805" in question ;)  http://atariage.com/...kits/?p=3693862

 

if power supply went bad I would think screen would go to no-input snow like in Poltergeist :P 



#7 -^CrožBow^- OFFLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    River Patroller

  • 4,832 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Thu Mar 16, 2017 4:00 PM

Not if he is playing on a CRT it wouldn't.

 

I had several 2600s that I thought were dead as they would give me snow, then I would flip on power and get just a black screen and nothing. Found out that 3 "dead 2600s" were due to me actually testing by using a "dead wall wart". The fact it was working fine and then suddenly went to the three lines and then nothing since after about an hour of use... the power supply could get hot enough that if something in there was on its last legs that could be enough to take it out.

 

We don't know the full story on this either as there could have been a power surge or something they aren't ware of that could have happened.

 

If the carts were dirty...then you would normally at least get colored lines with a single tone playing when you flip on the power. I've even had actual bad carts that no cleaning could bring back to life, that would at least give me colored bars when powering on the atari.

 

Troubleshooting anything with electronics follows the ASAP rule:

 

Always Start At Power

 

I say replace the wall wart and see what you get. Never hurts to have a spare one anyway.

 

As for reconditioning kits for the 2600....I get mine here:

 

https://console5.com...capacitors.html


Edited by -^CrožBow^-, Thu Mar 16, 2017 4:03 PM.


#8 DrVenkman ONLINE  

DrVenkman

    Stargunner

  • 1,813 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Thu Mar 16, 2017 5:51 PM

I'm with "Crossbow" (*) - start with the wall wart. In fact, before I ordered another one I'd check the one I have with a multi-meter. If you don't have a cheap multimeter, you really have no business owning and playing with 30+ year old hardware, or so it seems to me. :)

​Anyway, if the wall wart isn't the problem, my next guesses would be a dead 7805 voltage regulator inside, or a dead capacaitor. You'll have to open it up to check those components. A visual examine will show you if there's anything obviously wrong like a burst or leaking capacitor. If you don't see a cap that's obviously defective, here's where the multimeter comes in again - checking the output of the voltage regulator will tell you if you need to investigate further. If the voltage regulator is good and you don't see any leaking caps, it might be best to send the unit to a professional unless you're comfortable with a soldering iron. You'll have start testing individual components, possibly swapping chips, desoldering capacitors, etc. 

 

(*) Not gonna try to type that string of characters.. :) 


Edited by DrVenkman, Thu Mar 16, 2017 5:52 PM.


#9 kennetzel OFFLINE  

kennetzel

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 171 posts
  • Location:Buffalo, NY

Posted Fri Mar 17, 2017 4:36 AM

Is there a business that fixes these things I can send it to. My mechanical aptitude is poor. I wouldn't know where to start on replacing the power supply or the "wall wart" on this thing. I don't even know what a wall wart is. And would it be an expensive repair. Being a heavy sixer would be great if it worked...so would it be worth fixing.



#10 -^CrožBow^- OFFLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    River Patroller

  • 4,832 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Fri Mar 17, 2017 7:39 AM

All 2600 systems are worth fixing!!! LOL. The Wall Wart is the black box transformer you plug into the wall and then connect to the atari for power. The power supply is what we are talking about. They are also known as wall warts because of the big blocky casing that plugs into the wall I guess looks like a "wart" on the wall.

 

Anyway, give your skill level on this, I would try and find a replacement power adapter, wall wart, whatever you want to call it first and go from there. There are several people in these forums you could send it to and have it get repaired. The H-sixers are usually a little easier to repair since a good bulk of their IC chips are in sockets and everything has plenty of room to work in there.

 

I'v ordered and used a few of these on systems I've given away at my retro gaming event in the past and to other friends etc. that need replacements.

 

https://console5.com...ed-systems.html


Edited by -^CrožBow^-, Fri Mar 17, 2017 7:42 AM.


#11 kennetzel OFFLINE  

kennetzel

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 171 posts
  • Location:Buffalo, NY

Posted Fri Mar 17, 2017 8:10 AM

Oh...the power adapter is fine. I had a darth vader Atari and plugged it into the same power adapter and it works fine. I think it is something internal.



#12 -^CrožBow^- OFFLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    River Patroller

  • 4,832 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Fri Mar 17, 2017 11:24 AM

I think I had a bad TIA or RIOT chip cause this similar condition as well once. Can't remember which, but if you are sure the power adapter is good, then the next thing is to make sure the the 7805 voltage regulator inside is outputting the proper +5 or near +5 volts that it should be to the rest of the system. Again, the fact that it was working fine for about an hour or so and then just quits to nothing isn't usually a result of a dirty cartridge. I'm not familiar with the Buffalo area so I honestly don't know anyone near you that might be able to look at it. I've had sent to me from my neighboring states to get up and running, but I'm sure there has to be someone closer to you that it would be cheaper on shipping...etc.



#13 kennetzel OFFLINE  

kennetzel

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 171 posts
  • Location:Buffalo, NY

Posted Sat Mar 18, 2017 9:59 AM

I did my best to search my area and came up with nothing. It looks like nobody here works on Atari's. Looks like I'm SOL.



#14 kennetzel OFFLINE  

kennetzel

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 171 posts
  • Location:Buffalo, NY

Posted Sat Mar 18, 2017 10:14 PM

I was hoping that maybe someone on the message board had experience in fixing these consoles and would take it and fix it. Anyone here do this in their spare time?



#15 Keatah ONLINE  

Keatah

    Quadrunner

  • 16,921 posts

Posted Sat Mar 18, 2017 10:34 PM

I used to do a little bit of it. I limit my work to Apple II because of time, and it's the platform I know most.

 

I'm sure someone will come along and offer free repairs for cost of shipping and parts. This is a hobby to us, and some of us like the challenge of fixing these things up.



#16 AtariLeaf OFFLINE  

AtariLeaf

    Quadrunner

  • 9,854 posts
  • Location:Ontario Canada

Posted Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:15 AM

I was hoping that maybe someone on the message board had experience in fixing these consoles and would take it and fix it. Anyone here do this in their spare time?

 

Try sending a PM to mojoatomic. He has a ton of technical knowledge. He's kind of an Atari-whisperer. 



#17 DrVenkman ONLINE  

DrVenkman

    Stargunner

  • 1,813 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Sun Mar 19, 2017 7:46 AM

What's stopping you from taking it apart and fixing it yourself? These systems aren't very complicated and anyone can work on them if they're patient and take their time. Spend a hundred bucks on a decent soldering iron, watch some Youtube videos and teach yourself. You'll get a lot of satisfaction, learn a lot, and then you'll be able to take care of problems that might arise in the future.



#18 kennetzel OFFLINE  

kennetzel

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 171 posts
  • Location:Buffalo, NY

Posted Sun Mar 19, 2017 9:06 AM

What's stopping you from taking it apart and fixing it yourself? These systems aren't very complicated and anyone can work on them if they're patient and take their time. Spend a hundred bucks on a decent soldering iron, watch some Youtube videos and teach yourself. You'll get a lot of satisfaction, learn a lot, and then you'll be able to take care of problems that might arise in the future.

 

I thought about it. I have fixed a lot of stuff over the years and it probably is not beyond my abilities. BUT...I don't even know what's wrong with it or where to start. I have a good soldering iron, a volt meter and the like, but I never fixed any circuit boards or anything before. My aptitude lies more in the mechanical, not electrical.



#19 DrVenkman ONLINE  

DrVenkman

    Stargunner

  • 1,813 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Sun Mar 19, 2017 9:19 AM

 

I thought about it. I have fixed a lot of stuff over the years and it probably is not beyond my abilities. BUT...I don't even know what's wrong with it or where to start. I have a good soldering iron, a volt meter and the like, but I never fixed any circuit boards or anything before. My aptitude lies more in the mechanical, not electrical.

 

All the more reason to unscrew the cover and take a look at it! :) The forums are full of posts about all manner of problems and what the cause turned out to be, and full of knowledgeable people happy to help walk you through troubleshooting and repairs. If you examine the bare board you can at least see if anything is obviously wrong like a burst or leaking capacitor, or test the voltage regulator to be sure its putting out the proper voltage. If the voltage regulator is good and none of the caps are leaking or swollen, you can try gently removing and reinserting the three main chips - sometimes the contacts oxidize over time and re-seating the chips restores good contact. 

 

Anyway, just suggestions. Even if you don't decide to work on it, please don't just get rid of it! Eventually you'll find someone who can repair it or you'll work up the nerve to do so yourself. :)



#20 Zonie OFFLINE  

Zonie

    Stargunner

  • 1,590 posts
  • Location:Arid-Zone

Posted Sun Mar 19, 2017 1:05 PM

Was it on the carpet when using it? Did any static shock zap one of the controller ports? If so, then the Hex Buffer is Fried. I don't remember what the symptom was, but static on a controller port will zap that. Had it happen twice to me when I was a kid. My heavy now has a socketed Hex Buffer Chip...



#21 kennetzel OFFLINE  

kennetzel

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 171 posts
  • Location:Buffalo, NY

Posted Sun Mar 19, 2017 4:24 PM

No...it was on a small table in the basement rec room. It happened during play...nothing was touched or switched during play. It just stopped working.



#22 AtariLeaf OFFLINE  

AtariLeaf

    Quadrunner

  • 9,854 posts
  • Location:Ontario Canada

Posted Sun Mar 19, 2017 5:43 PM

Advertised on ebay as working. Always a crap shoot as to what people define as "working". I wonder if the machine had any work done. Any evidence that the machine has been opened? Perhaps the seller did something that temporarily fixed a dead system. I'm shooting in the dark here but when it comes to buying systems on ebay it's always a roll of the dice.



#23 kennetzel OFFLINE  

kennetzel

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 171 posts
  • Location:Buffalo, NY

Posted Wed Mar 22, 2017 1:27 AM

Well...I was just notified by Atari2600.com that their repair service has been discontinued. Now I'm stuck.



#24 -^CrožBow^- OFFLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    River Patroller

  • 4,832 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Wed Mar 22, 2017 7:33 AM

Well...I was just notified by Atari2600.com that their repair service has been discontinued. Now I'm stuck.

 

I would offer to look at it, but I'm half way across the country from where you are so it might end up costing quite a bit when you factor in shipping..etc.

 

It was also suggested that you send MojoAtomic a PM. He has been doing quite a bit of 2600 repairs and even some mods. He is more active about this on advertising on the AtariAge FB group, but he is a member here of course so shoot him a PM and see what you might be looking at in regards to costs.



#25 kennetzel OFFLINE  

kennetzel

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 171 posts
  • Location:Buffalo, NY

Posted Wed Mar 22, 2017 8:12 AM

 

I would offer to look at it, but I'm half way across the country from where you are so it might end up costing quite a bit when you factor in shipping..etc.

 

It was also suggested that you send MojoAtomic a PM. He has been doing quite a bit of 2600 repairs and even some mods. He is more active about this on advertising on the AtariAge FB group, but he is a member here of course so shoot him a PM and see what you might be looking at in regards to costs.

 

Thanks for the advice.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users