Jump to content

Photo

Pink Panther


61 replies to this topic

#1 retroeight OFFLINE  

retroeight

    Star Raider

  • 62 posts

Posted Sat Oct 7, 2017 10:22 AM

Do I dare ask? What is the status of this?

 

lloyd



#2 toiletunes OFFLINE  

toiletunes

    River Patroller

  • 3,196 posts
  • Hater Brigader
  • Location:Salem, Mo 65560 USA

Posted Sat Oct 7, 2017 10:27 AM

No updates.

 

The real question is, do I dare post Shatner pics?

 

I dare not.

 

but I sure think about it.


Edited by toiletunes, Sat Oct 7, 2017 10:30 AM.


#3 save2600 ONLINE  

save2600

    Quadrunner

  • 14,146 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin

Posted Sat Oct 7, 2017 10:30 AM

Pink Shatner?

#4 ave1 OFFLINE  

ave1

    Moonsweeper

  • 335 posts

Posted Sat Oct 7, 2017 12:04 PM

Are you referring to releasing the ROM? If so, I have a desire to do that but have no idea who has the right equipment to accomplish the task.

#5 retroeight OFFLINE  

retroeight

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 62 posts

Posted Sat Oct 7, 2017 12:12 PM

Are you referring to releasing the ROM? If so, I have a desire to do that but have no idea who has the right equipment to accomplish the task.

 

this is the issue that most had before. it was dumping the rom.

 

lloyd



#6 atari181 OFFLINE  

atari181

    River Patroller

  • 3,103 posts
  • Location:Ohio

Posted Sat Oct 7, 2017 12:16 PM

It won't happen. CPUWIZ could chime in on this. As far as I know just making the carts that were release were quite the bitch.

#7 frankodragon OFFLINE  

frankodragon

    River Patroller

  • 3,855 posts
  • No relation to the Adventure duck-like dragons
  • Location:Planet Vastia

Posted Sat Oct 7, 2017 1:30 PM

I don't think CPUWIZ has the time to release any more PP carts or roms for that matter.  It's due to bad ROM/RAM chips and NAP decided to cancel the game instead. 

 

http://www.atariprot...pinkpanther.htm



#8 hizzy OFFLINE  

hizzy

    Dragonstomper

  • 763 posts
  • Location:Montreal, QC

Posted Sat Oct 7, 2017 1:55 PM

There was a small run of these carts. Hope to see it offered again someday!



#9 CPUWIZ OFFLINE  

CPUWIZ

    Commander

  • 32,422 posts
  • Cartridge Recycler
  • Location:SoCal

Posted Sat Oct 7, 2017 2:17 PM

Please stop asking me, I did not make them and I can not make them.  We did the artwork and assembly of the carts and there won't be any more.  I do not even have the ROM.



#10 retroeight OFFLINE  

retroeight

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 62 posts

Posted Sat Oct 7, 2017 3:17 PM

Relax CPUWIZ. All good.

 

Just to be clear that was actually a small run of these? So someone figure out how to dump this?



#11 bradhig1 OFFLINE  

bradhig1

    Dragonstomper

  • 592 posts
  • Location:Olathe Kansas

Posted Sat Oct 7, 2017 7:21 PM

Now all we need is a game based on the Ant and the Aardvark.



#12 retroeight OFFLINE  

retroeight

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 62 posts

Posted Sat Oct 7, 2017 7:24 PM

Okay.. So here is a question.

 

When Probe2000 said they cancelled games due to a shortage of chips, they were not talking about a shortage of chips in general; just these special ones?

 

That always confused me as other game providers never mentioned chip shortages.

 

lloyd


Edited by retroeight, Sat Oct 7, 2017 7:24 PM.


#13 Tempest OFFLINE  

Tempest

    Monochrome Martinet

  • 26,391 posts
  • Location:Accardi-By-The-Sea

Posted Sat Oct 7, 2017 7:37 PM

It was the special ram chip I believe. That's also why Coleco cancelled Tarzan.
  • jhd likes this

#14 CPUWIZ OFFLINE  

CPUWIZ

    Commander

  • 32,422 posts
  • Cartridge Recycler
  • Location:SoCal

Posted Sat Oct 7, 2017 7:43 PM

It was the special ram chip I believe. That's also why Coleco cancelled Tarzan.

 

The chip is a combo chip, all the ones that exist are not the final mask ROM's, they are $1000+ each kind of chips.  They probably couldn't get that design fabbed for a reasonable price.


  • jhd likes this

#15 enthusi OFFLINE  

enthusi

    Moonsweeper

  • 358 posts
  • Location:Potsdam, Germany

Posted Sat Oct 7, 2017 11:13 PM

So, simply from a technical point, there wont ever be ROM images that work easily on any cart?

#16 CPUWIZ OFFLINE  

CPUWIZ

    Commander

  • 32,422 posts
  • Cartridge Recycler
  • Location:SoCal

Posted Sat Oct 7, 2017 11:57 PM

So, simply from a technical point, there wont ever be ROM images that work easily on any cart?

 

Not on any, but if you send one of the 3-4 protos to Shenzen (or other city of your choice), they will send you back a cartridge PCB, that will do what the proto you sent them does, depending on what you are willing to pay and who you know.  The 2600 data and address bus is extremely limited, they would probably use an intern / kid to figure it out, as a training task. :)



#17 enthusi OFFLINE  

enthusi

    Moonsweeper

  • 358 posts
  • Location:Potsdam, Germany

Posted Sun Oct 8, 2017 12:03 AM

Frankly, the game did not look too exotic to require special hardware, so this information is new and surprising to me.

Thanks for the reply.



#18 CPUWIZ OFFLINE  

CPUWIZ

    Commander

  • 32,422 posts
  • Cartridge Recycler
  • Location:SoCal

Posted Sun Oct 8, 2017 12:07 AM

Frankly, the game did not look too exotic to require special hardware, so this information is new and surprising to me.

Thanks for the reply.

 

Think of it as CBS RAM+, a ROM/RAM chip with built-in bankswitching, except CBS had the cash.


  • jhd likes this

#19 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • 22,721 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany, Europe, Earth

Posted Sun Oct 8, 2017 5:38 AM

Couldn't that be supported by modern Hardware (Melody)? And/or patched in software?



#20 Rom Hunter OFFLINE  

Rom Hunter

    VCS Games Archivist

  • 8,654 posts
  • Obtainer of Rare Antiquities

Posted Sun Oct 8, 2017 6:33 AM

Couldn't that be supported by modern Hardware (Melody)? And/or patched in software?

Copy works fine on Melody Board.

8)



#21 retroeight OFFLINE  

retroeight

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 62 posts

Posted Sun Oct 8, 2017 9:41 AM

Does anyone have a long video of thi sbeing played by any chance?

 

And what other games did they plan to use this chip in the 2600 or was it Colecovision games?

 

lloyd



#22 nanochess ONLINE  

nanochess

    River Patroller

  • 4,842 posts
  • Coding something good
  • Location:Mexico City

Posted Sun Oct 8, 2017 11:14 AM

Does anyone have a long video of thi sbeing played by any chance?
 
And what other games did they plan to use this chip in the 2600 or was it Colecovision games?
 
lloyd




The game looks too simple.

#23 Tempest OFFLINE  

Tempest

    Monochrome Martinet

  • 26,391 posts
  • Location:Accardi-By-The-Sea

Posted Sun Oct 8, 2017 11:24 AM

It gets really tough after the first time through.  The first screen on the highest difficulty is nearly impossible.



#24 SpiceWare OFFLINE  

SpiceWare

    Quadrunner

  • 11,487 posts
  • Medieval Mayhem
  • Location:Planet Houston

Posted Sun Oct 8, 2017 12:03 PM

 

Since you are playing like you know what's going on and\or how it was done, please elaborate with your technical prowess for the uneducated masses.

 

 

We already know it's on a Melody board.  We already know new drivers can be written for the Melody to handle different bankswitch schemes (see DPC+, BUS, CDF).  What more is there to elaborate on?



#25 SpiceWare OFFLINE  

SpiceWare

    Quadrunner

  • 11,487 posts
  • Medieval Mayhem
  • Location:Planet Houston

Posted Sun Oct 8, 2017 12:39 PM

note: this is a reply to a comment that's no longer here, so it now seems out of place.

 

 

Based on his statement, I assumed he has a copy because you can see Harmony when you open the cover:

IMG_8875.jpg

 

That confirms it's the original Melody board, but doesn't work on the current revision of it:

IMG_8877.jpg






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users