Jump to content

Photo

MIDI Interface


33 replies to this topic

#26 skr OFFLINE  

skr

    Dragonstomper

  • 613 posts
  • Ready
  • Location:Hamburg

Posted Mon Aug 28, 2017 11:52 AM

I think i've read Midimaze on the 8bit can network with the ST via midi?  or only other 8bits?


Yes, we´ve actually played it in a mixed network (XLs and STs). An eight bit machine has to be the master, no matter how many and which computers are in the ring.

#27 Sikor OFFLINE  

Sikor

    Stargunner

  • 1,311 posts
  • Location:Warsaw/Poland

Posted Mon Aug 28, 2017 1:05 PM

Price is ok for me. I'll be wait...



#28 StaxX28 OFFLINE  

StaxX28

    Chopper Commander

  • 191 posts
  • Location:France

Posted Mon Aug 28, 2017 1:44 PM

same for me. If i could have 2 it would be perfect :)



#29 Stormtrooper of Death OFFLINE  

Stormtrooper of Death

    Moonsweeper

  • 389 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted Wed Sep 13, 2017 4:05 AM

Ivo, since I bought a Roland R-70 drum machine. I now want to buy your midi interface. One question: Can i connect a standard SIO cable to your midi interface or is there some soldering involved ? (I cant solder....)



#30 ivop OFFLINE  

ivop

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 402 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted Wed Sep 13, 2017 5:10 AM

There's no SIO port on the board, only a pin header which needs to be connected to the required lines of a cut-in-half SIO cable or salvaged jack.

 

update: It seems there's a package waiting for me which I can pick-up later today. I think it's the PCBs! Some other parts have not arrived yet, though...



#31 mytekcontrols ONLINE  

mytekcontrols

    Stargunner

  • 1,991 posts
  • Location:Santa Rosa, CA

Posted Wed Sep 13, 2017 9:08 AM

There's no SIO port on the board, only a pin header which needs to be connected to the required lines of a cut-in-half SIO cable or salvaged jack.

 

update: It seems there's a package waiting for me which I can pick-up later today. I think it's the PCBs! Some other parts have not arrived yet, though...

 

What does the header pin-out look like? Curious if it'll work with the one on the XEL (J5).

 

OICHVap.png

 

Be nice to add MIDI functionality in a Mini-ITX cased computer.

 

- Michael



#32 ivop OFFLINE  

ivop

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 402 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted Wed Sep 13, 2017 10:25 AM

The pin header is as follows:

Pin    SIO
---    ---
1      5    Data Output
2      4    GND
3      3    Data Input
4      6    GND
5      8    Motor Control

You could connect pin 5 to +5V with a manual switch in between, but then you'd need to enable/disable the MIDI device manually.



#33 orpheuswaking OFFLINE  

orpheuswaking

    Quadrunner

  • 5,591 posts
  • Lone Raider Time!
  • Location:Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

Posted Thu Sep 14, 2017 9:13 AM

I mentioned 1 plus parts, If there are enough I would actually go for 2. 



#34 ivop OFFLINE  

ivop

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 402 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted Thu Sep 14, 2017 11:06 AM

Update: PCBs have arrived, as have all other parts except for the 50 DIN5 jacks. I got 10 PCBs, no extras this time. Sometimes I get 11 or 12.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users