IGNORED

CX40 with microswitches?

VicViper

Did atari ever manufacture an "original" style joystick with microswitches? I've gotten one in a lot from Craigslist and it's a bit unusual. I suppose it's not Technically microswitches, there is an entire plastic frame under the top of the joystick, and each of the directionals for the stick has its own spring mounted inside the plastic frame. I'll post an imgur album later if this is something odd enough to warrant everyone taking a look, I've never seen one that wasn't just the plastic bubble membranes.doesnt look like a home hack, very professional. Of course, it doesn't work.

Edited by VicViper

Sounds like you're describing a CX10 "heavy sixer" joystick.

FWIW I've modded CX40s and other joysticks with microswitches, and I'll never go back to dome switches for them. :twisted: :-D

Yeah that's it. I've been messing with Atari stuff for a great many years, can't believe I'd never seen one like this.

Just replaced the 9 pin cable real quick and cleaned out the contacts. WOW. What a difference between these and the CX40. I see why people pay the premium for them. Wish mine still had the hex sticker on top, looks like the sticker is worth more than the joystick!

Yea, The CX10 is Really nice. Just slightly more toward an arcade stick. Its my go-to for stuff with fine, quick direction change - like H.E.R.O. Like it a little more than the best electronics gold board upgrade on the cx40, but thats a close second.