Jump to content

Photo

Lotharek drive for the TI

hardware

45 replies to this topic

#26 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    TI-Runner

  • 10,462 posts

Posted Tue May 23, 2017 10:05 AM

 

Dude, classic P.E. box is always horizontal! Bah. :)

 

 

I would guess that most people would probably agree with you, but I'm not gonna take poll! ;)

For me, I like the TI as a tower...

Attached Files



#27 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 2,490 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Tue May 23, 2017 11:21 AM

Okay, so I got my drive today. It hooked up and worked right out of the gate!

Some stuff:
- I left the config for generic Shugart, that works fine. Right?
- It turned out my old laptop had an SD card reader built in, very cool!
- Sadly, my Extended BASIC 2.7 suite cartridge doesn't work with a Corcomp FDC. It just beeps continuously. Probably an issue with it overriding the master title screen
- I got a nasty gap on the right side now. I would put a half height floppy in there but I don't have a cable that has both a 3.5 and a 5.25 connector so close and in the right orientation. Unless I can use one that has the twist?
- I got an external floppy case and power supply that I hooked up for a DSK3. It works great, although the Lotharek doesn't like it turned on first.

 

hold space on eb27 on power on it should avoid the autostart

Bob has replacement corcomp roms to fix that takeover if you are using a peb card

you can't use the twist.. need one with both connectors on all three spots thats what I've found works best



#28 adamantyr ONLINE  

adamantyr

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,148 posts

Posted Wed May 24, 2017 8:46 PM

Well damn it...

 

So I copy several converted HFE files to my SD card tonight, and now my Lotharek isn't working AT ALL! :( Every single one says "disk not initialized" in Disk Manager. Even one that was working two nights ago!

 

Anyone have any suggestions? The PDF for the drive is woefully unhelpful when it comes to troubleshooting.



#29 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    TI-Runner

  • 10,462 posts

Posted Wed May 24, 2017 8:59 PM

Well damn it...

Anyone have any suggestions? 

 

Did you press the little red button in the middle to select the image?



#30 adamantyr ONLINE  

adamantyr

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,148 posts

Posted Wed May 24, 2017 9:35 PM

I got it to work again... the disk cable came loose. it seems to come loose REALLY easily. :/ I just got it set back up in the drive nice and neat next to a half-height 5 1/4" drive and it must have gotten disconnected again. Sigh...

 

And now my push button on my P.E. Box is sticking. And the work on-call needed my help with something. It's one of those kind of nights...



#31 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    TI-Runner

  • 10,462 posts

Posted Wed May 24, 2017 9:47 PM

 

It's one of those kind of nights...

 

Dontcha just love all the time consuming re-do's?  We've all been there a time or two.  I'm glad you are back up and operational.



#32 adamantyr ONLINE  

adamantyr

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,148 posts

Posted Wed May 31, 2017 9:19 AM

Quick question... what jumper settings do I need on the Lotharek to make it emulate both DSK1 and DSK2?

 

I thought it was set up correctly but when I try and swap DSK2 to a different image it just changes DSK1... I didn't check to see what the default settings on the drive was.



#33 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 2,490 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Wed May 31, 2017 12:47 PM

http://iec.net/produ...-cable-adapter/



#34 adamantyr ONLINE  

adamantyr

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,148 posts

Posted Wed May 31, 2017 1:16 PM

I don't need a new cable or adapter, I need to know the correct jumper settings.



#35 schmitzi OFFLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,842 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Wed May 31, 2017 11:23 PM

This for DSK1 & DSK2:

 

Attached File  Lotharek-DIP-Switches-DSK1-&-DSK2.JPG   33.42KB   2 downloads



#36 schmitzi OFFLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,842 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Wed May 31, 2017 11:25 PM

And this for the "older" drive type:

 

Attached File  Lotharek-DIP-Switches-Old-Drive-DSK1&DSK2.JPG   61.86KB   3 downloads



#37 schmitzi OFFLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,842 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Wed May 31, 2017 11:28 PM

And don´t miss this hint from the manual :)

 

Attached File  Lotharek-DIP-Switches-Hint.JPG   37.08KB   3 downloads



#38 adamantyr ONLINE  

adamantyr

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,148 posts

Posted Thu Jul 13, 2017 10:18 AM

Hey all, follow up...

 

So is it everyone else's experience that the Corcomp FDC is really slow? I changed the jumpers on it to be the smallest MS timing, and it's still rather sluggish loading files.

 

Or am I just spoiled by Classic99's near instant speed? I'm now seriously regretting selling a spare TI FDC card, I would be curious to see if it was faster...

 

On that note, what FDC options do we have for the TI? I'd also like to be rid of that Corcomp 9900 controller screen...



#39 Tursi OFFLINE  

Tursi

    River Patroller

  • 4,767 posts
  • HarmlessLion
  • Location:BUR

Posted Thu Jul 13, 2017 11:53 AM

You're probably spoiled, the disk system is far, far slower than Classic99. (But go back to cassette for a day for proper perspective. ;) 4 seconds versus 4 minutes is pretty good ;) ).

 

Disks are also heavily slowed by file fragmentation, if you hear it seeking a lot in a single file that may be the issue. Seeking takes humanly measurable time. ;)



#40 adamantyr ONLINE  

adamantyr

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,148 posts

Posted Thu Jul 13, 2017 12:01 PM

You're probably spoiled, the disk system is far, far slower than Classic99. (But go back to cassette for a day for proper perspective. ;) 4 seconds versus 4 minutes is pretty good ;) ).

 

Disks are also heavily slowed by file fragmentation, if you hear it seeking a lot in a single file that may be the issue. Seeking takes humanly measurable time. ;)

 

Yeah, I figured I was. :) I'm using the Lotharek drive with disk images though, so I wouldn't think fragmentation would be an issue...



#41 schmitzi OFFLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,842 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Thu Jul 13, 2017 12:02 PM

there is a firmware update somewhere here around, for the CC-9900



#42 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • 2,531 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Thu Jul 13, 2017 1:20 PM

You know, for a true floppy slowness experience, use MAME. :)

 

(Yes, this is on purpose. No, I'm not going to speed them up. Yes, there is hard disk or HRD for the impatient people. ;) )



#43 Tursi OFFLINE  

Tursi

    River Patroller

  • 4,767 posts
  • HarmlessLion
  • Location:BUR

Posted Thu Jul 13, 2017 2:08 PM

 

Yeah, I figured I was. :) I'm using the Lotharek drive with disk images though, so I wouldn't think fragmentation would be an issue...

 

It still is if the image is fragmented. Seek track isn't a command, the controller literally commands "step head", waits, then "step head" again. So it takes the same amount time with the Lotharek as with a physical floppy drive. :) Sector read is the same speed too, as far as I know. I've got the Gotek and it's pretty close to mechanical. ;)



#44 Tursi OFFLINE  

Tursi

    River Patroller

  • 4,767 posts
  • HarmlessLion
  • Location:BUR

Posted Thu Jul 13, 2017 2:10 PM

You know, for a true floppy slowness experience, use MAME. :)

 

We're talking about using hardware, but MAME is the "true" experience? ;)



#45 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • 2,531 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Thu Jul 13, 2017 2:16 PM

Well then, truer (towards the slowness of the real thing).  :)


Edited by mizapf, Thu Jul 13, 2017 2:19 PM.


#46 adamantyr ONLINE  

adamantyr

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,148 posts

Posted Thu Jul 13, 2017 4:00 PM

 

It still is if the image is fragmented. Seek track isn't a command, the controller literally commands "step head", waits, then "step head" again. So it takes the same amount time with the Lotharek as with a physical floppy drive. :) Sector read is the same speed too, as far as I know. I've got the Gotek and it's pretty close to mechanical. ;)

I'll take a look, I used TI99Dir to create a disk image to copy files to. One of them IS 128k in size, so maybe it's getting broken up...







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: hardware

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users