Jump to content

Photo

F18A (VGA) to HDMI link


6 replies to this topic

#1 grips03 OFFLINE  

grips03

    River Patroller

  • 3,664 posts
  • Location:New England

Posted Tue Jan 9, 2018 5:09 PM

I did a search on F18A (VGA) to HDMI adapter and I remember TPR having pictures of different model HDMI adapters and one worked really well for pretty good cost.  Does anyone remember that link?

 



#2 TPR ONLINE  

TPR

    Stargunner

  • 1,926 posts
  • Location:Orlando, FL

Posted Tue Jan 9, 2018 5:19 PM

Here's the link to my reviews: http://atariage.com/...-7#entry3350865

 

It looks like the one that I currently use isn't active at either of those links anymore, but these on Amazon looks very similar to it:

 

https://www.amazon.c.../dp/B01CZMBNV0/

 

https://www.amazon.c.../dp/B00DQMB6RU/

 

I specifically look for the placements of the inputs, outputs, the overall shape (the one I like was slightly curved on top) etc, as I assume it's the same Chinese-made board inside of someone else's shell with their label on it.  So I go for the one that looks like the same type. I'm sorry I can't be of much help other than that.  Best of luck!



#3 SiLic0ne t0aD OFFLINE  

SiLic0ne t0aD

    River Patroller

  • 2,239 posts
  • Rock 'N Roller, Space Patroller
  • Location:Ohio Valley

Posted Tue Jan 9, 2018 7:04 PM

I'm using an OSSC v1.6 into a 43" Vizio HDTV nowadays and am very pleased with the results. Coleco and Dreamcast look amazing, much better than the inexpensive converters I've used before.


I recommend this one here:
https://rover.ebay.c...tm/162423141140
I wanted to stuff one like that inside of a CV.. besides being cheap, it was tiny compared to most of them out there on the market and it looked great.

#4 grips03 OFFLINE  

grips03

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,664 posts
  • Location:New England

Posted Tue Jan 9, 2018 9:27 PM

Does that small one display 4:3? 

 

I have OSSC 1.6 as well, I've been using it with Odyssey 2 via RGB - works awesome.  Nice to hear OSSC supports Colecovision F18a too.  If they could only get Intellivision RGB to work with OSSC :(



#5 SiLic0ne t0aD OFFLINE  

SiLic0ne t0aD

    River Patroller

  • 2,239 posts
  • Rock 'N Roller, Space Patroller
  • Location:Ohio Valley

Posted Wed Jan 10, 2018 9:49 PM

Sort of.. I was able to force 4:3 with the TV itself.

Another great vga/HDMI converter I recall a couple members here praising was the Sewell
Hammerhead:
https://www.amazon.c...dp/B006LP0FXAAs It's dropped way down in price compared to just a couple years ago. Haven't tried it though.

As far as Intellivision RGB and the OSSC 1.6, somebody told me to check if the OSSC does sync on composite video (I'm not sure). If not, then just run the sync through a sync stripper and we should be good to go (I need to investigate that). He also said if you have original gscartsw (I do not) then just flip the sync stripper switch. Hopefully we can get our RGB Intys working with one of these methods or a future firmware update. Maybe you can come up with a better Inty RGB mod someday. ;)

#6 phattyboombatty OFFLINE  

phattyboombatty

    Stargunner

  • 1,155 posts
  • Location:San Diego, CA

Posted Wed Jan 10, 2018 10:30 PM

Here's my post in Matthew180's original Adam F18A and case mod thread. Good photos there from several members.

 

As you can see, I went with the Sewell Hammerhead back 2 years ago. Very simple, elegant, and straightforward, and I still recommend it. No bells or whistles, unless they've changed the design.



#7 -^CrožBow^- OFFLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    Quadrunner

  • 6,143 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Thu Jan 11, 2018 8:57 PM

I use the Sewell Hammerhead on my Dreamcast! I love it and I also love the fact that I can actually just power it from my TVs USB ports. That way the adapter turns on when the TV turns on. Also I went with the Sewell adapter because it was confirmed to work with older DOS resolutions as well and I do plan to eventually get the Ivory Tower DOS gaming PC back into the game room and hook it up to my large flat panel.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users