Jump to content

Photo

Royal Game of Ur (old thread)


60 replies to this topic

#51 Vorticon OFFLINE  

Vorticon

    River Patroller

  • 3,377 posts
  • Location:Eagan, MN, USA

Posted Sat Dec 30, 2017 11:10 PM

This is pretty neat.  Makes me want to get the game and program the AI into my Sharp PC-1500. :-)

 

 

Go for it although you will likely need the 4K memory expansion module :) What I like about using these minimalist devices for such games is that I get to physically manipulate the game pieces rather than stare at a computer screen. The same goes for chess. I have a small collection of computerized chess sets, including the Fidelity Chess Challenger 7 which started it all back in the late 70's :)



#52 matthew180 OFFLINE  

matthew180

    River Patroller

  • 2,544 posts
  • Location:Castaic, California

Posted Sun Dec 31, 2017 1:01 AM

Well, I just happen to have the 4K RAM expansion. :-)  What I am missing is the game board itself, and probably the patience to type in the program.  I wonder if there is any way to load a program via the serial port?  It must have a serial port of some sort... !?



#53 Vorticon OFFLINE  

Vorticon

    River Patroller

  • 3,377 posts
  • Location:Eagan, MN, USA

Posted Sun Dec 31, 2017 8:20 AM

There is a port to connect the tape and parallel interface. Check this out http://www.pc1500.co...nce_manual.html

With that info, I'm sure you can come up with something :)



#54 SIO2 OFFLINE  

SIO2

    Stargunner

  • 1,136 posts
  • Location:Nebraska

Posted Sun Dec 31, 2017 10:07 AM

https://tinyurl.com/ybqddn6b

 

for a printable game board.

 

I typed a line into my Sharp PC 1500A then turned the Sharp off, removed a battery and waited 30 seconds.  Put the battery back, turned it on and listed and the program was still there. Maybe it stores it to flash memory?  Not sure.

 



#55 matthew180 OFFLINE  

matthew180

    River Patroller

  • 2,544 posts
  • Location:Castaic, California

Posted Sun Dec 31, 2017 4:28 PM

There is a port to connect the tape and parallel interface. Check this out http://www.pc1500.co...nce_manual.html

With that info, I'm sure you can come up with something :)

 

Wow, thanks for the link!  I have not opened the file yet, but that looks like a really nice manual to have.  I love how the old computers would include the technical information about the machine.  The main page on that website also has quite a few games and utility software, like assemblers, compilers, etc.  They even have a way to move files between a modern computer and the PC-1500 via the tape interface (nothing unexpected, the method uses the sound card to record a WAV file, or playback a WAV file).  There are even utilities to create and convert WAV files to/from binary files.

 

http://www.pc1500.com

http://www.pc1500.co...t-transfer.html

 

 

https://tinyurl.com/ybqddn6b

 

for a printable game board.

 

I typed a line into my Sharp PC 1500A then turned the Sharp off, removed a battery and waited 30 seconds.  Put the battery back, turned it on and listed and the program was still there. Maybe it stores it to flash memory?  Not sure.

 

 

Thanks for the link.  A printout might not be as fun as getting a real game board though.  Maybe I'll make one...  Hmm, like I don't have enough projects already...  Something about the game board though, the tiles have very busy graphics on them and seem to have no role in the actual game play.  The graphics are also seemingly unrelated.  Does anyone know what the graphics are supposed to represent?

 

Something else that I was thinking about related to the alternate rules that were mentioned a few posts back, specifically the variation where stacking was not allowed.  Based on the layout of the board I don't think that would have been an original rule (realizing now (after researching the game) that the original rules and origin of the game are over 4000 years old and not completely known).  Vorticon mentioned modifying his A.I. because "controlling" the central rosette has a tactical advantage because you can't be captured on that tile and it makes it harder for the opponent to hop over.  However, if you can't stack your own pieces, it makes it just as hard for you to hop over that tile as well, thus eliminating the advantage of controlling the tile.  Of course this is just complete conjecture on my part, having only just heard of the game and spending a total of 20 minutes researching its origins and history.

 

The more I read about the game the more interesting it becomes.  It is very overwhelming to me that we are still playing a game that was created over 4000 years ago, and apparently played in many places and forms (like a game board scratched onto a stone wall).  Could anyone 4000 years ago have even been able to imagine people still playing the same game thousands of years later?  I wonder if any games created and played today will still be around in 4000 years (assuming we don't blow ourselves up first)?  I wonder if a 99/4A would still work in 4000 years? ;-)



#56 Vorticon OFFLINE  

Vorticon

    River Patroller

  • 3,377 posts
  • Location:Eagan, MN, USA

Posted Mon Jan 1, 2018 5:00 PM

OK so I broke down and converted the game to run on the TI 99/4A, but using the British Museum rules :-D . I reused the excellent graphics created by ramidavis, adding animation, sound and speech. The AI seems to work just as well with these rules, and the central rosette in my view remains very important strategically.

 

Attached File  UR Opening Screen.gif   6.64KB   0 downloads

Attached File  UR Ingame.gif   2.16KB   0 downloads

 

 

Attached File  GAMEOFUR.dsk   180KB   9 downloads

 

The user interface is very simple. The dice are rolled automatically, and when it's your turn, assuming you have a move, a green cursor will appear on the board. Move it forward or backward using the S and D keys. Press ENTER to select a token on the board and it will be moved to its destination automatically. To introduce a new token from the stack, press N. That's it! Remember, with this version of the game, you cannot stack pieces, and if you roll a zero or if you have no valid move then you pass your turn.

 

Start the game by typing RUN "DSK1.UR". Press ENTER to exit the intro screen and load the main game. Please let me know of any bugs.

 

Here's the code...

 

Spoiler


#57 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,813 posts

Posted Mon Jan 1, 2018 6:11 PM

It is unfortunate that Ramidavis bowed out before the programming urge for this one reached critical mass. Thanks, @vorticon!



#58 Vorticon OFFLINE  

Vorticon

    River Patroller

  • 3,377 posts
  • Location:Eagan, MN, USA

Posted Mon Jan 1, 2018 6:17 PM

It is unfortunate that Ramidavis bowed out before the programming urge for this one reached critical mass. Thanks, @vorticon!

 

Yes it is but his graphics were a huge help nonetheless.

Here' s a video of the gamplay. A real nail biter!  :grin:

 



#59 notwhoyouthink OFFLINE  

notwhoyouthink

    Chopper Commander

  • 124 posts

Posted Mon Jan 1, 2018 8:05 PM

Excellent. It is enough to do RUN "DSK1.URMAIN" to bypass the load screen.

I transfered it to a .TIDISK using TI99Dir, and used Win99/4a Sim's disk manager to export it to tape.

Loads and plays fine on non-expanded setup.

Attached File  ur.zip   101.72KB   6 downloads



#60 SIO2 OFFLINE  

SIO2

    Stargunner

  • 1,136 posts
  • Location:Nebraska

Posted Wed Jan 3, 2018 6:04 PM

I don't even have a TI computer but, I am so very glad the TI version of this game got made and TI owners will now be able to play it.

 

You did a great job Vorticon.  Not only is the program excellent but so are your postings with the images, source code and video.  Very nice.  

 

Seeing this come to life makes me realize the advantages of the Ramidavis board layout.  Clearly a lot of thought went into those graphics.  



#61 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Technomancer

  • 5,683 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Wed Jan 3, 2018 9:17 PM

Since someone here apparently has not gotten the point across that he does not want to be a part of the forum any more I am locking this thread.  An entire thread loses its context when people throw tantrums like this.

 

Vorticon has started the new thread here.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users