IGNORED

Short interview with Mr. Steve Cartwright

lazzeri

Hello,

I did a (really) short e-mail interview with Mr. Cartwright for a little article I´m writing about "Megamania" for a local magazine. Nothing fancy, six short questions, but you guys might like it. :)

1- You were the first designer to join the original Activision founders. How did that happened? Did you have previous programming or game development experience?

(The end of this answer is going to surprise you.. :) )

I had gone to college with Dave Crane. He was a semester or 2 ahead of me. After college, Dave got a job at National Semiconductor. When I graduated, he arranged for a job interview in his group at National - so ended up following him to the Bay Area.

Now Dave was a big tennis payer - and his doubles partner was a guy named Al Miller. Al worked at a little startup called Atari. Al was a program manager in the arcade game division. Al had one particularly creative designer - but he was also a very difficult employee — impossible to work with — didn't get along with anyone. Not only that, Al discovered this difficult employee was actually paying his friend under the table to do his work for him. So Al fired this employee - and hired his friend Dave to join Atari.

Shortly after, the Atari 2600 hit the stores and was a huge success. But Atari was already working on the next generation of products - the Atari 400/800 home computer.
But Al was having more problems with employees. A contractor they had hired to do the operating system never delivered (turns out he was working for IBM on the side on the operating system for the first IBM PC) Al & Dave worked 24/7 for a month to write the entire operating system from scratch. After that, they had had enough of Atari and quit to start their own company. They didn’t really know what they wanted to do — but they decided to make some video games in the meantime. That company was - of course Activision.