Jump to content

Photo

Antivirus that is tolerant of our Atari Helper Programs?


15 replies to this topic

#1 Larry OFFLINE  

Larry

    River Patroller

  • 4,000 posts
  • Location:U.S. -- Midwest

Posted Wed Jan 3, 2018 1:58 PM

I'm having lots of issues with Norton 360.  It is bound and determined that several of our Atari "helper programs" are malicious.  

 

What are other folks using for XP?

 

-Larry



#2 Gunstar OFFLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • 9,315 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Wed Jan 3, 2018 3:38 PM

I don't know if it's out for XP, but I use 360 Total Security on Windows 7 (I don't recall what all it was compatible with when I installed it). It will see them as malicious too, but you can add them to a white-list. The only thing I have an issue with is Rastaconverter, I can put it on the white-list 100 times and it's like it's just not saved as a "safe" program. At that point I just disengage the Internet and turn of 360 Total Security.



#3 _The Doctor__ ONLINE  

_The Doctor__

    River Patroller

  • 4,825 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Wed Jan 3, 2018 3:51 PM

don't forget 'serious' collectors can and will infect your system and steal all your bases... deals... and feels... ;)

LOL

submit them to synnex and pc-matic... they will dissect them thoroughly and if it passes will add them to a number of white lists that stick...

Symantec insisted it was infected by some hard drive tool for use with my Atari stuff

I forget what it was but I had an Atari tool from germany to manipulate file to a storage device that was feeding my ebay bids and search lists to some dork and he kept buying out from under me.... no matter where or what it was... switched to a different pc and I won, used the other lost and always to one of his accounts... put 2 and 2 together.. wiped that pc never a problem with that situation again...

while not a fan of symantec, in this case they were correct.... that little bot had to go..

 

Just because you think it's safe doesn't mean it is....

 

Paranoia isn't because they're not really out to get you, it's because they are... :)

 

In all seriousness a detailed explanation to a few Antivirus teams and they'll get to the bottom of it.... then it'll be sorted out....


Edited by _The Doctor__, Wed Jan 3, 2018 3:52 PM.


#4 Larry OFFLINE  

Larry

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,000 posts
  • Location:U.S. -- Midwest

Posted Thu Jan 4, 2018 6:59 AM

Moved to PC-Matic to give it a try.  Hopefully it will be more co-operative with my programs.  So far, so good.  I like the idea of an easy-to-find and use  Whitelist.

 

Norton 360 didn't like APE, nor did it tolerate ATADIM + some older regular PC progs.

 

-Larry



#5 ilmenit OFFLINE  

ilmenit

    Moonsweeper

  • 411 posts

Posted Thu Jan 4, 2018 8:13 AM

I recommend ESET :-) The company cares about accuracy of detection which lead to small number of false positives.



#6 Gunstar OFFLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • 9,315 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Thu Jan 4, 2018 8:17 AM

Actually my Rastaconverter program is intermittent, I can have an issue with it, put it on the white list, and it runs without issue for days or weeks, and then suddenly it's considered malware again later on. So now I just shut down my security as stated above whenever I run it. 

 

I have been seriously considering PC Matic myself, it sounds really good to me, but every time I have enough to pay for the first year saved up or set aside, some other retro device or software catches my eye and bye-bye funds... ;)



#7 Kyle22 OFFLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 3,512 posts
  • Call my BBS! telnet://broadway1.lorexddns.net
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Thu Jan 4, 2018 8:52 PM

I use MSE 4.4.304 on XP SP3, well really SP4.
M$ purposely censored XP users from updates recently.
I will post a script here that causes it to update perfectly (when I get home.)

#8 _The Doctor__ ONLINE  

_The Doctor__

    River Patroller

  • 4,825 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Thu Jan 4, 2018 9:03 PM

Microsoft is putting all our data at risk with the stupid crap they pull in an attempt to make users 'upgrade'... just find different way to make a link and don't make the folder... oh you can't use that it's completely incompatible blah blah blah.... make the directory by hand copy some files and bobs your uncle it works... the code is fine.... such bs.. they really need to be hit with some major action to get this type of thing to stop.... and on and on .... It's all been said.. :)     all weekend long updating? not a bug folks...  hand copy a couple kb********* files and hit update and blammo updates are done in a flash....

 

Who wants to update GEM for x86 and 64 please! or Magic or perhaps AmigaOS workbench re write em all for these machines and be done with it.. Mint MultiTos anything...

 

yeah that might be why I use the 8 bit so much... done... just done...


Edited by _The Doctor__, Thu Jan 4, 2018 9:10 PM.


#9 Gunstar OFFLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • 9,315 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Thu Jan 4, 2018 9:09 PM

I have Microsoft windows 7 update completely shut off, for two years now with no problems. All my security and firewalls are third-party, I keep them up to date and f*ck MS and everything is working fine, and no constant updating every damn time I shut down or start up my computer!


Edited by Gunstar, Thu Jan 4, 2018 9:10 PM.


#10 Rybags ONLINE  

Rybags

    Quadrunner

  • 15,758 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Thu Jan 4, 2018 9:29 PM

Problem #1 is having any Norton's junk installed on your computer.

It's just retail garbage that's inferior to the free AV from the likes of Avira, Avast and AVG.

 

I changed from AVG to Avast a few years ago due to the nag popups but it seems Avast has gotten just as bad so I'll probably give Avira a try.

AFAIK all of them (and maybe even Norton's) allow excluding directories from AV scans which is handy for such homebrew utilities (and the dodgy cracked torrented games etc that often get flagged falsely).



#11 Larry OFFLINE  

Larry

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,000 posts
  • Location:U.S. -- Midwest

Posted Fri Jan 5, 2018 9:51 AM

So far, I'm happy with PC-Matic.  It hasn't burped once, even with full scans, and have a 30-day refund period if it starts acting up.  I've done a complete clean install on my XP computer, and overcome all the hurdles that has thrown.  I now have (I think) a "good PC" and have backups in several locations including USB and thumb drives.  Now if I can just keep those safe.  

 

Incidently, I've got a 3 GHz Core 2 Duo and 2 GB of DDR2 ram, and the PC-matic scan says my computer ranks in the bottom 43% of computers in the world.   :twisted:

Well, it's plenty fast enough for my uses (although I hate being in the bottom half of anything!).  I do plan to see if there is any way I can get my ATI capture system working with Win7 compatibility mode.  I suspect not, but I'll give it a shot.

 

-Larry



#12 CharlieChaplin OFFLINE  

CharlieChaplin

    River Patroller

  • 2,910 posts

Posted Fri Jan 5, 2018 11:41 AM

Owning an A8 with any amount of RAM, your computer ranks in the bottom 0.0000001% of computers in the world. Download Virusscan (or Vscan) 1.0 by Bewesoft, it is fully tolerant to Atari Helper programs and keeps your A8 clean. And this Virusscanner does not search for any updates (it also does not scan in the background, so you always know+see when the program is active)...   ;-) 

 

@Kyle22: I am interested in that script, that will make my WIN XP SP3 still update perfectly...  ;-)



#13 Kyle22 OFFLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 3,512 posts
  • Call my BBS! telnet://broadway1.lorexddns.net
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Fri Jan 5, 2018 12:11 PM

Attached is a .zip file with the script. Put both files in your Windows directory.

Set up the script file as a scheduled task for every Sunday at 2:00 AM (or whenever you want).

 

 

Attached Files



#14 redman OFFLINE  

redman

    Chopper Commander

  • 113 posts
  • Location:Toms River, New Jersey

Posted Sat Jan 6, 2018 10:27 AM

I've been using Norton programs for many years with excellent results.  My ISP is Comcast and they supply Norton Security Suite for free.  When I compile programs written in Visual Basic 6 (.exe), Norton deletes them.  Apparently when Norton sees that only a few people have a program, they assume that it's a virus.  I googled the problem and found a solution.  For NSS, go to Settings, Firewall, Program Control, then add the program name to the list.  Now Norton should ignore finding it on your computer.  Works good for me.  Good luck.

And I am using WinXP on a laptop.

 

redman


Edited by redman, Sat Jan 6, 2018 10:37 AM.


#15 phaeron OFFLINE  

phaeron

    River Patroller

  • 2,561 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Sat Jan 6, 2018 1:20 PM

When I compile programs written in Visual Basic 6 (.exe), Norton deletes them.  Apparently when Norton sees that only a few people have a program, they assume that it's a virus. 

 

I'm sorry, but this is incredibly sloppy behavior. Any antivirus that behaves this way should be immediately trashed because it obviously isn't doing anything that would give you real protection.



#16 redman OFFLINE  

redman

    Chopper Commander

  • 113 posts
  • Location:Toms River, New Jersey

Posted Sat Jan 6, 2018 1:41 PM

I've never gotten a virus while using Norton.  I've been using it forever.  If they are a little overprotective, I'm willing to use a simple workaround for being sensitive to .exe files.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users