Jump to content

Photo

ATARI - Just the start - More to come (New member)


5 replies to this topic

#1 NISMOPC OFFLINE  

NISMOPC

    Star Raider

  • 72 posts
  • Location:OHIO

Posted Thu Jul 6, 2017 10:00 AM

Decided to get back into the 8-bit action. Pulled out my original 800XL and 1050 Disk Drive. Also recently purchased a 65XE that failed memory test. Desoldered all of the memory chips and replaced with sockets. Waiting on new chips to arrive any day now. Also waiting on a composite video out and SIO RS232 to USB cable.

 

800XL  

800XL_01
1200 Baud Modem

 

65XE

65XE_01
65XE_02
65XE_05
65XE_06
65XE_06
65XE_07

 

Misc Items (Boxes of catalogs, magazines, manuals, a TI-99/4A and TI Program Recorder)

MISC_01

 



#2 NISMOPC OFFLINE  

NISMOPC

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 72 posts
  • Location:OHIO

Posted Fri Jul 7, 2017 2:55 PM

SUCCESS!! New (old stock) Texas Instruments RAM installed in the 65XE...
 

65XE_08

 

Went straight to READY prompt at start-up. Restarted in Self Test. PASSED.

 

Tested cartridge. PASSED.

Tested 1050 drive. PASSED.

 

Today's a good day. Now on to more...

 

EDIT:

 

Oh RAM, oh so beautiful RAM. 

 

65XE_09

Edited by NISMOPC, Fri Jul 7, 2017 6:56 PM.


#3 NISMOPC OFFLINE  

NISMOPC

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 72 posts
  • Location:OHIO

Posted Mon Jul 17, 2017 3:05 PM

Some more goodies...

 

130XE just delivered today - ebay purchase. Stated no power. Came with no accessories or cables...

 

...plugged it in and it passed Self Test. Moved on to connecting my cheap SIO2PC RS232 cable and...

 

130XE_01
 
And current Atari Jr. collection. (Acquired all within last 2 weeks)
 
Atari_Jr_Collection_01

 

My ("our") original Atari 2600 and prob a library of 60+ carts is currently in my brothers possession sitting in a bin in his basement. now to convince him he no longer wants it.



#4 high voltage ONLINE  

high voltage

    Quadrunner

  • 6,208 posts
  • Location:europe

Posted Mon Jul 17, 2017 11:33 PM

Wow, it looks great, love the 130XE setup



#5 -^CrožBow^- OFFLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    Quadrunner

  • 5,091 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Tue Jul 18, 2017 6:48 PM

Now you need to pop in the old ram chips one by one to find out which ones were actually bad. That way you have hot spares on hand! Nice setup with the XE units! I need to AV mod my 130xe soon.



#6 NISMOPC OFFLINE  

NISMOPC

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 72 posts
  • Location:OHIO

Posted Sat Aug 26, 2017 3:34 PM

Updated my set-up and added quite a bit to my collection...

 

ATARI_Corner_01
 
ATARI_Corner_02





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users