Jump to content

Photo

Next hardware project: snes2joy


51 replies to this topic

#26 Brentarian OFFLINE  

Brentarian

    Moonsweeper

  • 331 posts
  • Location:Columbus, Georgia USA

Posted Fri Oct 27, 2017 7:16 PM

Hello Ivo
 
I believe I read somewhere that you can take the metal part of the modern DB9 connector off.
 
Sincerely
 
Mathy

That is correct. When my JOY2PIC didn't fit the JS port on the 130XE well, I carefully peeled off the metal housing and had good results.20171027_210906.jpg

#27 ivop OFFLINE  

ivop

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 514 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted Sun Oct 29, 2017 9:02 AM

You can buy china megadrive gamepad for 3usd... or contact manufacturer of those.I am sure that joy db9 cable is still in production in Asia...

 
Nice, thanks for the tip! While searching for them, I also stumbled upon extension cables.
I ordered a few of these instead of the gamepads, as I have no use for the gamepad, but perhaps find a use for the male part of the extension cables in the future. And they are cheaper :)



#28 ivop OFFLINE  

ivop

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 514 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted Sun Oct 29, 2017 9:07 AM

That is correct. When my JOY2PIC didn't fit the JS port on the 130XE well, I carefully peeled off the metal housing and had good results.attachicon.gif20171027_210906.jpg

 

I tried to do this just now, and it works! Never knew they weren't glued together. You would still need a 3D printed housing in which this fits, but the idea is good. If the extension cables (or megadrive gamepads) are not up to par quality-wise, I will look into this further.



#29 Level42 OFFLINE  

Level42

    Stargunner

  • 1,532 posts
  • Location:Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

Posted Sun Oct 29, 2017 1:40 PM

Nice, thanks for the tip! While searching for them, I also stumbled upon extension cables.
I ordered a few of these instead of the gamepads, as I have no use for the gamepad, but perhaps find a use for the male part of the extension cables in the future. And they are cheaper :)


Isn't it sad that those aren't mentioned as Atari cables ?? .....after will....who defined this "standard" ? :)

Nice find though !!!

#30 Mathy OFFLINE  

Mathy

    River Patroller

  • 2,461 posts
  • Location:Heerlen, NL

Posted Sun Oct 29, 2017 7:22 PM

Hello Andre

 

"Atari" would probably sue them.

 

Sincerely

 

Mathy



#31 Level42 OFFLINE  

Level42

    Stargunner

  • 1,532 posts
  • Location:Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

Posted Mon Oct 30, 2017 11:32 AM

Waaahahaha......pretty unlikely, I think this is probably one of the few things Atari did not patent.....or else they would have sued Commodore, Sega, the MSX manufacturers and probably more...

#32 ivop OFFLINE  

ivop

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 514 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted Mon Oct 30, 2017 11:39 AM

If it wasn't for Matej, I wouldn't have searched in the megadrive direction.

 

First draft of the housing:

 

render.png render2.png



#33 mytekcontrols OFFLINE  

mytekcontrols

    River Patroller

  • 2,201 posts
  • Location:Santa Rosa, CA

Posted Mon Oct 30, 2017 11:54 AM

 

I tried to do this just now, and it works! Never knew they weren't glued together.

 

Yep I had to glue the two halves of the plastic housing together after removing the metal shrouding, but it does give you a very slim and trim connector as the end result. If only Atari had kept things the way it was on the the original 400/800 all of this would be totally unnecessary.

 

BTW, very nice looking case design  :thumbsup:

 

 

Waaahahaha......pretty unlikely, I think this is probably one of the few things Atari did not patent.....or else they would have sued Commodore, Sega, the MSX manufacturers and probably more...

 

Good thing the patents ran out years ago, so now we can copy anything of their's we want, so long as it's not under copyright protection (which apparently never runs out).

 

- Michael



#34 Level42 OFFLINE  

Level42

    Stargunner

  • 1,532 posts
  • Location:Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

Posted Mon Oct 30, 2017 1:42 PM

Actually, I think stuff like music is "only" copyrighted for 100 years.....so....uhmmmm......LOL

#35 Mathy OFFLINE  

Mathy

    River Patroller

  • 2,461 posts
  • Location:Heerlen, NL

Posted Mon Oct 30, 2017 1:48 PM

Hello Andre

 

IIRC Atari did sue Sega years ago over the use of "Atari's" joystick plug.

 

Sincerely

 

Mathy



#36 Level42 OFFLINE  

Level42

    Stargunner

  • 1,532 posts
  • Location:Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

Posted Tue Oct 31, 2017 11:09 AM

Nah, they didn't.

You can't patent an already excisting connector......after all it's just a modified De-9 plug (without the metal shield).

Commodore was the first to steal it so they could and definitely would have sued them IF they could but they knew they couldn't.


But I fear we're derailing the thread :):)

#37 ivop OFFLINE  

ivop

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 514 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted Tue Oct 31, 2017 11:29 AM

If I'm not mistaken, Atari sued Sega over horizontal scrolling or something like that.



#38 Level42 OFFLINE  

Level42

    Stargunner

  • 1,532 posts
  • Location:Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

Posted Tue Oct 31, 2017 12:03 PM

Yep !

And Nintendo settled.

#39 mytekcontrols OFFLINE  

mytekcontrols

    River Patroller

  • 2,201 posts
  • Location:Santa Rosa, CA

Posted Tue Oct 31, 2017 12:21 PM

Well unless the new Atari intends to patent something new that is A8 related, I don't see them being a threat to what is being done now days with this series of machines. Whatever patents they once held in that aspect expired well over a decade ago. So as I mentioned the only thing to be concerned with is copyrighted and/or use of trademarked items (i.e., Atari Logo).

 

- Michael



#40 Level42 OFFLINE  

Level42

    Stargunner

  • 1,532 posts
  • Location:Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

Posted Tue Oct 31, 2017 3:27 PM

Man......the US guys are so uptighted with stuff like that......we in The Netherlands just do what we like......


This is ancient stuf.....we are a tiny community, they don't care.


Check out the story about the guys who restored a Nintendo Sky Skipper arcade cab.......Nintendo of America let them scan the artwork of their only original left cab......

#41 mytekcontrols OFFLINE  

mytekcontrols

    River Patroller

  • 2,201 posts
  • Location:Santa Rosa, CA

Posted Wed Nov 1, 2017 11:18 PM

Man......the US guys are so uptighted with stuff like that......we in The Netherlands just do what we like......
This is ancient stuf.....we are a tiny community, they don't care.
Check out the story about the guys who restored a Nintendo Sky Skipper arcade cab.......Nintendo of America let them scan the artwork of their only original left cab......


You make a good point, and it's not that I'm too concerned either, but embossing the Atari symbol on your product no matter how insignificant the marketplace may seem to be can backfire when you least expect it. As an example, in my hometown which is not a major well known city, there was this little business calling themselves the Volkswerk. They sold various 3rd party accessories for the at the time, 50+ year old VW Beetle. They got a cease and desist letter from Volkswagon Corporation saying they could not use the name Volkswerk (I'm guessing on the name -- back in 1990) because of it's similarity to their trademarked name. Keep in mind that this was a small mom and pop store of insignificant market penetration, 6000 miles away in a relatively small town without lots of visibility. How they got on Volkswagen's radar, we'll never know.

Long story short, due to additional letters threatening legal action they were forced to change their name.

So am I paranoid? Perhaps. But if it could happen to them, and it wasn't like they were directly copying logos or even the name, then I would seriously consider it a possibility if someone were to print an exact copy of the Atari fuji logo on their product. And why take the chance?

- Michael



#42 ivop OFFLINE  

ivop

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 514 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted Sat Nov 4, 2017 7:05 AM

3D prototype received:

 

prototype.png

 

The SNES jack fits perfectly. Only minimal sanding/filing was necessary.

 

Waiting for joystick cables... and I have to buy some screws :)

 



#43 Level42 OFFLINE  

Level42

    Stargunner

  • 1,532 posts
  • Location:Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

Posted Sat Nov 4, 2017 5:42 PM

That.....looks very nice !!

#44 Mathy OFFLINE  

Mathy

    River Patroller

  • 2,461 posts
  • Location:Heerlen, NL

Posted Sat Nov 4, 2017 6:19 PM

Hello Ivo

 

That looks like a standard box, except for the lid.  Wouldn't it be cheaper to use standard of the shelf boxes and only 3D print the lid?

 

Sincerely

 

Mathy



#45 Level42 OFFLINE  

Level42

    Stargunner

  • 1,532 posts
  • Location:Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

Posted Sun Nov 5, 2017 3:46 AM

That......is what crossed my mind too to be honest.....plenty of AliExpress boxes for cheap :)

But I think I'd still go 3D print....I like the logo.......does depend on price a bit...

#46 Level42 OFFLINE  

Level42

    Stargunner

  • 1,532 posts
  • Location:Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

Posted Sun Nov 5, 2017 3:47 AM

When they're available someone has to program SMW for the A8......how hard can it be.......

#47 ivop OFFLINE  

ivop

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 514 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted Sun Nov 5, 2017 3:59 AM

The problem with a standard box would be the hole for the SNES connector. See post #32. That's very non-standard and I don't think I'm capable of "dremeling" that myself, at least not several times in a row without failing. The final version will be somewhat smaller though, and I "discovered" that no 4mm screw will sink enough in a 2mm lid, but a 3mm screw will, so th holes have to be smaller.

 

Edit: right now the cost of this box was €6,50 (excl. €3,= fixed startup cost and S&H) in black PLA and printed in The Netherlands. That'll probably be cheaper when done in bulk at a cheaper 3D printing company.


Edited by ivop, Sun Nov 5, 2017 4:02 AM.


#48 Level42 OFFLINE  

Level42

    Stargunner

  • 1,532 posts
  • Location:Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

Posted Mon Nov 13, 2017 6:02 AM

That is already a very good price. Usually 3D printed stuff doesn't get much cheaper in bulk because it doesn't really matter much how many you do,they all still have to be printed one by one.... but as I said....this is comparable to a factory generic box price so I'm in :)

#49 suspicious_milk OFFLINE  

suspicious_milk

    Chopper Commander

  • 196 posts
  • Location:Muncie, IN USA

Posted Mon Nov 13, 2017 8:58 AM

Probably too late, but if you made this compatible with two button independent fire ala 7800 you'd double your work...er I mean sales. Yeah that's it, sales.

#50 ivop OFFLINE  

ivop

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 514 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted Mon Nov 13, 2017 9:18 AM

That is already a very good price. Usually 3D printed stuff doesn't get much cheaper in bulk because it doesn't really matter much how many you do,they all still have to be printed one by one.... but as I said....this is comparable to a factory generic box price so I'm in :)

 

Yeah, I had hoped multiple items would be cheaper, but that doesn't seem to be the case. I only save a little on startup cost and S&H.

 

Probably too late, but if you made this compatible with two button independent fire ala 7800 you'd double your work...er I mean sales. Yeah that's it, sales.

 

Looks like a firmware issue to me. I could implement another mode (e.g. hold X while powering on) where D-Pad is directions, A puts 228 or 0 on POT0 and B puts 228 or 0 on POT1. I have a 7800 here, but which games use two button mode?






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users