Jump to content

Photo

Planetary Defence 2012

HSC

13 replies to this topic

#1 TheMontezuma OFFLINE  

TheMontezuma

    Dragonstomper

  • 678 posts
  • Location:Hildesheim, D / Kraków, PL

Posted Tue Apr 4, 2017 5:20 AM

I wondered if anybody has played the following version of the game Planetary Defence 2012

http://abbuc.de/~montezuma/pd2012.atr

 

and succesfully submited a Hi-Score with RespeQt (pre-release r4 RC1 or higher)?

https://github.com/T...eases/tag/r4rc2

 

Here is the leader board:

http://analog.klanky...php?game=PD2012

 

It contains one entry from 2016-11-26 and I wondered it is was submitted from a Colleen emulator or from a real ATARI...



#2 TheMontezuma OFFLINE  

TheMontezuma

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Hildesheim, D / Kraków, PL

Posted Tue Apr 4, 2017 8:14 AM

Would anybody take the challenge to enter the Hall of Fame (best 100 scores) of PD2012?

 

The player with the best score will win a SIO2BT in a 3D printed SIO plug and the deadline is Sunday, 9.4.2017 20:00 UTC time.

As a prove that you played on a real ATARI please upload a RespeQt screenshot (RespeQt shows in the log window the URL with submited hi-score).

 

Please do not cheat :)


Edited by TheMontezuma, Tue Apr 4, 2017 8:29 AM.

  • slx likes this

#3 greblus OFFLINE  

greblus

    Moonsweeper

  • 270 posts

Posted Wed Apr 5, 2017 11:43 AM

I wondered if anybody has played the following version of the game Planetary Defence 2012

http://abbuc.de/~montezuma/pd2012.atr

 

and succesfully submited a Hi-Score with RespeQt (pre-release r4 RC1 or higher)?

https://github.com/T...eases/tag/r4rc2

 

 

I remember that I cherry-picked URL submitting functionality from your repository of RespeQt to my Android port of AspeQt, but - shame on me - I haven't tested it till today :]. It seems to work through SIO2PC-USB. I've no idea why it's not working through SIO2BT (farts at me).

 

Great game! But I'm very lousy player, I'll have to practice a lot... 

Attached Thumbnails

  • pd2012.png

  • TheMontezuma likes this

#4 TheMontezuma OFFLINE  

TheMontezuma

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Hildesheim, D / Kraków, PL

Posted Wed Apr 5, 2017 1:21 PM

I almost got there (17900 points - only 200 were missing to be listed) and I can't move my left hand (responsible for fire button) anymore...

 

pd2012_monte.JPG

 

But my result doesn't count in the competition anyway :)

 

@Greblus

 

Btw. Have you also tried to play this game in a Colleen Emulator with enabled touch events?

Touch events do not work on my tablet correctly and I wondered if this was only my experience.

I comfort myself that the results in the Hi-Score list come from the emulator and it is much easier to play with the touch screen than with a joystick...

 


  • greblus likes this

#5 greblus OFFLINE  

greblus

    Moonsweeper

  • 270 posts

Posted Wed Apr 5, 2017 1:31 PM

 

Btw. Have you also tried to play this game in a Colleen Emulator with enabled touch events?

Touch events do not work on my tablet correctly and I wondered if this was only my experience.

I comfort myself that the results in the Hi-Score list come from the emulator and it is much easier to play with the touch screen than with a joystick...

 

 

I've just tried in Coleen emulator and "Touchscreen mode" doesn't work for me too (pointer moves to the left only).



#6 TheMontezuma OFFLINE  

TheMontezuma

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Hildesheim, D / Kraków, PL

Posted Sun Apr 9, 2017 12:41 PM

Nobody managed to get listed in a PD2012 Leader Board:

http://analog.klanky...php?game=PD2012

 

The competition is prolonged until 16.4.2017 19:00 UTC time.

 

You need just to be better than the last entry:

 

100 ROBBOZ 12 18100 ---

#7 Joey Z OFFLINE  

Joey Z

    Dragonstomper

  • 876 posts
  • Location:Hoffman Estates, IL

Posted Tue Apr 11, 2017 2:30 PM

A lot has happened on RespeQt since I was busy working on other things....

 

This is certainly an interesting feature, but I think we should discuss adding a checkbox to the option to disable it. (or has this already been done?) The last thing we would want is malicious software running on the Atari that is submitting things to a malicious URL. Seems unlikely, but I'd rather not give the NSA reasons to write Atari software :)


  • _The Doctor__ and DrVenkman like this

#8 TheMontezuma OFFLINE  

TheMontezuma

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Hildesheim, D / Kraków, PL

Posted Tue Apr 11, 2017 3:23 PM

A lot has happened on RespeQt since I was busy working on other things....

 

This is certainly an interesting feature, but I think we should discuss adding a checkbox to the option to disable it. (or has this already been done?) The last thing we would want is malicious software running on the Atari that is submitting things to a malicious URL. Seems unlikely, but I'd rather not give the NSA reasons to write Atari software :)

 

A checkbox can be added (not yet there).



#9 TheMontezuma OFFLINE  

TheMontezuma

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Hildesheim, D / Kraków, PL

Posted Wed Apr 12, 2017 1:58 AM

Would you prefer to have a checkbox to enable/disable emulation of the complete device with ID=$45 (APE TIME + URL SUBMIT) or only for that specific command (enable/disable URL SUBMIT)?



#10 Joey Z OFFLINE  

Joey Z

    Dragonstomper

  • 876 posts
  • Location:Hoffman Estates, IL

Posted Wed Apr 12, 2017 9:09 AM

Would you prefer to have a checkbox to enable/disable emulation of the complete device with ID=$45 (APE TIME + URL SUBMIT) or only for that specific command (enable/disable URL SUBMIT)?

I would say just the specific command. This is really a security thing, I guess. Maybe I'm being paranoid :D I don't even really care all that much, but someone else might.



#11 TheMontezuma OFFLINE  

TheMontezuma

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Hildesheim, D / Kraków, PL

Posted Wed Apr 12, 2017 1:53 PM

Maybe I'm being paranoid :D

 

No, you are not. This makes perfect sense to disable this feature per default.


  • _The Doctor__ likes this

#12 TheMontezuma OFFLINE  

TheMontezuma

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Hildesheim, D / Kraków, PL

Posted Sun Apr 16, 2017 12:18 PM

Nobody beat the last entry in the Hi-Score list.

The game isn't that hard, so I assume no great interest and... the competition is over without a winner :(



#13 w1k OFFLINE  

w1k

    Stargunner

  • 1,669 posts
  • Location:martin, slovakia

Posted Sun Apr 16, 2017 12:35 PM

omg



#14 gargoyle OFFLINE  

gargoyle

    Chopper Commander

  • 185 posts

Posted Wed Apr 19, 2017 3:32 PM

 The last thing we would want is malicious software running on the Atari that is submitting things to a malicious URL. Seems unlikely, but I'd rather not give the NSA reasons to write Atari software :)

 

Allen is desperately looking for a way to hack Atari 8 bits under the guise of creating an Atari archive..... LOL

http://comp.sys.atar...wanted-will-buy


Edited by gargoyle, Wed Apr 19, 2017 3:33 PM.




Reply to this topic



  



Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: HSC

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users