Jump to content

Photo

Now I know what to do.

make gamsecreens as small as

18 replies to this topic

#1 emkay ONLINE  

emkay

    Quadrunner

  • 8,555 posts
  • What's up?
  • Location:Holy Grail ;)

Posted Thu Jun 15, 2017 3:01 PM

Now I got it. Seeing the latest Bad Apple version, and the huge borders, now I understand.

Borders were wanted ... the bigger... the better. It's better to have 50x20 pixel at 50fps than to have 320x200 pixel at 25 fps.


In that case, C64 won again....


Huge borders , a zooming glass recommended for the coolness factor...

Due to the size, the game runs at ~15fps smoothly enough



Who cares about a game that "fills a screen" better , playing at 25 fps....

No, C64 does it better.






















































































!not! (kotz würg)

#2 emkay ONLINE  

emkay

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,555 posts
  • What's up?
  • Location:Holy Grail ;)

Posted Thu Jun 15, 2017 3:09 PM

How about a great shooter on the Atari, using 8x15 pixel? It may result in a real 128 color game. No limits on moving objects then?
Ebay sells even better zooming glasses.

#3 emkay ONLINE  

emkay

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,555 posts
  • What's up?
  • Location:Holy Grail ;)

Posted Thu Jun 15, 2017 3:23 PM

And, who needs graphics with solid colors? Software Scanlines look cool. C64 guys promise that!

#4 emkay ONLINE  

emkay

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,555 posts
  • What's up?
  • Location:Holy Grail ;)

Posted Sat Jun 17, 2017 3:39 PM

Even just don't dare to think about a game without scanlines, even when it's a piece of cake for the Atari, doing that even better without scanlines.




#5 emkay ONLINE  

emkay

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,555 posts
  • What's up?
  • Location:Holy Grail ;)

Posted Sat Jun 17, 2017 3:40 PM

OK. Put a chicken into the soundtrack could add some needs...

#6 emkay ONLINE  

emkay

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,555 posts
  • What's up?
  • Location:Holy Grail ;)

Posted Sun Jun 18, 2017 12:51 PM

Not to forget...

Avoid to use low resolution modes. They could be very boring...


















...

#7 sack-c0s OFFLINE  

sack-c0s

    Stargunner

  • 1,171 posts
  • Location:Scheveningen, Netherlands

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 5:34 AM

so Emkay... how's the port of Mayhem in Monsterland coming along? :)

 

Seriously though - everyone wants a game, so it gets ported. Sometimes the A8 will do it better, sometimes the C64 will. In the odd screwed up occasion it'll be the ZX Spectrum. We can ebay every platform out there and have them all lined up on a shelf and miss out on *nothing*.

 

Just let it go already...



#8 tebe OFFLINE  

tebe

    Dragonstomper

  • 637 posts
  • Location:Poznań - Poland

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 7:19 AM

Emkay, eat a snickers ;)

 



#9 Josť Pereira OFFLINE  

Josť Pereira

    River Patroller

  • 4,045 posts
  • Location:Lisbon - Portugal

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 8:15 AM

Emkay, eat a snickers ;)
 
https://www.youtube....h?v=UQnD0X2cQmo

Humm... More recent Snickers commercial seems that people turn into Mr.Bean and better eat one to return to be the original guy. Are you saying that there are times that we're proud to have here Mr.Bean instead of Emkay?
Didn't know he was an Atari fan.
:grin:

Edited by Josť Pereira, Mon Jun 19, 2017 8:27 AM.


#10 emkay ONLINE  

emkay

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,555 posts
  • What's up?
  • Location:Holy Grail ;)

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 9:08 AM

Thanks for the support.

#11 Josť Pereira OFFLINE  

Josť Pereira

    River Patroller

  • 4,045 posts
  • Location:Lisbon - Portugal

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 11:05 AM

Thanks for the support.

You're welcome ;).

:grin:

:thumbsup:



#12 Josť Pereira OFFLINE  

Josť Pereira

    River Patroller

  • 4,045 posts
  • Location:Lisbon - Portugal

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 11:32 AM

Emkay, eat a snickers ;)

 

 

Humm... More recent Snickers commercial seems that people turn into Mr.Bean and better eat one to return to be the original guy. Are you saying that there are times that we're proud to have here Mr.Bean instead of Emkay?
Didn't know he was an Atari fan.
:grin:

It has indeed at least 2years (it could do a nice 3D game ;)):

:grin:



#13 emkay ONLINE  

emkay

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,555 posts
  • What's up?
  • Location:Holy Grail ;)

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 11:39 AM



You're welcome ;).
:grin:
:thumbsup:



Finally I found a topic where I get most support.




If you want to convert a game, use some boring of them and try to reach the limits of other computers!

While some of those were...







.... just Demos of some "advancements" of the C64, the games themselves were boring after 10 minutes.



... even on better machines....

But it is necessary to convert that to the Atari. Don't forget the huge borders!

#14 Josť Pereira OFFLINE  

Josť Pereira

    River Patroller

  • 4,045 posts
  • Location:Lisbon - Portugal

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 12:10 PM

But those on C64 because of the hardware horizontal scrolling only reduces the used area from 40Bytes to 38Bytes wide...

They're only 2Bytes/2chars less, 1 at each side.

;)


Edited by Josť Pereira, Mon Jun 19, 2017 12:12 PM.


#15 emkay ONLINE  

emkay

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,555 posts
  • What's up?
  • Location:Holy Grail ;)

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 1:01 PM

But those on C64 because of the hardware horizontal scrolling only reduces the used area from 40Bytes to 38Bytes wide...
They're only 2Bytes/2chars less, 1 at each side.
;)


On a real TV set, the borders will be big. But the Atari could beat that.

#16 emkay ONLINE  

emkay

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,555 posts
  • What's up?
  • Location:Holy Grail ;)

Posted Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:34 AM

Borders are cool. Particular on small monitors.

c6.png


Look at the nice wall frame effect this gives to the game.


Even The Amiga Version got the frame in the mainscreen range.

am.jpg

#17 sack-c0s OFFLINE  

sack-c0s

    Stargunner

  • 1,171 posts
  • Location:Scheveningen, Netherlands

Posted Tue Jun 20, 2017 3:23 AM

The practical problem isn't hardware - once you change the screen size you change the amount of lookahead and visible play space that the player has, which impacts on the level design.

This is why I don't like MD->SNES conversions. They often just dump the mapdata in as-is on both version, but the SNES has a 256-wide visible area whilst the Megadrive/genesis has 320 pixels. You lose visibility of oncoming things on the SNES


Edited by sack-c0s, Tue Jun 20, 2017 3:24 AM.


#18 emkay ONLINE  

emkay

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,555 posts
  • What's up?
  • Location:Holy Grail ;)

Posted Tue Jun 20, 2017 8:06 AM

The practical problem isn't hardware - once you change the screen size you change the amount of lookahead and visible play space that the player has, which impacts on the level design.

This is why I don't like MD->SNES conversions. They often just dump the mapdata in as-is on both version, but the SNES has a 256-wide visible area whilst the Megadrive/genesis has 320 pixels. You lose visibility of oncoming things on the SNES


The 2 opposite argues in one post ?

Reducing the screen from 320 to 256 without the adjustment of the game content is just lazy.

But in the pics above, you see the "same" game content. The graphics has been fully redrawn, so, to put just some other row to the left and the right...

#19 emkay ONLINE  

emkay

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,555 posts
  • What's up?
  • Location:Holy Grail ;)

Posted Tue Jun 20, 2017 8:13 AM

In that case we should also ignore that a right game concept could make impossible things possible...


Edited by emkay, Tue Jun 20, 2017 8:15 AM.





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users