Jump to content

Photo

One Last EPROM


63 replies to this topic

#26 Nezgar OFFLINE  

Nezgar

    Stargunner

  • 1,256 posts
  • Location:Regina SK Canada

Posted Sun Feb 11, 2018 9:14 PM

Oh, I figured 'HCD' is just further evidence that it was an in-house prototype of the 'Home Computer Division'.

Considering the other hacks to that PCB, I'm guessing it's likely the ROM is a normal production OS if they just wanted to fix up the drive to make it functionally the same as a production drive.

#27 DavidMil OFFLINE  

DavidMil

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 663 posts
  • Location:Kingwood, Texas

Posted Sun Feb 11, 2018 10:50 PM

My wife informed me that we have doctors appointments tomorrow so I figured I'd better do this tonight.  So, here is the Dump of the

Tandon ROM chip (2732G).

 

David  

Attached Files



#28 Nezgar OFFLINE  

Nezgar

    Stargunner

  • 1,256 posts
  • Location:Regina SK Canada

Posted Sun Feb 11, 2018 11:41 PM

Well, if your EPROM hasn't suffered from bit loss, it's a new one to me. Comparing to dumps I've acquired of Rev J, K, L, and WST, your ROM is least different from Rev J, in four places:

File1=your 1050 ROM Chip.BIN
File2=1050-revJ.rom
 
Compare error at OFFSET 0
file1 = FF 11111111
file2 = FB 11111011
Compare error at OFFSET 3EA
file1 = EA 11101010
file2 = 46 01000110
Compare error at OFFSET 3EB
file1 = EA 11101010
file2 = B6 10110110
Compare error at OFFSET FF9
file1 = 48 01001000
file2 = 4A 01001010

EPROM's erase to FF's (1's), so I would think that if it is suffering from long term bit loss, we'd see random 0's change to 1's. This fits offset 0, but not the other three offsets.


Edited by Nezgar, Sun Feb 11, 2018 11:48 PM.


#29 Nezgar OFFLINE  

Nezgar

    Stargunner

  • 1,256 posts
  • Location:Regina SK Canada

Posted Sun Feb 11, 2018 11:50 PM

Oh. EA's are 650x NOP's - maybe disabled checksum for development?
 
This post supports the double NOP disabling checksum, done in the WST ROM, and those bytes compare same with your ROM.... http://atariage.com/...roms/?p=3581252
 

Comparing WSTR5 not support WD2797 no checksum.BIN and 1050 ROM Chip-from prototype board.BIN...
Compare error at OFFSET 0
file1 = F3
file2 = FF
Compare error at OFFSET 1
file1 = E7
file2 = F7
Compare error at OFFSET 2
file1 = CF
file2 = EF
Compare error at OFFSET 3
file1 = DB
file2 = DF
Compare error at OFFSET 4
file1 = 46
file2 = F6
Compare error at OFFSET 1D
file1 = 28
file2 = 38
Compare error at OFFSET 27
file1 = 28
file2 = 38
Compare error at OFFSET 29
file1 = 73
file2 = 71
Compare error at OFFSET 3C
file1 = 60
file2 = 5E
Compare error at OFFSET 4D
file1 = 4F
file2 = 4D
10 mismatches - ending compare

Edited by Nezgar, Mon Feb 12, 2018 12:03 AM.


#30 Nezgar OFFLINE  

Nezgar

    Stargunner

  • 1,256 posts
  • Location:Regina SK Canada

Posted Mon Feb 12, 2018 12:47 PM

Before I start a new thread to ask - does anyone have a scanned version of the original install documentation for the ICD US Doubler? I've only found OCR'd/retyped versions online. Surprising since there's scanned docs for many other ICD products. Or maybe original docs are rare since it was so heavily pirated... :P There is one on eBay right now, but it's just a photocopy, not the usual pink cover: https://www.ebay.com/itm/302439408036



#31 1050 OFFLINE  

1050

    Stargunner

  • 1,039 posts

Posted Mon Feb 12, 2018 3:25 PM

Can't make heads or tails of exactly what you want,
a color correct photocopy? OCR, typed is out for
some mysterious reason too.

ICD did put it in the SDCS manual, it's all there
except the cover art. Don't recall seeing it as a
standalone manual but why do you need one anyway?

http://www.atarimani...ners-manual.pdf

Minor point, all of DavidMil's posted rom files start
with FF when that byte is not really there. I think
it might be his outdated burner/reader has a bug in it?
It makes the first byte always FF.

#32 Nezgar OFFLINE  

Nezgar

    Stargunner

  • 1,256 posts
  • Location:Regina SK Canada

Posted Mon Feb 12, 2018 4:35 PM

ICD did put it in the SDCS manual, it's all there except the cover art. Don't recall seeing it as a standalone manual but why do you need one anyway?

http://www.atarimani...ners-manual.pdf

The purist in me thought it would be nice to include a printout with an upgraded 1050. Otherwise yeah, the content would be the same as the SDCS manual, but that eBay auction is evidence they did make a standalone manual at one point.



#33 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Quadrunner

  • 5,532 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Mon Feb 12, 2018 7:40 PM

Logical thing is to let DavidMil know to re-post the roms with the pre-pended ff omitted... or snip it off your self and post them..



#34 1050 OFFLINE  

1050

    Stargunner

  • 1,039 posts

Posted Tue Feb 13, 2018 12:32 AM

Well it's not a confirmed fact and it might be operator
error as in he should be entering the read section
via a different means perhaps. Don't know for sure,
but I have stated that I had something else other
than FF for first byte and Nezgar reports the same
thing.

Too odd, so I post a suspicion I'm having. I'm sure
David's still about and might investigate some. Not
prepended data either just altered to be FF for
first byte and pretty consistent about that so far.

I consider it a minor point still, at least it's
being discussed. My PC burner for example will
try to use the last file of record loaded until I
take steps to load an empty instead which then forces
it to read the actual data that is there. Cursor
might be situated upon byte #0 and one should
arrow up or otherwise take pains to not step on it.
But I don't know his software, I just know mine.

#35 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Quadrunner

  • 5,532 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Tue Feb 13, 2018 1:16 AM

exactly, we all see it, we know it's not correct. We personally don't need to know the reason. He should investigate to find a fix. The posted roms should be replaced because the average bear will just burn the rom and it can be a problem, as they won't more than likely know what to do with it. It might not even be in this thread, or on AtariAge by the time they possess them.

 

I forget what I used to have to pad on one of the old burners. but it's something I remember having to do at one time in my life.



#36 DavidMil OFFLINE  

DavidMil

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 663 posts
  • Location:Kingwood, Texas

Posted Tue Feb 13, 2018 7:00 PM

I will look into it.  Also I can dump them with another burner to see what they look like.

 

David



#37 Nezgar OFFLINE  

Nezgar

    Stargunner

  • 1,256 posts
  • Location:Regina SK Canada

Posted Sun Feb 25, 2018 1:52 AM

The 3241 in the beginning can be changed to 7685 to make it a D5: - D8: USD.

 

I was curious... I modified and burned a USD ROM with '8291' and it indeed works as either Drive 1, 2, 8, or 9.

 

I confirmed Drive 9 works with SpartaDOS X, SpartaDOS 3.2g, RealDOS 3, and I presume SpartaDOS 3.3 (Precursor to RealDOS). Very neat. I wonder what other DOS's may work with a D9: on SIO.

 

I also noticed these numbers are present in the beginning of the Stock 1050 ROM's too, so must be an easy edit there too. Didn't know this was a feature carried over from there.



#38 1050 OFFLINE  

1050

    Stargunner

  • 1,039 posts

Posted Mon Feb 26, 2018 1:21 AM

D9: works on MyDOS but only as a ramdisk set up to
be that number. You don't get it shown on the menu
either, but it's there just the same. The ramdisk
driver of MyDOS cheats the SIO such that there is
never a call to SIO code for ramdisk work anyway.
And this why VTOCFIX doesn't work on the ramdisk
no matter what number it is.

Nicely done there. Will put that one in the memory
banks for sure.

#39 Nezgar OFFLINE  

Nezgar

    Stargunner

  • 1,256 posts
  • Location:Regina SK Canada

Posted Wed Mar 21, 2018 1:37 AM

After correcting the 1st byte of DavidMil's "ICD.BIN" from FF to 1D I found it now compares 100% with the "UsDoubler_ok.bin" on pigwa - interesting this ROM has actually been found in the wild, dated October 1996 on pigwa
http://ftp.pigwa.net...sDoubler_ok.bin
 
Not sure if that 1 byte is actually used for anything, or have any relation to the incompatible stepping previously observed. Too late to burn and test for tonight.
 
Also interesting are the "Doubler_err.epr" and "Usdblr_err.rom" files on pigwa which compare 100% against each other, and also 100% against the common US Doubler ROM.. so they are not actually errored/corrupted at all...
http://ftp.pigwa.net...Doubler_err.epr
http://ftp.pigwa.net.../Usdblr_err.rom
 

So down to just 10 mismatches in the ROM now...

Comparing usdblr.rom (Known good, common ROM) and ICD_1Dfix.BIN (Fixed FF to 1D from DavidMil)...
Compare error at OFFSET 1A
file1 = 13
file2 = D6
Compare error at OFFSET 1B
file1 = F9
file2 = F8
Compare error at OFFSET 43
file1 = 2
file2 = E6
Compare error at OFFSET 44
file1 = F2
file2 = F1
Compare error at OFFSET 46
file1 = 30
file2 = 14
Compare error at OFFSET 49
file1 = D9
file2 = BD
Compare error at OFFSET 4C
file1 = E3
file2 = C7
Compare error at OFFSET 4E
file1 = 2C
file2 = 20
Compare error at OFFSET 4F
file1 = 0
file2 = D
Compare error at OFFSET 50
file1 = 4
file2 = F4
10 mismatches - ending compare

Edited by Nezgar, Wed Mar 21, 2018 1:42 AM.


#40 Nezgar OFFLINE  

Nezgar

    Stargunner

  • 1,256 posts
  • Location:Regina SK Canada

Posted Fri Mar 23, 2018 12:29 AM

Success!

 

burned the fixed ICD.BIN (aka UsDoubler_ok.bin on pigwa) and this ROM's seek times are about 2x faster than a standard 1050, the other USDoubler ROM I'm familiar with, or even the Happy 1050! Seeks perform very similarly to the WST stock ROM and SPEEDY.

 

So it seems at least the 1st byte of this USDoubler ROM before the drive number assignment bytes is related to seek/stepper timings, and possibly those other 10 bytes as well. My previous tests with the first byte as 'FF' being a higher number than '1D' must have been setting the speed too fast.

 

See it in action here with a Tandon mech:

 

So the question remains.... if this was actually an official revision of ICD code, or the result of a 3rd party hacking/patching it.

 

PS: You may notice the little screws i stuck into the back of the stepper slider... The ones to the right of the rail work well to 'silence' the noisy seeking in this particular Tandon mechanism.


Edited by Nezgar, Fri Mar 23, 2018 12:44 AM.


#41 Nezgar OFFLINE  

Nezgar

    Stargunner

  • 1,256 posts
  • Location:Regina SK Canada

Posted Sun Mar 25, 2018 1:43 AM

In my further adventures of manipulating the 1050 Stock and USDoubler ROM drive number bytes, I have now confirmed that drive 10 through 15 work, at least in SpartaDOS X 4.48. They are usable as drives J: K: L: M: N: and O:. This wasn't a huge surprise to me since those drives show in AspeQt/RespeQt too, but neat to see a real drive supporting this.

 

Because the nature of EPROM's is that you can still turn 1's to 0's after initial programming, some drive numbers can be changed to certain lower drive numbers without needing to erase whole the EPROM, so I made a table to see the possibilities. There might be some errors in this... Maybe handy for something/someone else in the future.

Attached Thumbnails

  • drives.png


#42 xrbrevin OFFLINE  

xrbrevin

    Moonsweeper

  • 272 posts
  • Mr Ziggy loves to extend the 1050 heatsink!
  • Location:UK

Posted Mon Apr 2, 2018 7:01 AM

Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to do this research. I burned the "UsDoubler_ok.bin" to both my Tandon USD drives and they work great! The seek times are much better than the ROM I used previously :)

All the best

Nick



#43 tjlazer OFFLINE  

tjlazer

    River Patroller

  • 2,072 posts
  • Retro Atari Addict
  • Location:Historic South Tacoma, WA USA

Posted Mon Apr 2, 2018 3:47 PM

I have an official ICD US doubler ROM encased in a plastic container, are these the latest versions I wonder? I will see if I can dump it.

Edited by tjlazer, Mon Apr 2, 2018 4:28 PM.


#44 Nezgar OFFLINE  

Nezgar

    Stargunner

  • 1,256 posts
  • Location:Regina SK Canada

Posted Mon Apr 2, 2018 5:16 PM

I have an official ICD US doubler ROM encased in a plastic container, are these the latest versions I wonder? I will see if I can dump it.

 

Check which of the 2 jumper configurations you have above U10 on your 1050 mainboard, If you have JP2 & JP4 jumpered, you can simply remove the ICD ROM at U10, and swap it with a 2732 EPROM programmed with this replacement code.

 

I suspect most of the original USDoubler ROM's were really EPROMs inside, or at least made pin-compatible. There is mention in the manual of being able to send in for a different 'U10' chip that works with the JP1/JP3 configuration (Mask ROM) for those that didn't want to solder.

Attached Thumbnails

  • 1050U10.jpg

Edited by Nezgar, Mon Apr 2, 2018 5:33 PM.


#45 BillC OFFLINE  

BillC

    Stargunner

  • 1,853 posts
  • Location:BC Canada

Posted Mon Apr 2, 2018 6:17 PM

 

Check which of the 2 jumper configurations you have above U10 on your 1050 mainboard, If you have JP2 & JP4 jumpered, you can simply remove the ICD ROM at U10, and swap it with a 2732 EPROM programmed with this replacement code.

 

I suspect most of the original USDoubler ROM's were really EPROMs inside, or at least made pin-compatible. There is mention in the manual of being able to send in for a different 'U10' chip that works with the JP1/JP3 configuration (Mask ROM) for those that didn't want to solder.

The USDoubler ROM chips for the 'Mask ROM' jumper position are 2532 EPROMs, they are pin compatible with the original 2332 ROM chips.

 

Atari seems to have made the 1050 drives flexible enough to take either, probably in case they needed to introduce a newer firmware before updated mask ROMs were available.

 

They did similar on some verions of the 600XL PCB as well, having 2 jumpers which allow the BASIC chip to be either a 24-pin ROM or a 28-pin 2764 compatible EPROM.



#46 Kyle22 ONLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 3,657 posts
  • Call my BBS! telnet://broadway1.lorexddns.net
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Tue Apr 3, 2018 9:52 AM

I have an official ICD US doubler ROM encased in a plastic container, are these the latest versions I wonder? I will see if I can dump it.

Are you sure it's the ROM and not the stacked 6810's? The 'plastic container' you mention sounds like ICD's 'hybrid module' or whatever they call the stacked 6810's.



#47 Nezgar OFFLINE  

Nezgar

    Stargunner

  • 1,256 posts
  • Location:Regina SK Canada

Posted Tue Apr 3, 2018 10:09 AM

Are you sure it's the ROM and not the stacked 6810's? The 'plastic container' you mention sounds like ICD's 'hybrid module' or whatever they call the stacked 6810's.

 

Heh, yeah in the USD manual it's merely called "the new U8 (the larger module)" or "hybrid 24 pin module (U8)". That would stay, and only the U10 would be swapped with the new ROM. The manual is a bit funny that they try to keep the 2 modules mysterious by not just calling them RAM and ROM :) But I guess its also simplest to refer to them that way for installation purposes.



#48 tjlazer OFFLINE  

tjlazer

    River Patroller

  • 2,072 posts
  • Retro Atari Addict
  • Location:Historic South Tacoma, WA USA

Posted Tue Apr 3, 2018 1:14 PM

Are you sure it's the ROM and not the stacked 6810's? The 'plastic container' you mention sounds like ICD's 'hybrid module' or whatever they call the stacked 6810's.


That may be the case. Was there a ROM also provided? I think I only have this stacked ram module. I'll check tonight.

#49 Nezgar OFFLINE  

Nezgar

    Stargunner

  • 1,256 posts
  • Location:Regina SK Canada

Posted Tue Apr 3, 2018 2:25 PM

That may be the case. Was there a ROM also provided? I think I only have this stacked ram module. I'll check tonight.

Yes, the upgrade consists of 2 components: the ROM in the U10 socket, and the RAM module in the U8 socket.



#50 tjlazer OFFLINE  

tjlazer

    River Patroller

  • 2,072 posts
  • Retro Atari Addict
  • Location:Historic South Tacoma, WA USA

Posted Tue Apr 3, 2018 10:18 PM

Found my kit. Need to install it now. Should I copy the ROM?

fc91ddd765b72d599b154945f1fd0fee.jpg




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users