Jump to content

Photo

Falcons work! But now what?


19 replies to this topic

#1 davidcalgary29 OFFLINE  

davidcalgary29

    Quadrunner

  • 5,485 posts
  • Location:Peace River, Alberta

Posted Sun Nov 26, 2017 8:21 PM

After an embarrassing amount of time, Ive got both my Falcons running. One has an internal HD; the other does not. Should I go with Lothareks UltraSatan instead of fiddling with a HD first? And does anyone have suggestions for internet connectivity? Is there a recommended browser?

#2 Justin Payne OFFLINE  

Justin Payne

    Dragonstomper

  • 754 posts
  • Busy updating XEGS Podcast website to Angular2
  • Location:Kent, Washington, USA

Posted Sun Nov 26, 2017 11:23 PM

I don't have any experience with the UltraSatan but you can replace your HDD with a CF drive. They aren't that expensive but you will need a driver as well. Just search the internet.
I just replaced mine with an old 8 gig laptop HDD. It was more than enough space.



#3 davidcalgary29 OFFLINE  

davidcalgary29

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,485 posts
  • Location:Peace River, Alberta

Posted Sun Nov 26, 2017 11:38 PM

Thanks!

*off to look up archived threads*

#4 Christos ONLINE  

Christos

    Dragonstomper

  • 974 posts
  • Location:Thessaloniki, Greece

Posted Mon Nov 27, 2017 1:07 AM

Ultrasatan is st only so it wont work with falcons. You can also use ide2sd adapters

#5 dimfil ONLINE  

dimfil

    Combat Commando

  • 1 posts

Posted Mon Nov 27, 2017 1:24 AM

Ultrasatan is st only so it wont work with falcons. You can also use ide2sd adapters


Just to add on this, I found the following combination ideal for the falcon :
dual cf adapter
sd to cf adapter
sd extender cable

Way cheaper and you can have a fixed cf as system hd replacement and a second card (sd or microsd via the adapter) to transfer files.

#6 davidcalgary29 OFFLINE  

davidcalgary29

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,485 posts
  • Location:Peace River, Alberta

Posted Mon Nov 27, 2017 11:29 AM

Just to add on this, I found the following combination ideal for the falcon :
dual cf adapter
sd to cf adapter
sd extender cable

Way cheaper and you can have a fixed cf as system hd replacement and a second card (sd or microsd via the adapter) to transfer files.

 

Again, thanks. I'm looking at Best Electronic's CF adapater kit as well, so it looks like I'll have a number of options going forward.

 

I see that Best offers a 14 MB upgrade (mine are both stock 4MB). Is a memory upgrade recommended for Falcon gaming?



#7 Christos ONLINE  

Christos

    Dragonstomper

  • 974 posts
  • Location:Thessaloniki, Greece

Posted Mon Nov 27, 2017 2:26 PM

Falcon gaming is an oxymoron though. Best call it st gaming @16MHz. Even the jaguar can be considered a better option now that so many good st games have been ported over.
4mb will be enough for 99% of games though.

Edited by Christos, Mon Nov 27, 2017 2:27 PM.


#8 Justin Payne OFFLINE  

Justin Payne

    Dragonstomper

  • 754 posts
  • Busy updating XEGS Podcast website to Angular2
  • Location:Kent, Washington, USA

Posted Mon Nov 27, 2017 9:49 PM

Yea, where the 14 meg comes in handy is when you want to replace the OS with something a bit more multitaskable such as jinnee/MagiC/NVDI combo.
Also, this (http://atari.8bitchip.info/fromhd.php) is where it also comes in handy.
Finally, I'm sure there are some demos that take advantage of it.

 

I didn't realize that Best still had those 14MB's in stock but then again, it's not a well designed site. :P  I just got mine from here (https://www.exxoshos.../last/storenew/). Haven't put my Falcon back together yet so I can't tell you if it works but the build quality looks nice.



#9 Bikerbob OFFLINE  

Bikerbob

    Dragonstomper

  • 605 posts
  • Location:Mississauga ON Canada

Posted Mon Nov 27, 2017 11:09 PM

If you run MiNT on it you can use this broswer http://www.netsurf-browser.org/downloads/atari/ most likely the NEWEST thing out there.

 

OR there is good old CAB, or Highwire, but I have no experience with the last. CAB is pretty much not usable anymore as HTML stds and CSS etc.. it cant handle it.

 

James



#10 davidcalgary29 OFFLINE  

davidcalgary29

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,485 posts
  • Location:Peace River, Alberta

Posted Mon Nov 27, 2017 11:14 PM

That link appears to be broken; do you have another source?

#11 bfollett OFFLINE  

bfollett

    Dragonstomper

  • 515 posts

Posted Tue Nov 28, 2017 10:08 AM

That link appears to be broken; do you have another source?

 

That link had some trailing garbage characters... Try this:

 

http://www.netsurf-b...ownloads/atari/



#12 SoulBuster OFFLINE  

SoulBuster

    River Patroller

  • 2,194 posts
  • Location:Kalifornistan

Posted Tue Nov 28, 2017 10:12 AM

For storage on my Falcon, I used this: https://www.amazon.c...-bin:6158690011

 

Along with this software: http://hddriver.seimet.de/en/

 

I now have 30+ partitions of 1 gig each.



#13 ParanoidLittleMan ONLINE  

ParanoidLittleMan

    Dragonstomper

  • 996 posts

Posted Tue Nov 28, 2017 11:49 AM

What now ? Send me one, pls. I will pay shipping :-D

I will be happy with one without HD :)

 

Btw. UltraSatan works on TT too, since it has ACSI port.

For Falcon, CF card via cheap adapter is good mass storage solution.

But some IDE-SD adapter is fine too, what is still cheap.

 

"Falcon gaming is an oxymoron though. Best call it st gaming @16MHz'

There are Falcon only games, and some new ones appear from time to time.


Edited by ParanoidLittleMan, Tue Nov 28, 2017 11:51 AM.


#14 calimero OFFLINE  

calimero

    Chopper Commander

  • 182 posts

Posted Wed Nov 29, 2017 3:08 AM

For HDD you can buy some CF or SD card to IDE adapter. Take a look at thread: http://www.atari-for...=333071#p332878

 

Regarding quuestion: 'what now?'

 

Get a 14MB upgrade and try (some of these work with 4MB):

Quake 2 like engine

Cho Ren Sha

Doom

- Racer

- Beats of Rage

Ace synth 

Voxx vocoder

 

or try any other Atari Falcon game: http://christophe.br...falcon_jeux.htm



#15 davidcalgary29 OFFLINE  

davidcalgary29

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,485 posts
  • Location:Peace River, Alberta

Posted Wed Nov 29, 2017 2:09 PM

I'm not really familiar with ST gaming, but some of those Falcon games look amazing. Thanks for the links!



#16 davidcalgary29 OFFLINE  

davidcalgary29

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,485 posts
  • Location:Peace River, Alberta

Posted Wed Nov 29, 2017 2:10 PM

What now ? Send me one, pls. I will pay shipping :-D

I will be happy with one without HD :)

 

Btw. UltraSatan works on TT too, since it has ACSI port.

For Falcon, CF card via cheap adapter is good mass storage solution.

But some IDE-SD adapter is fine too, what is still cheap.

 

"Falcon gaming is an oxymoron though. Best call it st gaming @16MHz'

There are Falcon only games, and some new ones appear from time to time.

 

 

EDIT: no more PMs, please. The Falcon has been donated to a new owner.  :)

 

Any tips on packing up a Falcon so it doesn't break in transit?



#17 ParanoidLittleMan ONLINE  

ParanoidLittleMan

    Dragonstomper

  • 996 posts

Posted Thu Nov 30, 2017 2:34 AM

 

 

EDIT: no more PMs, please. The Falcon has been donated to a new owner.   :)

 

Any tips on packing up a Falcon so it doesn't break in transit?

Huh ? I did PM you ? 

OK, my joke was poor, but this ... Or that was not intended for me :?

My tip is simple: write there my address, and it will survive even WWIII :D



#18 Tempest ONLINE  

Tempest

    Monochrome Martinet

  • 26,691 posts
  • Location:Accardi-By-The-Sea

Posted Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:46 AM

Are those real Falcon games or just tech demos?  They look impressive.  Did someone really start porting 68K games to the Falcon?



#19 calimero OFFLINE  

calimero

    Chopper Commander

  • 182 posts

Posted Thu Nov 30, 2017 11:31 AM

Only Quake 2 is "tech demo", not complete game, but it really run on 16Mhz Falcon with 14MB. It is Real time, you can walk around freely.

Everything else are full games!
Doom have even software midi playback!!

#20 ParanoidLittleMan ONLINE  

ParanoidLittleMan

    Dragonstomper

  • 996 posts

Posted Thu Nov 30, 2017 12:42 PM

...  Did someone really start porting 68K games to the Falcon?

There are ports, there are complete new games - Racer for instance. Indeed, game count is still low in compare to count of games for ST. Falcon is just not gaming machine. It is good for, but I think more useful for some musician, for instance. Comparing it with gaming target machine Jaguar is not good idea.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users