IGNORED

Just got a C64 and a SD2IEC, and I am totally lost....

Got my first C64 from a friend, decided to go directly for an SD drive instead of trying to track down magnetic media, and bought one of these http://www.ebay.com/itm/READY-TO-USE-FULL-SET-Commodore-64-128-1541-Disk-Drive-Emulation-SD2IEC-LCD/172065086962?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649 In the description it says full set ready to use, witch my wishfull thinking beleived to mean it was fully loaded with all the game files :( it was ofcourse, not. The only thing on the SD card is a file called EMPTY. i put one file for PACMAN on the card, plugged everything up and typed LOAD, then it told me to press play on the tape, witch i do not have. I am obviously a total noob, spend most of my 8 bit computer time on an 800XL. help?

The SD2IEC appears as a floppy drive, which means you need to use a device number. Try LOAD"$",8 followed by LIST to see the contents. It is possible the SD2IEC is set up as device 9 or 10 though, which you will find out if you get ?DEVICE NOT PRESENT or other error message. If that happens, try LOAD"$",9 and so on.

To actually load the program, try LOAD"PACMAN",8 and RUN.

You might also be interested in the FB file browser which simplifies file handling: http://www.vic20.it/cbmfilebrowser/

Did you follow the link in the listing you bought from to get the files you need? I'm not sure what those are, but maybe one of them is a catalog type program. My SD2IEC came pre-loaded with one.

Your C64 is acting normally; the command you want to type is LOAD "*",8,1 (edit, sorry, was typing my response at the same time as carlsson, you could do his suggestion too)

That tells it where and what to load (the first thing it finds on the drive at that location). Then you need to type RUN

That should at least get you into Pac-Man if that's all you have on the card.